We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of AmericInn Lodge & Suites Calumet

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Calumet
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Calumet
Certificate of Excellence
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
189 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Good place.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

Nice place. Clean. Comfortable. Quiet. Breakfast was very good. Good information available for tourists. They keep a detailed notebook of all things tourist in the lobby. Helpful staff. All the hotels in Houghton were full so we ended up here. We paid $106 / night in October. We would have preferred staying in Houghton, but this worked out fine.

Room Tip: Get a room on the first floor if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiannePeterson, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Calumet, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    60
    17
    5
    3
See reviews for
91
61
19
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Neenah, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

Comfortable stay with nice staff! Clean rooms and a average breakfast. We have stayed at many AmericInn locations and this one is similar to others. Did not use the pool at all so cannot comment on that.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CJR6219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiannePeterson, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Calumet, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Thank you for your review we love to see repeat guests of not only our hotel but the brand. we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkston, MI
Level Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

Got the last room at this lodge on the 26th of September. It's the first time I stayed at an AmericInn and It won't be my last. My wife and I enjoyed our brief one night stay. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful recommending the Michigan House for dinner just down the road. The breakfast was exceptional. The rates were very reasonable to top things off. Thanks.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiannePeterson, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Calumet, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Thank you for the nice review I am glad that we could make your experience with us a great one I will pass your comments on to the staff. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

This place truly caters to the tourist, at a very fair price. Loved all the thoughtful extras, from the basket of area menues to the jug of lemon water, cookies and the flavored coffees in the lobby. Breakfast bar is extraordinary.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Helpful?
1 Thank Jeri K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiannePeterson, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Calumet, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am glad you have enjoyed your stay with us. I will be sure to pass the review on to the staff. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crosse
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

The folks at this hotel were very nice and accommodating. Our rooms were very nice; the beds/pillows comfortable. Staff was helpful in recommending an eating establishment within walking distance. We were provided rags/towels to clean our motorcycles. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Helpful?
Thank Cathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

We have stayed at the AmericInn in Calumet several times over the past few years, but our experience remains consistent - nice, clean rooms, good rates, and friendly staff. If you're going on a popular weekend (i.e. MTU Alumni Reunion, Graduation, etc) make sure to book well in advance as this hotel as a good reputation in the area and can fill up. The hotel is not fancy, but the pool area is nice and the common areas are clean. It is also located very close to the Swedetown trail system, which outdoor enthusiasts can appreciate.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank c_juleski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

It makes all the difference when the hotel staff really cares about doing a great job and when others are just phoning it in. The staff here were on top of everything. I've been to many hotels with similar breakfast offerings but just didn't keep up with the guests coming through. The breakfast was always well stocked and provided good variety (two belgian wafel makers, eggs, sausage, juices, a variety of baked goods, cereal, yogurt, and coffee always on tap). Quiet, good rooms, comfy beds.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calumet
11.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Houghton
9.9 mi away
Ramada Hancock Waterfront
10.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#6 of 7 in Houghton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Magnuson Franklin Square Inn
9.6 mi away
Super 8 Houghton
Super 8 Houghton
#2 of 7 in Houghton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
11.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Houghton - Keweenaw
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AmericInn Lodge & Suites Calumet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Lodge & Suites Calumet

Property: AmericInn Lodge & Suites Calumet
Address: 56925 S 6th St, Calumet, MI 49913-2901
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Calumet
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Calumet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — AmericInn Lodge & Suites Calumet 2*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 67 room motel is located in the heart of the Keweenaw National Historic Park. We are 15 minutes from the twin cities of Houghton and Hancock. We are located right off the Snow Mobile and ATV trails. We are open year round and staffed 24 hours a day. We have an enhanced continental breakfast, salt water pool, whirlpool and Sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your AmericInn Lodge & Suites Calumet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americinn Hotel Calumet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing