We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish I could have stayed Longer!”
Review of Evergreen Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Evergreen Resort
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Cadillac
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wish I could have stayed Longer!”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Bright, clean comfortable room in a very warm and cozy resort overlooking a golf course and the city of Cadillac. Can't wait to come back here sometime. Resort staff was very helpful and accommodating, particularly with early check-in. Good home away from home feel, too.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    158
    62
    31
    10
See reviews for
145
153
9
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Valparaiso, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014

We went to Cadillac for a winter weekend get a way and stayed at McGuire's. The room was very clean and comfortable. We enjoyed our stay and felt the staff was very friendly. We would defintely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcellus, Michigan, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 14, 2013

What a great experience. Clean room, friendly staff, great breakfast. First class experience. I would highly recommend to family and friends! I can't believe that this place is right there and not more well known! People should be taking advantage of this hidden treasure!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grace S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

Good: The entire resort is very clean, from the lobby to the restaurant to our room. We we given one of the new "model" rooms (which is what all the rooms are "soon going to be") and it was very nice. Exceptionally clean. Flat screen TV, new linens and furniture. One of the most comfortable hotel beds I've slept on. The room was spacious with a large sofa, desk, mini fridge and coffee maker, and a dinette; and the bathroom was large. The updated decor was contemporary without being a distraction. I loved the natural stone countertop in the bathroom and "kitchen" area. We had plenty of space for luggage and personal items.
Included is a full hot breakfast buffet. The breakfast service was very good, fast and friendly. And the dining area has gorgeous huge windows with views of the gold course.

Bad: The bathroom door stuck badly on our newly remodeled "model room." The new faucet is too short for the new sink and the water literally runs onto the countertop, its nearly impossible to use. The shower curtain is a disaster: soaks up water and drips all over everything and will not stop touching you....and everyone else who uses that shower. Gross. Glass Doors Needed!!!!! The breakfast buffet was free but after the first morning, we opted to go buy breakfast elsewhere. Sure they have scrambled (powdered?) eggs, bacon and sausage (greasy fatty nastiness) and some cereal options ... but everything was such poor quality it just wasn't for us.
Our friends were put in a "standard" room and were not at all pleased, stained and ripped carpet, peeling wallpaper, very old TVs, etc. rooms seem very hit-or-miss.
Ordered room service kids chicken fingers and fries, and it was poor quality frozen food. Very cheap in both price and quality. I would happily pay more for better quality.

Overall, I think this could be a great "resort" especially for golf enthusiasts, but McGuires really just needs to get it together, and maybe that's what they are trying to do. If I could get a "new" room I would stay here again, I would just skip breakfast.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wilfromgrandrapids
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Upon check-in the guy at the front desk didn't see our reservation (that was made a week prior) on the computer. After about 5 minutes of confusion he saw it written down on a piece of paper that never got put into the system. Thankfully our room was still available. Our queen suite wasn't anything fancy but it was very spacious. The bathroom was huge, but set up awkwardly. The suite came with a pink (haha) jacuzzi which worked well. Everything except the TV was pretty outdated. Lots of good channels on the TV, though. I was prepared to give this hotel a 3 star review but the free breakfast bumped it up to 4 stars. Bacon, sausage, eggs, potatoes as well as all the other typical hotel breakfast bread-goods were included! The breakfast staff was extremely friendly. Overall not bad for the money!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wilfromgrandrapids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian, Michigan, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Superior accommodations were very clean and modern. A beautiful golf course and pool area. Great food and drink selection at their in-house restaurant and bar. Plan to arrange a family get-together here next year since there is something for everyone to enjoy.
We were particularly impressed with the staff. Everyone wanted to make sure our visit was enjoyable, Thank you all.
Bill & Michele from Adrian

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cadillac hotels
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Cadillac
Hampton Inn Cadillac
#2 of 14 in Cadillac
400 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cadillac
2.8 mi away
Cadillac Inn
Cadillac Inn
#10 of 14 in Cadillac
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hermann's Hotel
Hermann's Hotel
#8 of 14 in Cadillac
48 reviews
15.8 mi away
Caberfae Peaks Ski & Golf Resort
3.5 mi away
Days Inn Cadillac
Days Inn Cadillac
#5 of 14 in Cadillac
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Evergreen Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evergreen Resort

Property: Evergreen Resort
Address: 7880 Mackinaw Trl, Cadillac, MI 49601-9746 (Formerly McGuire's Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Cadillac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Cadillac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Evergreen Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 327 beautiful acres outside the city of Cadillac, Evergreen Resort is home to two award-winning golf courses, two restaurants, 117 cozy guestrooms and much, much more. Best of all, there is always something to do at Evergreen Resort, regardless of when you plan your visit. Some resorts close their doors and hibernate through the winter, while others lose their appeal the moment the snow melts - but at Evergreen Resort we think differently. With miles of trails for hiking, biking, snowmobiling and cross-country skiing, there is always a reason to relish in the outdoors. That's why our resort stays open 365 days a year. We're also surrounded by half a million acres of national forest, so guests are just minutes away from superb downhill skiing, fishing and lakeside beaches. Planning a wedding, family reunion, or other group event? We have meeting space to accommodate groups of 12-200. Traveling with your pet? Pet friendly rooms are available for your furry friend as well. Make Evergreen Resort your one-stop destination! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Evergreen Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mcguire`s Hotel Cadillac
Mcguires Resort Cadillac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing