We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best year round sports hotel in the heart of it all for snowmobiling, quad or Harley riding”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Calumet
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Calumet
Certificate of Excellence
Great Midwest
Level Contributor
201 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
“The best year round sports hotel in the heart of it all for snowmobiling, quad or Harley riding”
Reviewed January 6, 2012

Here's the deal. My friends and I are motorsports enthusists. Snowmobiles is our thing and we love to ride. This hotel is located right dead smack in the middle of Copper Country. It is centrally located so it is easy to ride snowmobiles, Harley's, or quads right from the hotel to anywhere in the Keweenaw on any of our toys to anyplace for that matter. Snowmobile & quad trails start behind the hotel and there is a rental place on sight if you dont have your own. If Harley's is your thing you can ride anywhere and the scenery is awesome. Why stay in the hustle and bustle of Houghton when you can stay here in a quiet, stress free little town with lots of space and trailer parking with nice people and still only be 10 miles from Houghton?

Besides the great location Diane and staff run a great hotel. They will litterally bend over backwards and try to do anything to make your stay more comfortable.The rooms are reasonably priced plus there is a gas station, Burger King/Subway, and grocery store with in a 2 minute walk so anything you need is ready available. Another great option is this hotel has a sauna, pool, jacuzzi, and rec room in the hotel so you can pamper yourself with a few beers and a swim after a long days ride and talk about the great days you had with your pals. Downtown Calumet has restuarants and is also close by and you can venture out for a great meal if thats your fare.

So as you can see this hotel has tons of ammenities plus the location is like no other. You can litterally ride all the snowmobile trails in the Keweenaw in 2-3 days and you wont find a better location. If you want to go farther by snowmobile Land O Lakes WI. is only a few of hours by trail so you can even ride to another state and spend the night down there and ride all the loops of trails on your return if you want to.

For snowmobiling , quad or Harley riding this hotel and location is the best set up I have seen in the Keweenaw and this is where you want to be, trust me. As a side note the Houghton airport is only a 10 minute drive should you decide to fly in.

Room Tip: Ask for a first floor parking lot side room for snowmobiling and Harley riding so you can see your s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank caymankid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiannePeterson, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Calumet, responded to this review, January 19, 2012
Thank you for your review! We at the AmericInn of Calumet really enjoy our outdoor enthusist and are always happy to help anyone find a new desitnation in our area to explore. We are glad that you had the time to experience all the Keweenaw (Copper Country) has to offer. We look forward to the next time you come to stay with us where we can once again welcome you to the end of the day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    60
    17
    5
    3
See reviews for
93
61
19
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mackinaw City
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2011

What a great place to rest after a lot of exploring in the "copper country" . First off, the staff is so friendly, helpful, full of great information and make you feel so welcome. Loved the convenience of having the coffee, tea fruit, etc round the clock and the breakfast bar in the morning is very nice as well.

The beds and pillows were so comfortable that we slept like we were at home, which is rare. Also, they allowed us to bring our poodle for an extra fee but it was so worth it.

Cannot wait to go back. Highly recommend staying at the AmericInn! My only tip is to call directly to the hotel in Calumet to make reservations as when I called the main reservation line, I did get a rude operator with very high rates.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Poodlemom1221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladstone, Michigan
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2011

I have stayed here with my family a few times, and we've always found it clean, comfortable and with a friendly staff. The pool area is nice with a hot tub, sauna, and small pool. The breakfast buffet includes a Belgian waffle maker, and there is a coffee, tea, and ice water station (with lemon slices!) set up all day. Very comfortable and welcoming lobby area. It isn't cheap (I think we usually pay about $70-80) but I have found it worth it as our stays have been pleasant and the location is great, though not exactly scenic as part of a shopping complex. Mountain bikers note that the hotel is a short ride to the excellent Swedetown trails, or a quick drive for XC skiers in winter.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travlinyooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2011

The food area, dirty, coffee cold, unhelpful service, noisy. Compares to a motel 6, but little else in area.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TwoOnTheTrail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiannePeterson, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Calumet, responded to this review, August 29, 2011
Thank you for your review on trip advisor I am sorry to hear you had some problems while staying with us. I would ask that you please contact me directly at the hotel so I can fix these problems and make sure they do not occur again. Again I am so sorry for any inconvience you experienced during your stay and I hope you will give us a chance to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marquette, Michigan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2011

Room and public areas were spotless. Bed was comfortable, water hot. Rooms quiet and safe. Staff was incredibly friendly and helpful to a stranded motorist.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank strandedmotorist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 7, 2011

Nice Hotel, Much Better than 4 STARS Hyatt Hotel in California that I was visited during Christmas weekend. Best of this hotel is Incredible Staff and service.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tranvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2010

I've stayed here 3 times this summer...May, July and September. We had a large group in May for a family funeral. Everytime, the staff was just incredible...went out of their way to be sure everything was to our satisfaction. Clean, convenient, comfortable...just a great place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mollyak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calumet
11.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Houghton
9.9 mi away
Ramada Hancock Waterfront
10.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#6 of 7 in Houghton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Magnuson Franklin Square Inn
9.6 mi away
Super 8 Houghton
Super 8 Houghton
#2 of 7 in Houghton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
11.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Houghton - Keweenaw
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AmericInn Lodge & Suites Calumet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Lodge & Suites Calumet

Property: AmericInn Lodge & Suites Calumet
Address: 56925 S 6th St, Calumet, MI 49913-2901
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Calumet
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Calumet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — AmericInn Lodge & Suites Calumet 2*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 67 room motel is located in the heart of the Keweenaw National Historic Park. We are 15 minutes from the twin cities of Houghton and Hancock. We are located right off the Snow Mobile and ATV trails. We are open year round and staffed 24 hours a day. We have an enhanced continental breakfast, salt water pool, whirlpool and Sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your AmericInn Lodge & Suites Calumet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americinn Hotel Calumet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing