We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slow lousy service ”
Review of Max & Erma's - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Max & Erma's
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Slow lousy service ”
Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

Long wait to get water or order. Restaurant was barely half full. Had dinner with my wife and two kids. They brought out the kids meals after 25 min. They ordered cheeseburger and fries. Then they told my wife and I it would be awhile for our food since they were just starting to cook it. I also ordered a burger. All in all we spent over 75 minutes to get burgers. Will not be going back.

Helpful?
Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    10
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Belleville, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Welcome on a Cold Night”
Reviewed February 6, 2014

5 adults had a very good dinner at Max and Erma's. We had a mixture of entrees including pasta, chicken, dinner salad and beef. All were happy with the meals, the attentiveness of the wait staff and the visitation of the Manager. We were seated quickly and comfortably. The meals were very good with all people saying that they would come back. Also, one guest had the make your own sundae bar - he was very happy and went back for seconds on the toppings. All said, we will go back!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rudy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice local venue”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Max & Erma's has a point system whereby you accumulate points each visit which leads to discounts on food orders; this is a very nice perk to have. The food is prepared well and the service at the bar area is strong.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank RobAndKathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SW Florida
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Boring salad and slow service”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We chose Max & Erma's for a quick lunch with the kids. Mistake. Service was slow, very slow. Our server had told us they were understaffed that day and he would do his best. That should have been our signal to leave, however with 3 hungry kids wanting lunch and the free chocolate chip cookies (as promised by the server), we decided to stay. I ordered the Santa Fe salad. The chicken was tasteless. I had to request hot sauce to give it some flavor. The tortilla chips and tomatoes were pretty scarce. Very disappointing. Erma's bakes fresh, hot, chocolate chip cookies. We decided to take ours home, but they never showed up. We paid our check and waited. And waited. The server came by our table twice to tell us that it would be 7 minutes. We were then told that we could come back later and pick up the cookies. HA! Don't think so.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelGal22SWFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“"Neighborhood favorite"”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

When looking for a great place to hang and talk, this choice is always on the list.
Great burgers for lunch, decent service and enough choices to get your fill. Atmosphere of a regular neighborhood favorite.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank oxengirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing