We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent for Snowmobiling”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Calumet
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Centennial Cottages
Indianapolis, IN
Level Contributor
76 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent for Snowmobiling”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We stayed here over Spring Break and enjoyed snowmobiling very much. The location was superb and a short snowmobile trail from the cottage led to the main trails. The owners are so warm and welcoming and take great pride in their property.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HoosierGirl522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    5
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Italy
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

If you are looking for nice and clean cottages, with good rooms, silence, a Christmas village atmosphere, not far away from the city of Calumet (but you need a car), the Centennial Cottages are the right place. The owners are very gentle and will help you if you need infos. The cottages have all you need, plus flat screen TV with satellite connection. WiFi is free and fast.
Adapt for families with children or the smaller cottages for couples looking for a romantic place. We rented very powerful snowmobiles in the near office (cheaper than in Houghton/Hancock).
The Peninsula is fantastic and wild. Prices of the cottages are a little bit expensive.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alessandro T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hell, Michigan
Level Contributor
826 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 576 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Very comfortable with a kitchen, living room and many of the amenities you would have at home. The host were great and asked us the next morning if everything was all right. They seemed to have a genuine interest in making sure we were comfortable. The location is convenient for all of the sights in the Keweenaw. We will be back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank trbeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladstone, Michigan, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

planning a trip to go to copper harbor with my family, which im from gladstone mi. and didnt like any of the reviews i read with the hotel/motels up there, so not wanting to take a chance i started thinking why not stay 20 or 30 miles away and drive the 20 minutes to get to the fort or brockway mtn drive. or estvant pines, and stay in the most modern cabins i have ever stayed in, the price was great and you can see by the photos that its the cozyiest place, its a mile or two past calumet with grocery stores, bars,burger king, whatever you need. and the hosts Marylin and jose were the greatest! i felt like i was staying with family, the flower garden lit up at night was wonderful and other guests like us were outside taking pictures of the garden and gazebo, whens the last time you took pictures of the place you stayed at?...I will go back ,i miss it already. thanks again Marylin and Jose for a great weekend,
the LaCosse's

Room Tip: theres 10 rooms all are great , and all have a warm home like feel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washburn, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2011

Found this by chance. Lucky us! Ten sweet cottages with all the details: full kitchen, bath or shower or both, private bedrm plus comfortable pull-out. Clean. Friendly. Safe. If you need it, it's there. Built and managed by a super great couple. And she is an accomplished accordionist! This place is so much much better than any chain that I just have to say, Trust me. Make this your choice and you will be glad you did. It would be a great location from which to explore Copper Harbor, around the historic town of Calumet, and so on.. coming "home" to your cottage at night. I shared with friend, our bill was approx. 90.. sorry I can't recall precise amount. Quite reasonable. My friend took the living room and enjoyed tv and I happily read my book in the bedroom. Nice to have that privacy.

Room Tip: The cottages we saw all looked good. There are two which can be rented for people traveling with dog...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pearl413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakbrook Terrace, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2011

Do yourself a favor and drive right past the American Inn signs to a small piece of heaven! My husband and I serendipitously found this place while searching for ice cream to curve our cravings! It offers the best lodging and pricing within a fifty-mile radius of Hancock, Houghton, Calumet, etc.!

There are 10 individual cottages in a cul-de-sac. In the middle of the cul-de-sac are a gazebo, a barbecue grill, a fire pit as well as an old fashion sofa swing. Additionally, three arbors are strategically place to enhance the entrance into the gazebo.

Each cottage has its own driveway and a small porch to accent the entrance. Upon entering beautiful pictures of the property meticulously adorn the walls of the quaint living room with a full-size pullout couch. The 42-inch flat screen television is equipped with a built-in DVD player.

The kitchen boasts full-size appliances and is well stocked with quality non-stick pots and pans as well as eating utensils, plates and the likes to provide you with most of the frills of your home kitchen! Two supermarkets are within a five-radius.

The bedroom decor is more than appropriate. It boasts a queen-size bed and plenty closet space to boot. The entire cottage is IMMACULATE!

The property has its own laundry house and for a $1.25 for washing and $1.00 for drying you can wash your blues away! Did I say the detergent is free of charge?

Oh, and . . . you can access the wireless service on your porch as well as the gazebo!

And . . . these cottages are right off the snowmobiling trails!!!!!!! The prices are extremely comparable if not better-to a hotel stay without the noise, parking space concerns, hearing sounds from the next room and the likes!

This is a must stay!

The owners are on sight and absolutely WONDERFUL!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank M W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
Level Contributor
160 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We go to Michigan's Upper Pennisula each year to celebrate with family. This was our fifth stay at Centennial Cottages. We highly recommend this property and the owners go above and beyond to welcome their guests. The cottages are clean, quaint and quiet but well situated to all attractions on the UP! The courtyard area and fire pit were a great addition. We rented two cottages this year and the owners graciously gave us cabins side by side so that we could easily move back and forth with our relatives.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LCMey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calumet
1.8 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Calumet
12.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Houghton
11.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#6 of 7 in Houghton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Ramada Hancock Waterfront
11.5 mi away
Magnuson Franklin Square Inn
12.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Houghton - Keweenaw
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centennial Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centennial Cottages

Property: Centennial Cottages
Address: 26950 No. 4 Rd., Calumet, MI 49913
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Calumet
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Calumet
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing