We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hot water heater did not work, breakfast ran out continually.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Cadillac
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Cadillac
Reviewed July 8, 2013

First of all, I would like to say that I am a Hilton Honors member and try to stay at Hiltons because they are usually well appointed. This property seemed to be poorly run. The rooms were clean as was the entire property. However, when we awoke in the morning, the hot water was non-existent. I called the front desk and they said that it was ongoing issue and that they called the repairman. It was a full hotel and I got the last available room in the area. I would've thought that the hotel would've been sure to have this issue fixed long before the busiest weekend of the year.

The other issue concerned the breakfast, many of the breakfast items were continually empty. For instance, at one point, there wasn't any coffee available, but there were cups. When I went back, there was coffee but there wasn't any cups. The yogurt container, was present, but there wasn't any yogurt in it. So, it seemed that they needed more people working.

Everyone I encountered was friendly. But I think that there should have been more workers. The maintenance man that I encountered in the hallway, smiled and greeted me. However, he seemed to be bouncing back and forth.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank family-fun-Five2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasonDay, General Manager at Hampton Inn Cadillac, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with valuable feedback which will help us improve our guest experience. I’m very sorry that you had some maintenance issues during your stay. I’ve discussed your comments with our maintenance staff and we’ve already taken care of the issues you mentioned in your review; however, I can empathize with your disappointment and sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you went though.

Please be assured that your comments are extremely important to us. We are always learning your comments. I do hope you decide stay with us again so that we may have the opportunity of exceeding your expectations.

Sincerely,
Jason Day
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (433)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

410 - 416 of 433 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2013

Felt Hampton touch was missing. A/C unit & fan was so noisy & unable to use it during the stay. Toilet flush didn't work properly. Intercom was dead. These are basic checks suppose to be done before offering room to any guest. I felt that there was a great deal of negligence and lethargic in the service.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Kannan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasonDay, General Manager at Hampton Inn Cadillac, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We appreciate your feedback and we’re very sorry you were not completely satisfied with your last visit. I was disappointed to read that there were some maintenance issues that inconvenienced you and that none of our managers were available to assist you with your requests. Our main priority is for all our guests to experience an exceptional level of service and I can assure you that I will take your suggestions into consideration to improve our properly. Our guest feedback is incredibly important as it provides us an opportunity to attend to areas that need our attention.

I apologize if you went through any inconveniences and I hope you give us another chance to serve you, if you travels bring you back to our area. Please know that we value your business and will work hard to earn your trust once again.

Sincerely
Jason Day
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

I'm a Gold member...formerly Diamond pre-recession, and am extremely brand loyal to the Hilton family of hotels. Without question this was the worst experience at a Hilton property that I can remember.
I reserved three rooms as we were visiting the area for a festival. Three of my adult children arrived two hours prior to my wife and I, yet the front desk attendant refused to give them their rooms, even though they were pre-paid with points. My kids told her this, but she was too lazy to look at all three of the reservations. When I got there she tried to tell me that one of the two rooms paid for with points also needed to be paid for, and I then had to show her my printed confirmation. She was totally incompetent.
Then it was time to hit the exercise room. There I found three treadmills, where none of them had working TVs. There was a large TV on the opposite wall of the 6 or 7 pieces of cardio equipment. Did I mention that only one of the two A/C units in the exercise room worked?
Okay, so now the workout is done...time for a nice hot shower, or so I thought. The water never got hotter than luke-warm, perhaps because we were on the 4th floor. I'm also glad that I didn't want to use any hair conditioner, because they forgot to provide that when the cleaned the room.

In summary - cosmetically the property looks fine. Operationally the property is extremely sub-par. The customer service is poor, and that clearly is a function of poor training and poor management. I got the feeling that the desk clerk was so used to complaints that she was inured to criticism.

Recommendations:
1. Fire the GM - the buck stops with him.
2. Fix the property or take it out of the Hilton family.
3. Retrain or replace the staff.
4. Refund my three rooms for two nights, including points.

AND MOST IMPORTANTLY MY FELLOW TRAVELERS AND HILTON PROPERTIES FANS, DO NOT STAY HERE.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 1greenprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasonDay, General Manager at Hampton Inn Cadillac, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. As a Hilton HHonors Member we sincerely appreciate your business. I understand that you were disappointed and that we came short of delivering what you are accustomed to expect from us. I truly apologize if you had any issues at our front desk with your reservation. We appreciate your business and sincerely apologize that we did not provide you with the level of quality that you are accustomed to receive from us. We do everything we can to ensure our guests enjoy our hotel. With that said, I assure that your feedback is incredibly important to us and I will definitely take your comments into consideration.

Again, I thank you very much for your review and sincerely hope that you will give us another opportunity and stay with us next time you’re in town.

Sincerely
Jason Day
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

I'm a loyal Hilton Honors member and try to stay with the brand, so I made my reservation for this location. Having read the reviews, I knew the history of the facility: originally a Hampton Inn, changed to a no-name hotel, now once again a Hampton Inn. Let's just say, it's not quite there yet. Hotel itself is clean and the pool was very nice (warm water, not freezing cold like most), but the doors to our room and the gym did not work properly and took several tries; in fact, we gave up at the gym ... green light came on but door would NOT open! Vending machines looked brand new but none had anything stocked. Oh, and there was NOT a business center (as advertised on the website)!!! The young girl at the desk was clueless -- did not know why they didn't have a business center and did not know if there were plans to ever have one! I suppose this is where I made my mistake -- I should have exercised my right to the Hampton's 100% satisfaction guaranteed, but I was tired and it was just one night. Oh, and in the morning I saw a lady taking her two dogs up the elevator to her room. I asked if this was allowed, as the website states no pets (except for service dogs), and she smiled and told me that pets WERE allowed. Also, I happened to use the washing machine/dryer -- $2 for each and no problems there. So, if you're looking for a clean hotel, this is the place. But if you're expecting the Hampton/Hilton standards, this isn't the place. I stayed at the Holiday Inn (next door) about a year ago and it was pretty good, so I guess I'd go with the cheaper of the two if I had to pass through town again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pokeymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

I have seen some bad reviews of this hotel - seemingly due to renovation inconveniences. It is a new hotel and very nice. The competition in this class of hotels is Holiday Inn Express (which I have not stayed at) and is higher priced. Thought I'd try the Hampton Inn and it is a good place and a great value.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Saltydog22StLouis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

I called the hotel a couple days ahead of time thinking I was getting a Hampton Inn, per Google search. The front desk clerk said they were changing their name to Hampton Inn and there was slight construction. Didn't seem like a problem so I made a reservation. When arriving on-site there were 4 other guests in the entire hotel. I know, I should've turned around at this point but the Holiday Inn Express always claims they are booked even though there are only 10 cars in the lot at night. Anyway, the front lobby of the Hampton, er Cadillac Hotel was littered with new furniture in boxes, but I was assured the rooms were finished. I got my room keys and entered the hallway filled with paint cans, drywall mud, garbage, and cement floors (no carpet). I'll admit, the room was in great shape, like most new Hampton Inns, but the smell of liquid nails and carpet adhesive was unbearable. I left the hotel within 5 minutes. Don't go here until construction has been complete for at least a month. I am surprised they are allowed to tell people they are open. A safety/health inspector needs to make a visit here.

Room Tip: Unsafe for sleeping during construction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank t v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

My husband and I stayed while the hotel was going through its name change. That was no big deal, I thought, but what was a big deal was how incredibly rude the front desk employee was. The woman that was working was so nasty and rude to me that another customer had to tell her to "shut-up." All of this happened while another employee looked on and other customers were in the check in area. The wi-fi was terrible, the front desk employees were not kind or helpful in any way. If there would have been a number or some kind of contact information on my receipt I would have been contacting the management. I would have to be desperate to stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Amy1816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cadillac
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cadillac
15.7 mi away
Cadillac Inn
Cadillac Inn
#7 of 14 in Cadillac
47 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hermann's Hotel
Hermann's Hotel
#9 of 14 in Cadillac
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
Best Bear Lodge & Campground
0.8 mi away
Evergreen Resort
Evergreen Resort
#1 of 14 in Cadillac
561 reviews
3 mi away
Days Inn Cadillac
Days Inn Cadillac
#5 of 14 in Cadillac
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Cadillac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Cadillac

Address: 1650 S Mitchell St, Cadillac, MI 49601-8472 (Formerly Cadillac Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Cadillac
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Cadillac
Price Range: $93 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Cadillac 2.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The spacious Hampton Inn(R) hotel is ideally located within walking distance of the beautiful Lake Cadillac which has hiking trails, picnic areas and swimming for your enjoyment. Lake Mitchell is another beautiful lake for summertime fun. There are also many cross country trails. Guests visiting the area will enjoy the many unique boutiques and small town shopping areas that are located just blocks away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Cadillac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Cadillac Hotel Cadillac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing