We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute Mushroom Houses a Must Stop in Charlevoix”

Mushroom Houses of Charlevoix
Ranked #1 of 27 things to do in Charlevoix
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: We offer a spectacular GEM car tour of all 28 of these magical structures. You can also visit the Charlevoix Chamber of Commerce to pick up a map and do a self guided tour.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Stroller parking
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Cute Mushroom Houses a Must Stop in Charlevoix”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We passed through Charlevoix on our way down to Traverse City from Harbor Springs. I found these houses on-line and thought it might be something to see. Since there are several homes all clustered together around the block of Park Ave and Clinton St. it makes for a nice little walking tour. The fall color really added to the experience. I would recommend stopping to take a look if you are passing through the area.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    66
    15
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin, USA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Far out!”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Easy to drive by and see. Houses are in close proximity to each other. Can't go in but a drive by is easy and interesting

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank PDvac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Rapids MI
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Special Place”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Always fun to visit and never get tired of viewing the "little houses".
Beautiful area. We live in Elk Rapids and always take visitors to see these special houses.


Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank CarolAElkRapidsMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo MI
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The mushroom houses”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

There were a number of very interesting houses built by Architect Earl Young and they were relatively close to the motel and to each other. They were well worth seeing. They were so named because they looked like mushrooms or like hobbit houses.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank pianojohn3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bloomfield, MI
Level Contributor
74 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Rivals Frank Lloyd Wright for uniqueness”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

You can walk or drive the neighborhood with several "mushroom houses", which are truly shaped like a mushroom! Built from 1918 through 1950s, they are fun to view.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Aleise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mushroom Houses of Charlevoix also viewed

Charlevoix, Charlevoix County
Charlevoix, Charlevoix County
 
Charlevoix, Charlevoix County
Charlevoix, Charlevoix County
 

Been to Mushroom Houses of Charlevoix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing