We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Nice overnight stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Evergreen Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Evergreen Resort
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Cadillac
Certificate of Excellence
Macomb, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice overnight stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

My husband and I bought a golf package for one night stay and 36 holes. The golf course was well taken care of and enjoyable to play. We stayed in the main hotel and the room was modern with a flat screen TV. However we did't get much sleep because the pillows were terrible! The atrium restaurant was bright and with a nice view. The wait staff was very attentive and cheerful. The food was typical breakfast buffet scrambled eggs and bacon but came free with the package. Excellent coffee!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main building with a view of the golf couse. And bring your own pillows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    66
    28
    18
    7
See reviews for
52
57
5
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Alpena, Michigan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We came here to relax and refresh after a hard week. Our plan was to sleep in, wake up leisurely, and enjoy our breakfast overlooking the golf course. Why are your housekeepers waking me up at 8am if checkout is not until 11??? If you include a breakfast buffet and tell me it's served until 9:30am, I darn well better be able to walk in at 9:10 and expect a full compliment of food. It was only until ten more people walked in at 9:20 that they decided to put out more food. Your breakfast buffet is the ONLY reason I opted for your $100 price and not the 80 dollar option down the road, so if I don't get my french toast- you don't get my business anymore. I thought this was a RESORT? And last time I checked...it's the middle of summer...that means people here are on vacation-- that means late mornings. Get your act together, McGuire's!

Room Tip: Be sure to place your "Do Not Disturb" sign outside if you want to sleep in. Then get to b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sunnyamylynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart L, Front Office Manager at Evergreen Resort, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of our resort. It is only through feedback like yours that we can improve our resort going forward. I am very sorry that you were disappointed with your stay with us, and I have addressed these issues with our Executive Housekeeper and Food and Beverage Manager. I would really like an opportunity to go over these issues with you personally, please contact me here at McGuire’s at your earliest convenience.
My direct line is 231-942-7050
Email is stuartl@mcguiresresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We spent two nights here with relatives. Low rates & newly remodeled rooms. Kids loved the pool. Restaurant overlooks golf course. Breakfast buffet included. Great service, especially restaurant.

Grounds were kept in tip-top shape. We Don't golf but enjoyed our stay very much.

Room Tip: Ask for newer rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon, Indiana
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We only stayed one night, but this was very nice. Clean and comfortable. Not crowded, but it was midweek. A good stopping place on our way to Mackinaw! The breakfast vouchers afforded us a fabulous buffet!

Room Tip: We scheduled through Expedia. Very easy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart L, Front Office Manager at Evergreen Resort, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Glad you had a great stay with us, and thank you for taking the time to post a review. Hope to see you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saginaw, Michigan
Level Contributor
190 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

The whole experience was great. Great food in the Terrace restaurant, the golf course is in great condition even after a lot of rain. The Course is fun yet challenging. I recommend McGuire's to anyone looking for a nice place with reasonable rates.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart L, Front Office Manager at Evergreen Resort, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Thank you so much for the great review. It’s been a little challenging this summer with all the rain to keep the course up to standards, but it’s great to hear the crew’s hard work has been paying off!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goodrich, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for a quick weekend away. We didn't do any golfing, but the course looked very nice. The hotel and the grounds were very clean, and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The food in the restaurant and the bar was delicious. Great place!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart L, Front Office Manager at Evergreen Resort, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
I’m glad you enjoyed you meals while you were with us, and our housekeepers always appreciate hearing comments like yours! Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Stayed at the end of June for a few days as we had a golf package. Staff was extremely friendly, room was large, bed was very comfortable and everything was exceptionally clean.
Would definitely go back!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the golf course -- absolutely beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jfrap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cadillac
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Cadillac
Hampton Inn Cadillac
#1 of 14 in Cadillac
4.5 of 5 stars 283 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cadillac
1.9 mi away
Hermann's Hotel
Hermann's Hotel
#6 of 14 in Cadillac
4.0 of 5 stars 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Cadillac Inn
Cadillac Inn
#9 of 14 in Cadillac
3.5 of 5 stars 36 reviews
3.5 mi away
Days Inn Cadillac
Days Inn Cadillac
#4 of 14 in Cadillac
3.5 of 5 stars 321 reviews
2.5 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#8 of 14 in Cadillac
4.0 of 5 stars 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Evergreen Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evergreen Resort

Property: Evergreen Resort
Address: 7880 Mackinaw Trl, Cadillac, MI 49601-9746 (Formerly McGuire's Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Cadillac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Cadillac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Evergreen Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 327 beautiful acres outside the city of Cadillac, Evergreen Resort is home to two award-winning golf courses, two restaurants, 117 cozy guestrooms and much, much more. Best of all, there is always something to do at Evergreen Resort, regardless of when you plan your visit. Some resorts close their doors and hibernate through the winter, while others lose their appeal the moment the snow melts - but at Evergreen Resort we think differently. With miles of trails for hiking, biking, snowmobiling and cross-country skiing, there is always a reason to relish in the outdoors. That's why our resort stays open 365 days a year. We're also surrounded by half a million acres of national forest, so guests are just minutes away from superb downhill skiing, fishing and lakeside beaches. Planning a wedding, family reunion, or other group event? We have meeting space to accommodate groups of 12-200. Traveling with your pet? Pet friendly rooms are available for your furry friend as well. Make Evergreen Resort your one-stop destination! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Evergreen Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mcguire`s Hotel Cadillac
Mcguires Resort Cadillac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing