We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Extended Stay America - Detroit - Canton
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Canton
New Baltimore, Michigan
1 review
“Beware”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

I suppose it depends on your standards. My room was dirty. Old dirt and urine were at the base of the toilet, the top of the refrigerator was dirty and sticky, the top edge of the bed and chair railings were also nasty. The towels I used to clean these items were black when I finished. We also went out and bought several air fresheners to mask the odor. Needless to say we will not be back.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank susieq586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Detroit - Canton, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
I appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your experience with us. The issues you described is unacceptable, and I sincerely apologize for your experience.

To ensure that a situation like yours doesn't happen again, my team and I are working on this very diligently by inspecting rooms before checking in arrivals.

Your feedback is very important to us, so thank you for sharing. To discuss further, or if you have any questions, please contact me at can2@extendedstay.com. We would love to have another chance to provide you with a better experience at our hotel the next time you're in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    20
    22
    19
    21
See reviews for
17
13
21
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Canton, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed August 1, 2013

I am from China, I stayed here 2 times, 1 month each time for business
The staff like Klodiana and some others are so kindly
It is wonderful for family and couples to stay also
I recommend this hotel for your business travel or sightseeing journey
It's very safe also!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Detroit - Canton, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Rebecca - Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time at our hotel when you were in the area for business. As well, I am glad that our staff provided you with such great service, especially Klodiana.

Thank you again for your review. It would be our pleasure for you to repeat your experience with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I was in business trip to Michigan, and I stayed 3 months last year and 3 months this year in this same hotel. The front desk, especially the lady named Klodiana, she is really nice to people, and very helpful. hotel itself is good for it's price. and room service once a week for long stay like me. located in downtown of Canton, and I like the small river in front of the hotel. many wild life there. very close to gym center also.

Adam Zhao

Room Tip: I prefer room facing the river. it's better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adamzhao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Detroit - Canton, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
It is so rewarding to read that you had a comfortable stay with us. I am glad to read that you were pleased with or location as well as our rates and staff. Thank you again for your kind words. The staff and I would love to provide you with another comfortable stay in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Stayed 3 months and couldn’t be happier. The staff was excellent. They went out of their way to make my stay comfortable; from room type to accommodations they were wonderful. I felt like I was in a place where people cared; a second family you could say. I wouldn’t hesitate to come back again or recommended this Extended Stay.

Klodiana was just one of this amazing staff members that worked tirelessly to make my stay a great one…and it was!

Rick

Room Tip: Ask the staff, they are more than willing to help you select the best room for your stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Detroit - Canton, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Rick - Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I am glad to read that you were pleased with your guest room. As well, it is great to know that Klodiana and the entire staff were so friendly and helpful to you while you visited our hotel.

The staff and I would like to thank you again for posting your review. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portage, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

I have stayed at extended stays in California and one just outside Detroit and I must say this location, was disappointing. My family was uncomfortable, itching after one night, carpet to the room were dirty, kitchen was dirty, room was outdated. I did not use the drawers as they were stained and the handle was broken off one of the dresser drawers. The bathroom door was dirty and I used clorox wipes to clean off every surface in the room. Then it was over, I was done and checked into a different hotel early the next morning.

With a litle TLC this could be a great hotel, but for now I will stay far from this place :(

Room Tip: Don't know what to tell 'ya
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank lmh391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Detroit - Canton, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
I received a copy of your review, and wanted to take a moment to personally respond. The issues you described regarding room standard is truly regrettable. We continually work to improve our hotel, so I really appreciate you providing us with your feedback. I hope that you will contact me directly, at can@extendedstay.com, should you wish to discuss this further. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to provide you with a better experience the next time you're in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Canton hotels

Belleville, Michigan, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 12, 2013

I'm waiting for my condo and needed something temporary... my experience has been one of comfort during my wait. I'm always greeted with a smiling face. One person who stands out is Klodiana. She always brightens my day with her happy personality. She is always so willing to help. When I leave I will miss this very sweet lady. If you need to place for a short or long stay I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: I liked the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Detroit - Canton, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Sandy - Thank you so much for posting a review of our property. It's great to hear that Klodiana is always smiling and helpful to you. I am so glad that the entire staff was able to make your stay enjoyable, and that you will highly recommend our hotel.

Thank you again for posting your review. I do hope that you will return to our hotel, or any of our other brand locations, in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, MI
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We checked in on Thursday, June 27th for a three night stay and were booked into room 233. Our room was older and had not been updated. As I always do, my first search was for bed bugs. Unfortunately, we found them within ten seconds of looking. It was disgusting! There were bugs scurrying under the mattress near the head of the bed and a pile of bug waste. We immediately told the front desk, who kindly offered us another room. However, that was not an option for us.

My other family received room 205. Their room appeared updated and clean and had no bug issues. We also had other friends who stayed in the hotel that did not have any issues with bugs.

This hotel is a good value for what you get, but I would definitely check the room carefully before choosing to stay. We were warned about bug issues in this area and were so thankful we checked. I have e-mailed the hotel about this issue but have not received a response. We stayed at the Hampton Inn in the same parking lot and it was wonderful. It was also much more expensive. But I will pay any price to not have bugs crawling on me.

Room Tip: Check carefully! Some rooms had no issues, but we found bugs as soon as we looked under our mattres...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sweetiebeak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, Manager at Extended Stay America - Detroit - Canton, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Your review for our hotel was recently brought to my attention. I was disheartened to read that you experienced this situation. Please accept our apologies. To prevent this from happening again, my team is being proactive and checking all rooms. Thank you very much for providing us with your feedback. If you would like to discuss this further, please do not hesitate to contact me at can@extendedstay.com. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to provide you with a better stay the next time you're in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canton
0.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Canton
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Suites Detroit-Canton
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn Detroit Canton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Canton
Comfort Suites Canton
#3 of 11 in Canton
117 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Canton
2.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Plymouth
Comfort Inn Plymouth
#1 of 5 in Plymouth
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extended Stay America - Detroit - Canton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Detroit - Canton

Property: Extended Stay America - Detroit - Canton
Address: 2000 N Haggerty Rd, Canton, MI 48187-3775
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Canton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Canton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Detroit - Canton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cash is accepted as a form of payment for those guests paying by a weekly or monthly rate. A valid credit card must be kept on file for incidentals. Cash is not accepted as a method of payment for guests paying the daily rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Extended Stay, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Extended Stay America - Detroit - Canton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stay America Canton
Extended Stay Canton
Canton Extended Stay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing