We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“price is right” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Cadillac
Saginaw
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“price is right”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

The Econo Lodge in Cadillace isn't fancy or new, but it's clean and updated. It has friendly front desk staff and the wi-fi speed rocked! It's economical and in a great location. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy1816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    31
    11
    2
    5
See reviews for
18
21
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Flushing, Michigan
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012 via mobile

Very nice. Well renovated, clean, power outlets for chargers, round table works as desk, lawn chairs outside, exterior and interior doors, free WiFi, coffee maker, fridge (no micro). Lake across the street (too bad I'm not here to fish!). And yes, they have FoxNews.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CableSux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2011

Bed Bugs!!!! Terrible rooms!!!! Smelt like curry, dirty carpets. I can't believe this is an Econo Lodge with such dirty carpets and rooms. The supposed owner named Jack talked the place up over the phone and then when I arrived wouldn't give my money back and told me what should I expect. Do yourself a favor and stay well away.

Room Tip: Find another hotel!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale
Level Contributor
231 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2011

This is my third time here in three years. The rooms have been repainted since my last visit. Lots of maintenance and renovations going on. Looks like new fridge, but old a/c window/wall unit. Manager said new carpeting is probably the next project.

Wi-fi signal very strong (even in my end unit room) and download speed of just over 16mb, which is faster than I have ever seen in a hotel. I especially like having both an interior entrance and a sliding door to the patio/parking lot.

Good water pressure in shower, free breakfast wasn’t much (but about what expected). Overall, a very pleasant stay. Next year will probably be visit #4 and I’ll be expecting even more improvements.

Incidentally, the Frosty Cup restaruant about a quarter mile down the road (across the bridge) is a pretty good inexpensive place for breakfast or an ice cream dessert after dinner.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BJDealer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2011

I had work in Cadillac so I needed a cheap place to stay and through a membership discount, this hotel had the cheapest rate. The hotel is definitely on the older side but it appears to have been modified and updated through the years. The hotel actually has an outside balcony area which I had never seen before at an Econolodge.

The room I had for two nights was clean by all accounts, just dated from the 1970s. I rip the beds open before I start unpacking my luggage to check for bugs or other gross stuff and I found nothing. The hotel's in-room A/C worked well enough and the wireless Internet was pretty good in terms of speed. The breakfast was on the lighter side but that is par for the course with an Econolodge.

So long as you're only looking for a hotel to sleep and take a shower in, this will fit the bill. It is not the greatest place to "hang out" in though but I don't think any hotel in Cadillac would meet that criterion. The hotel's location is very convenient to the State Park area and its nice DNR Visitor's Center and beautiful walks by either Lake Cadillac or Mitchell.

Stay here for the value and not for the coziness/quaintness of the room itself.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arw84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale
Level Contributor
231 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2010

Great room layout. Interior corridors to all rooms. First floor rooms also have exterior doors to parking lot. Second floor rooms have balconies. When I stayed here in June 2009 it was pretty good (good enough for me to come back) but is now even better. New owner as of January 2010 has brightened the place up a bit, cleaned up a few missing details, and improved the breakfast (althought b'fast still isn't that great). Also, the Wi-Fi is GREATLY IMPROVED. It is by far the FASTEST internet connection I've had since I started this trip four weeks and 20+ hotels ago.

The staff is still top-notch. This is my first choice in Cadillac.
Other benefits: Close to Frosty Cup Restaurant (good food, low prices) and the Cadillac West Laundromat (they do wash & fold for a dollar a pound).

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BJDealer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2010

My friend and I stayed one night in a ground floor two-bedded room. We woke up in the middle of the night itching all over, only to discover that both the beds were crawling with bedbugs. I managed to capture and kill around five of them (the rest managed to escape almost as if by magic). We continued to get bitten for the rest of the miserable, sleepless night. We had a long drive ahead of us the next day, and spending the night without sleep did not help one bit. When I told the manager about it in the morning before checking out, he just shrugged and said 'sorry' ... that was all he did. We were so exhausted from the itching and the lack of sleep that we were seriously terrified of dozing off at the wheel! We will never stay at this motel again and will not recommend it to anybody who wants to sleep at night without getting bitten all over by bedbugs.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jblegrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cadillac
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Cadillac
Hampton Inn Cadillac
#2 of 14 in Cadillac
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cadillac Inn
Cadillac Inn
#9 of 14 in Cadillac
3.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cadillac
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hermann's Hotel
Hermann's Hotel
#6 of 14 in Cadillac
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
24.6 mi away
Osceola Grand Hotel
Osceola Grand Hotel
#1 of 1 in Evart
3.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
2.5 mi away
Evergreen Resort
Evergreen Resort
#1 of 14 in Cadillac
4.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Property: Econo Lodge
Address: 2501 Sunnyside Dr, Cadillac, MI 49601-8027
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Cadillac
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Cadillac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Cadillac
Cadillac Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing