We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So-So”
Review of Carmelitas

Carmelitas
Ranked #5 of 15 Restaurants in Calumet
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Cambridge, Canada
Level Contributor
113 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“So-So”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Had the prime rib. It was over-cooked. Asked for no rice but got it anyway. With the brew pub closed on Wednesdays, it was the only place open.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank DrSQL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    26
    18
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
253 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Where to get chile rellenos in the Keweenaw?...Here!”
Reviewed July 17, 2012

This place continues to thrive because the food is pretty good for a Mexican joint smack dab in the middle of the Northwoods. Service is usually good. Ask to sit in the back section, it's quieter there. They usually seat the families with kids in the front booths. The food is pretty good. Standard Tex-Mex fare. I like the chile rellenos or the fish tacos. I get extra rice instead of their beans, which are whole beans, not refried. Also, I think their seafood burrito is not very good and would not recommend it.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lungfruit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livonia, Michigan
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good food, great drinks and service”
Reviewed July 13, 2012

I know my Mexican and Carmlitas is no more than fair in my book but the atmosphere is relaxed and interesting and the local beer, and margaritas are excellent. We found the prices reasonable for the area and type of restaurant. I had a wonderful experience ordering a gift certificate at Christmas over the phone. Not only was the server helpful and courteous, she personally delivered the certificate to my local friend!

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sushi56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calumet, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great service”
Reviewed June 8, 2012

Loved the food and the outdoor seating was great very beautiful area to dine

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank DAVID H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Alabama
Level Contributor
79 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Best Mexican in the UP”
Reviewed May 20, 2012

What an amazing find. Wish I could go back here again and again and again. Good food. Good prices. Great margaritas. Nice atmosphere. Great find.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 922ScottB77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carmelitas also viewed

Calumet, Upper Peninsula
 
Calumet, Upper Peninsula
Calumet, Upper Peninsula
 
Calumet, Upper Peninsula
 

Been to Carmelitas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing