We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“When I got here, I saw fireworks!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Cadillac
Kettering, Ohio
Level Contributor
402 reviews
262 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“When I got here, I saw fireworks!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Stayed on the 4th of July for a few nights. I loved the location, got a room on the highway side with a side view of the lake. Enjoyed the discount at the restaurant next door (along with frequent flyer miles there), walked around the lake. Listened to a jazz band in town along the lake. Saw fireworks from my balcony, which I shared with many mosquitoes. Visted the Historical Museum.

Room well maintained, quiet. Price - well, the price I was quoted was great. What was on my bill was $4.95 higher (but the difference in price gave me enough points to finish earning a free room in Rome for my Italian/Holy Land cruise in December. So, I guess it's a matter of perspective. Fight for the $10 bucks and have to book another night in a Choice Hotel before the fall, or pay the $10 and get a "free" room in Rome. Not worth argueing.

But the staff were alternatively very nice and then a bit rude - to each other, not the guests.

Breakfast OK, usual lower price carb fest. Balconies nice.

Return to Cadillac - you bet. Here - well, let's see what the stated price is (and then add $5) when comparing this place to the Days Inn. I like the location, and Cadillac seems full of motel dumps like the Rodeway, so maybe. But it wuld be better if they actually charged what was on the resrvation without having to fight for it.

Room Tip: Highway side for the views, upper floor for balcony. Rear for quiet, lower floor for at door parkin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SenseIntoDollars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    29
    11
    2
    5
See reviews for
16
19
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saginaw
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

The Econo Lodge in Cadillace isn't fancy or new, but it's clean and updated. It has friendly front desk staff and the wi-fi speed rocked! It's economical and in a great location. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy1816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flushing, Michigan
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012 via mobile

Very nice. Well renovated, clean, power outlets for chargers, round table works as desk, lawn chairs outside, exterior and interior doors, free WiFi, coffee maker, fridge (no micro). Lake across the street (too bad I'm not here to fish!). And yes, they have FoxNews.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CableSux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

Bed Bugs!!!! Terrible rooms!!!! Smelt like curry, dirty carpets. I can't believe this is an Econo Lodge with such dirty carpets and rooms. The supposed owner named Jack talked the place up over the phone and then when I arrived wouldn't give my money back and told me what should I expect. Do yourself a favor and stay well away.

Room Tip: Find another hotel!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale
Level Contributor
222 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

This is my third time here in three years. The rooms have been repainted since my last visit. Lots of maintenance and renovations going on. Looks like new fridge, but old a/c window/wall unit. Manager said new carpeting is probably the next project.

Wi-fi signal very strong (even in my end unit room) and download speed of just over 16mb, which is faster than I have ever seen in a hotel. I especially like having both an interior entrance and a sliding door to the patio/parking lot.

Good water pressure in shower, free breakfast wasn’t much (but about what expected). Overall, a very pleasant stay. Next year will probably be visit #4 and I’ll be expecting even more improvements.

Incidentally, the Frosty Cup restaruant about a quarter mile down the road (across the bridge) is a pretty good inexpensive place for breakfast or an ice cream dessert after dinner.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BJDealer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

I had work in Cadillac so I needed a cheap place to stay and through a membership discount, this hotel had the cheapest rate. The hotel is definitely on the older side but it appears to have been modified and updated through the years. The hotel actually has an outside balcony area which I had never seen before at an Econolodge.

The room I had for two nights was clean by all accounts, just dated from the 1970s. I rip the beds open before I start unpacking my luggage to check for bugs or other gross stuff and I found nothing. The hotel's in-room A/C worked well enough and the wireless Internet was pretty good in terms of speed. The breakfast was on the lighter side but that is par for the course with an Econolodge.

So long as you're only looking for a hotel to sleep and take a shower in, this will fit the bill. It is not the greatest place to "hang out" in though but I don't think any hotel in Cadillac would meet that criterion. The hotel's location is very convenient to the State Park area and its nice DNR Visitor's Center and beautiful walks by either Lake Cadillac or Mitchell.

Stay here for the value and not for the coziness/quaintness of the room itself.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arw84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale
Level Contributor
222 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2010

Great room layout. Interior corridors to all rooms. First floor rooms also have exterior doors to parking lot. Second floor rooms have balconies. When I stayed here in June 2009 it was pretty good (good enough for me to come back) but is now even better. New owner as of January 2010 has brightened the place up a bit, cleaned up a few missing details, and improved the breakfast (althought b'fast still isn't that great). Also, the Wi-Fi is GREATLY IMPROVED. It is by far the FASTEST internet connection I've had since I started this trip four weeks and 20+ hotels ago.

The staff is still top-notch. This is my first choice in Cadillac.
Other benefits: Close to Frosty Cup Restaurant (good food, low prices) and the Cadillac West Laundromat (they do wash & fold for a dollar a pound).

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BJDealer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cadillac
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Cadillac
Hampton Inn Cadillac
#1 of 14 in Cadillac
4.5 of 5 stars 279 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cadillac Inn
Cadillac Inn
#9 of 14 in Cadillac
3.5 of 5 stars 35 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cadillac
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hermann's Hotel
Hermann's Hotel
#5 of 14 in Cadillac
4.0 of 5 stars 42 reviews
19.5 mi away
Best Bear Lodge & Campground
2.5 mi away
Evergreen Resort
Evergreen Resort
#2 of 14 in Cadillac
4.0 of 5 stars 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Property: Econo Lodge
Address: 2501 Sunnyside Drive, Cadillac, MI 49601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Cadillac
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Cadillac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotwire and Choice Hotels so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Cadillac
Cadillac Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing