We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Beautiful visit to the park

We had a beautiful two miles walk on the beach which was an easy walk and has a parking space... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Malcolmle
,
Jerusalem, Israel
via mobile
Holy mosquitos!!!

Beautiful park with amazingly abundant wildlife. Unfortunately, swarms of mosquitos are part of the... read more

Reviewed June 5, 2019
JenMInOHIO
,
Columbus, Ohio
via mobile
Read all 143 reviews
  
Reviews (143)
Filter reviews
143 results
Traveler rating
72
46
13
8
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
72
46
13
8
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mackinaw city sturgeon bay state park lake michigan tent camping bunk beds pit toilets labor day weekend great camping nature center hiking trails camp store long sleeves biting insects great ranger pitcher plants night skies
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
61 - 66 of 143 reviews
Reviewed August 2, 2016

I was excited to try the park's new "walk-in" camp sites, but was really disappointed. They are not private -- most are basically on a parking lot -- and are small. Ours, site T, was the nicest -- right on the lake and a bit of a walk in. But still not private and very small. Site S, next to ours, was beside an RV -- not wherethose of us who like wilderness tent camping want to be. The idea was nice -- just not squeezed in next to the RV campground. The swimming was fun though and the lake bottom was sandy. That's why I gave this two stars.

Date of experience: July 2016
1  Thank Lynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2016

We have gone to this park a couple of times in the past and rented one of the rustic cabins. We were able to rent one again and it did not disappoint. These are rustic, no electric, bedding. There is a pump for water, and an outhouse. It is very quiet and a short walk to your own beach. On this particular night there was the most spectacular sunset. There is a fire-pit if you would like to have a fire. There is also an area that you put your car that will keep the porcupines away from your car so that your hoses and wires are not chewed. We did put our car in there as some friends said that their car had the hoses chewed while there.

Date of experience: July 2016
Thank JoAnn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2016 via mobile

Tried out site Y at the new rustic campground area. Loved our site and we had a gorgeous view of Lake Michigan. However, our site was right on top of the non-rustic sites and had a lot of generator hums and radios at all hours. Definitely not what I'd call rustic besides lack of showers and real toilets. Still was not bad and great for swimming!

Date of experience: July 2016
2  Thank SarahLynnLand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2016

My family spent a long weekend at Wilderness State Park this past weekend in July and overall, we had a great time. The park was packed and the campsites are very small with no privacy which was disappointing but manageable. The bathrooms are old but they were kept very clean and there was hot water for the shower. The campground is very close to Mackinaw City so we loved the location. We probably would not go back because we like larger campsites with trees/privacy, but we had a great time and would recommend this to anyone who wants to be nearby Mackinaw City and Dark Sky Park.

Date of experience: July 2016
1  Thank Courtney B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2016

We love this campground for relaxing on the beach. You do need to pack bug spray and the spots on the beach book very quickly and are not easy to get into with larger campers. We were disappointed that the nature center was closed the first day despite our visit being during posted operating hours and the following day when we returned for a snake program, despite being 5 minutes early, the doors were locked and it appeared as though the program had already begun. My son was very disappointed! There are fun trails to explore and a nice boat launch. The sunsets over Lake Michigan are magnificent.

Date of experience: July 2016
2  Thank avery131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews