We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Unsafe during renovation” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Cadillac

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hampton Inn Cadillac
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Cadillac
Certificate of Excellence
Cadillac, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Unsafe during renovation”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

I called the hotel a couple days ahead of time thinking I was getting a Hampton Inn, per Google search. The front desk clerk said they were changing their name to Hampton Inn and there was slight construction. Didn't seem like a problem so I made a reservation. When arriving on-site there were 4 other guests in the entire hotel. I know, I should've turned around at this point but the Holiday Inn Express always claims they are booked even though there are only 10 cars in the lot at night. Anyway, the front lobby of the Hampton, er Cadillac Hotel was littered with new furniture in boxes, but I was assured the rooms were finished. I got my room keys and entered the hallway filled with paint cans, drywall mud, garbage, and cement floors (no carpet). I'll admit, the room was in great shape, like most new Hampton Inns, but the smell of liquid nails and carpet adhesive was unbearable. I left the hotel within 5 minutes. Don't go here until construction has been complete for at least a month. I am surprised they are allowed to tell people they are open. A safety/health inspector needs to make a visit here.

Room Tip: Unsafe for sleeping during construction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank t v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    107
    36
    17
    14
See reviews for
122
123
13
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Saginaw
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

My husband and I stayed while the hotel was going through its name change. That was no big deal, I thought, but what was a big deal was how incredibly rude the front desk employee was. The woman that was working was so nasty and rude to me that another customer had to tell her to "shut-up." All of this happened while another employee looked on and other customers were in the check in area. The wi-fi was terrible, the front desk employees were not kind or helpful in any way. If there would have been a number or some kind of contact information on my receipt I would have been contacting the management. I would have to be desperate to stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Amy1816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

Front deck clerk very nice, rooms clean,beds and pillows comfortable. I know they are in between a name change, they are a Comfort Inn and changing into a Hampton Inn.
Breakfast was typical. Very nice Mexican restaurant right across the parking lot. If you like Authentic Mexican food that's the place to go.

Room and service very nice, Hot tub perfect, pool was cold! nice workout area.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marsha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portage, Michigan
Level Contributor
84 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2011

I've reviewed this property before, and am sad say I was recently let down here. First, the price jumped up slightly, which I can understand if there are improvements. However, my most recent stay (Dec '11) was below par. The wi-fi was horrible, the check-in was slow and un-caring, and the breakfast area was out of items. It still isn't "bad", but I think I'll try the Holiday Inn Express next time.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Drinkwater11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2011

FIrst of all, this was our 2nd trip up to Michigan this summer. The first time, we stayed further north in Traverse City. The hotel there was old, shabby and was double of what we paid to stay at the Comfort Inn.

This Comfort Inn is located on a main route in Cadillac, MI. It is very close to dining and recreational venues.

It was clean, modern, and the staff was friendly. The woman who worked at the front desk was very helpful. She drew a map for me offering several restaurant ideas.

Our room was clean. It had a microwave and fridge. The upkeep of the building was good. The pool was clean and well-maintained.

The only disappointment was the "breakfast." It was rather limited in its options, but again, sanitary in its presentation. Biscuits and gravy was the hot breakfast option. It was not too tempting.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank swagworldchicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portage, Michigan
Level Contributor
84 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2011

Nice large rooms, good complimentary breakfast, well equiped fitness room sum up this clean and comfortable property in Cadillac.

I stay at this Comfort Inn at least once a month, and am never let down. Great location on south side of Cadillac.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Drinkwater11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2011

The guys in my family go up to ski in Michigan every year. This year we chose Caberfae Peaks in Cadillac. We've been there twice before, and we stayed in the Holiday Inn Express last time right next door. I got this room on Priceline.com, and splitting it 4 ways made it pretty cheap. The rooms were super clean, and actually, very classy. It was rated a 2-star on Priceline, but I would consider it at least a 3-star. Great beds, very classy room and bathroom. We were pleasantly surprised with the free breakfast. Normally, for the hotel "free breakfast", you get a little box of fruit loops and a crusty bagel. When we got down to the breakfast area, they did have those Fruit Loops, but they also had warm sausage patties & you could make your own waffle. Delicious. They also have an indoor pool and hottub, and a 24 hour fitness room. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zimmazimm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cadillac
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cadillac
1.2 mi away
Hermann's Hotel
Hermann's Hotel
#8 of 14 in Cadillac
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
3.0 mi away
Cadillac Inn
Cadillac Inn
#9 of 14 in Cadillac
3.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
Best Bear Lodge & Campground
0.8 mi away
Evergreen Resort
Evergreen Resort
#1 of 14 in Cadillac
4.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
3.0 mi away
Days Inn Cadillac
Days Inn Cadillac
#6 of 14 in Cadillac
3.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Cadillac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Cadillac

Property: Hampton Inn Cadillac
Address: 1650 South Mitchell Street, Cadillac, MI 49601 (Formerly Cadillac Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Cadillac
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Cadillac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Cadillac 2.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The spacious Hampton Inn(R) hotel is ideally located within walking distance of the beautiful Lake Cadillac which has hiking trails, picnic areas and swimming for your enjoyment. Lake Mitchell is another beautiful lake for summertime fun. There are also many cross country trails. Guests visiting the area will enjoy the many unique boutiques and small town shopping areas that are located just blocks away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Hampton Inn Cadillac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Cadillac Hotel Cadillac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing