We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Sunday Brunch at JJ Jamokes”
Review of J J Jamokes Restaurant - CLOSED

J J Jamokes Restaurant
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Halifax, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Outstanding Sunday Brunch at JJ Jamokes”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Just S. of Caro, MI, this restaurant served one of the best brunches we've ever had. Several varieties of quiche and German-style pancakes are their specialty. We heard from the locals that it is also good for breakfast, lunch, or dinner. The back-yard view is outstanding - no wonder its used for weddings. If you're in the Caro area, JJ Jamokes is the place to go, especially for Brunch!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ed-Hazel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    7
    5
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Port Hope, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Friday night dinner”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We had dinner with several friends, the meal was good we had their special 2 for 20 not a lot of variety but the fried mushrooms were good, the ribs were only fair they were tough, we also had the onion soup which was very good! The cornbread fritters were tasty but over cooked. It was a nice experience at a reasonable price, we did get to watch the deer while we were eating. The music was nice but a little load for us as we were sitting next to the pianist. Not sure if we would go again as it is an hour drive.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gardner59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flushing, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
191 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Worth the Trip”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

This restaurant is about an hour's drive from home. We last visited on Mother's day, with some of our kids and grandkids. We have had breakfast, lunch, and dinner on our many visits, and have always been pleased with both the service and the food. Their Sunday brunch is unusual in that it is not a buffet, but items can be ordered off the menu. If you include something like pancakes or quiche, you may be served one type/flavor with your initial portion, and if you want seconds, you may order another type. Their brunch consists of the same items as their special breakfast, but for a couple of bucks more, it is all you can eat.

Lunch and dinner have both been excellent. They handle large parties quite well, and on special occasion, such as Mother's Day, Easter, etc. reservations are mandatory, in spite of its remote location.

As mentioned by others, the back wall has large picture windows its entire length, looking out onto a very well-kept back yard. There are bird feeders in abundance, always full, and populated. The bird-watching is a nice diversion with your meal, both winter and summer. Many species are represented, along with wild turkeys and deer, and occasionally other animals. A must-do, if you are in the area.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Frederick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caro, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellence in Caro”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

If you are looking for a great meal without going to the city then this is the place to go. Little pricy but by far worth it.

Helpful?
Thank bargainshopper_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caro, MI
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We go here for lunch. The food is always great. The service is slow every now and then. The food is worth the wait. Good food at a good price.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank atkinsdj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed J J Jamokes Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing