We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great staff, easy location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Super 8 Canton/Livonia Area
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Canton
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Great staff, easy location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

Was in Ann Arbor for the winter classic. The weather was terrible and traffic disgusting on the way back to Canada, decided to call hotels to look for somewhere to stay to carry on the drive home the next day. A friendly lady answered the phone and she said she had just the room for me. Awesome. Found the exit off the highway easily (there's a huge super 8 sign you can see for miles).
Lady at check in was very friendly and quick to get us checked in. Perfect 24 hour McDonald's located next door. Room was clean, elevator could have used some upgrading but didn't bother me I used the stairs.
All in all I was impressed with this hotel and would stay here again if I was ever in the
area!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BMFromCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony E, General Manager at Super 8 Canton/Livonia Area, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear BMFromCanada

Thank you for selecting the Super 8 Canton for your stay in the area.

We are glad that our staff provided you with excellent service during your stay. We truly want each and every guest to experience our "Hometown Hospitality!"

We look forward to having you stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    60
    55
    31
    27
See reviews for
79
49
32
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
SC
Level Contributor
169 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

I stayed here for a week while visiting friends and family. Everyone on the staff was friendly and pleasant. The room was clean. Everything was in working order. This hotel however is very outdated. This wouldn't normally bother me, but some of the issues from it being outdated were scary. The electrical outlets, for example, desperately need replacing. If you plug something in all the way, it doesn't work. You have to have things slightly out of the outlets for them to work. Had to reset both the outlet and the hair dryer in the bathroom. TV was old, but functional. Wall unit heaters worked very well (I stayed during the coldest week of the winter this far.) With a little bit of renovation, this hotel would be 100% better.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarrieNSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony E, General Manager at Super 8 Canton/Livonia Area, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear E911Angel
Thank you for selecting the Super 8 Canton for your stay in the area.

It is so rewarding to read that you had a terrific stay with us and thank you for your comments.
I'm so pleased to hear that you found our rooms clean, and our staff professional. We strive to create a warm feeling "Home away from home" environment for each of our guests!
We are changing all of our not working outlet right now and about the TVs we have ordered 40inch flat screen TVs they will be arriving by end of January of 2014.

Once again, thank you again for sharing your comments with us. We look forward to hosting you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Michigan
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

Pros:
-TV, microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, and hangers for clothes are provided.
-Low prices
-Hotel manager (Tony) is very pleasant and provides great customer service. Overall the staff is friendly.
-Location to conveniences (Jonathan's Family Restaurant right next door is pretty good for the money).
-Bed was comfortable
- I did not hear my neighbors unless they were in the hall.
- Free breakfast from 6am-9am.

Cons:
-The room doors are on the inside of the motel/hotel and are on hydraulics that make them slam loudly. Inconsiderate people who stay here and even more inconsiderate maids will let them slam repeatedly (the maids could prop them open; one of them does). You can hear everything in the hallway (one night it was a family of six that checked in after midnight and didn't have the decency to tell their kids to be quiet (parents stayed on one end of the floor and kids on the other); I wanted to literally kill the parents).
-The room was only moderately clean. The tub felt slimy on my feet and had a few gross hairs on the sidewalls. The carpet is in dire need of cleaning (even more-so in the hallways).
- The flooring is uneven under the carpet.
- There is an employee that carries a broom around the parking lot, but doesn't really use it. Most of the garbage in the parking lot stays until a strong wind comes along.
- No smoking in rooms is not enforced and you can smell stale smoke in the hallways and stairwells.
- The police have made at least one arrest (probably more) here in the last week. Canton/Wayne is really going downhill.
- No pool or Jacuzzi

Summary:
It's not a bad place for the money. You get what you pay for, right? Unless you are willing to spend a lot more, you won't do a whole lot better anywhere else in the area. If you have any problems, Tony, the manager, is very accommodating.

The constant door slamming will probably keep me away from hotels/motels that have inside room entrances in the future.

Room Tip: If you stay on the 3rd (top) floor at least you won't be subject to the noise from above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony E, General Manager at Super 8 Canton/Livonia Area, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear B D

Thank you very much for your review for our hotel.
We are glad that our staff provided you with excellent service during your stay and all the amenities we offer made your stay enjoyable.
However and the Cons. side it is truly unfortunate that other guests behaved so poorly that it disturbed your stay here. I also spoke to the housekeepers to pay special attention to the rooms so that won’t happen again in the future.

Once again, thank you again for sharing your comments with us. We look forward to hosting you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

Got the King Jacuzzi suite. The furniture is a little dated but the paint is fresh and everything is clean. The front desk clerk was extremely pleasant. I wish all the world had her kindness. She gave me a ten dollar discount for making a small mistake on putting together the transaction without a wink. The hallways smelled like smoke but our room was fresh. Glad I picked this place.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony E, General Manager at Super 8 Canton/Livonia Area, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Richard P
I'm so pleased to hear that you found our rooms clean, and our staff professional. We strive to create warm feeling "Home away from home" environment for each of our guests!
Please know that while all hotel rooms in the State of Michigan are non-smoking, some guests unfortunately are either unaware of the law or they choose to ignore it.

Once again, thank you again for sharing your comments with us. We look forward to hosting you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canton hotels
3.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Canton
3.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn Detroit Canton
3.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Canton
Comfort Suites Canton
#3 of 11 in Canton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Suites Detroit-Canton
0.2 mi away
Fellows Creek Lodge
Fellows Creek Lodge
#7 of 11 in Canton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Canton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Canton/Livonia Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Canton/Livonia Area

Property: Super 8 Canton/Livonia Area
Address: 3933 S Lotz Rd, Canton, MI 48188-2900
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Canton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Canton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Canton/Livonia Area 2*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Canton/Livonia Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canton Super 8
Canton Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing