We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family Friendy and Very Nice Facilities” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Evergreen Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Evergreen Resort
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Cadillac
Certificate of Excellence
Cadillac, MI
Level Contributor
144 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Family Friendy and Very Nice Facilities”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012

I recomend McGuires Resort to all coming to the Cadillac area. The rooms are clean and comfortable, Nice pool for the kids, very nice bar and restaurant on site along with 27 holes of golf!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sking81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bshepa01, Front Office Manager at Evergreen Resort, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
Thank you so much for your feedback. It sounds like you were able to enjoy many of the amenities at the Resort. I hope you get the chance to enjoy the rest of your summer. Please think of us again the next time you are in Cadillac.

Thanks again,

Bill Shepardson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    123
    48
    26
    9
See reviews for
111
123
7
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

Cadillac is divided into sections due to the large lake in town, you have the NW side with the State Park and a few motels, then the SE side with town, 2 chain hotels and McGuires.
McGuires is dated but clean, it does have some good views of the golf course and overlooking town, but it also has views of the parking lot so put in your request! There is a brochure in the room that says Breakfast for hotel guests is complimentary, for all others a $9.00 charge so I was expecting a really good breakfast. That wasn't the case. The dining area is pleasant and dinner prices are $$+.
Clean, comfy room,, old style tv, fast internet from the 3rd floor, overlooking the 18th tee box and dining area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barblikestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bshepa01, Front Office Manager at Evergreen Resort, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
Thank your for your feedback. We value any and all feedback that we receive. As you stated, it is always important to make the reservationist aware of any specific requests. We do our best to accommodate all guests, to make sure their stay is pleasant. I'm glad that you seemed to find your stay enjoyable. We hope you visit us again the next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livonia, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

The hotel is broken up into 3 or 4 separate buildings. The hotel lobby & restaurant in one building, the pool in another, and our reserved rooms in another. It wasn't a great set up for a large group. The winter weather made it unpleasant to walk from the pool or to the restaurants. They allowed us use of a "hospitality" room so the team and families to party in, but the capacity was for only 20 people - we had about 55 people. The pool area had a room that was not reservable, but we managed to squeeze into it with another group. Other than group inconveniences, the rooms were clean, very comfortable beds and the views were nice. The breakfast buffet was better than just a continental, but coffee was weak. Restaurant food was very good and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingTrio3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bshepa01, Front Office Manager at Evergreen Resort, responded to this review, March 29, 2012
Thank you for your feedback about your stay. We appreciate your honesty and sincerity. I'm glad that you found the majority of your stay to be enjoyable.
I understand your concern with the facility having multiple buildings, but with large groups, it is hard to get everybody into one building since we have such a variety of room types.
But once again, we do appreciate feedback. It allows us to try to make the proper adjustments to fulfill the needs of as many guests as possible.

Thanks,

Bill Shepardson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Huron, Michigan
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

We have had difficulty finding a good hotel in Cadillac in the past, however we were very impressed with McGuire's Resort. Although some of the decor is a bit dated, the room and the hotel in general looked very clean and spotless. The rooms are comfortable and many have good views of the golf course and the city of Cadillac. The best part of our stay was the breakfast buffet which was included with the room. Both days they had scrambled eggs and hash browns, and the meat offering changes daily. The two days we were there they had sausage patties one day, and sausage links the other. I understand they have bacon sometimes too. They also had yogurt, two kinds of cereal, instant oatmeal, several types of breads and several pastries, fresh grapefruit, apples, oranges, and bananas. Everything was very good. They also have two restaurants on site and a great Sunday brunch buffet containing both breakfast and lunch items. This is NOT included with your stay, but at $11 per person is worth every penny. This is not your usual warmed over buffet- it is very high class. They had freshly sliced roast beef that tasted like prime rib, stuffed pork chops, a seafood medley pasta, turkey and dumplings, fettucine alfredo, along with what my neice called, "the best pancakes I've ever had" and breakfast burritos. I was especially impressed that they didn't reheat any of the leftovers they had from the breakfast for lunch. Their is also an extensive salad bar, a soup of the day, a cheese and cracker table with very tasty cheese, and an excellent dessert table. While the buffet doesn't have as many choices as other buffets the overall quality is much better. Another nice feature of both the breakfast and the buffet is that almost all the tables look out over the golf course, and because the resort is one a hill it all overlooks the city of Cadillac. We will definitely be returning to McGuire's resort.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tonyrosado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bshepa01, Front Office Manager at Evergreen Resort, responded to this review, February 23, 2012
Wow! Thank you for your feedback. I'm so glad that your stay was enjoyable. We do our best to put out a quality product throughout all aspects of the Resort, and we don't always hear about it. So, thank you again. We hope to see you again soon.

Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL, USA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2012

I was only at the resort for two nights and three days on business. I was able to use the pool and jacuzzi. I enjoyed both. I was in the remodeled section of the resort and I thought the room met my needs. Since I have a refined palette, I really didn't care for the breakfast buffet provided in the morning. I'm sure many other people would enjoy it, but I'm a picky eater. Overall, it was a nice stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marjoryamber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bshepa01, Front Office Manager at Evergreen Resort, responded to this review, February 20, 2012
Thank you for your feedback! We like to know when we do well and where we may need to improve. I'm glad your stay was enjoyable. Please consider us again in the future when you are in the area again.

Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

Rooms are average, but clean and adequate. Indoor pool is nice, but hot tub gets bcrowded on weekends due to snowmobiliers and skiiers. Not far from Caberfae Ski Resort and generally offer ski packages. Great place to use as home base for snowmobiling. Staff is couteous and helpful. Excellent food and sports bar.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CaptHemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bshepa01, Front Office Manager at Evergreen Resort, responded to this review, February 2, 2012
Thank you for your feedback about your stay. I hope you got to take advantage of all the things you wanted to while you were here. I'm also glad to hear that staff took care of you during your stay. We appreciate any and all information that allows us to improve what we do. Hope to see you again.

Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ada, Michigan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2011

We stayed here while we visited family. I thought we were staying in the updated part as we were in the main building but the room did not seem updated. The bed was extremely uncomfortable. The breakfast was wonderful. The food was good and the breakfast area has a stunning view of the grounds. Except for our room, I loved the aesthetics of the place. Our room was clean, the staff was very polite. I deeply appreciated that this was not a chain motel and had character and charm. The pool area with the nearby shuffleboard court is reminiscent of an era gone by. We loved it. If the bed had not been rock hard we would stay here again. We were not very rested during our stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HoppyGirl72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cadillac hotels
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Cadillac
Hampton Inn Cadillac
#2 of 14 in Cadillac
4.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cadillac
1.9 mi away
Hermann's Hotel
Hermann's Hotel
#7 of 14 in Cadillac
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Cadillac Inn
Cadillac Inn
#9 of 14 in Cadillac
3.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
3.0 mi away
Days Inn Cadillac
Days Inn Cadillac
#6 of 14 in Cadillac
3.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
15.8 mi away
Caberfae Peaks Ski & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Evergreen Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evergreen Resort

Property: Evergreen Resort
Address: 7880 Mackinaw Trail, Cadillac, MI 49601 (Formerly McGuire's Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Cadillac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Cadillac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Evergreen Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 327 beautiful acres outside the city of Cadillac, Evergreen Resort is home to two award-winning golf courses, two restaurants, 117 cozy guestrooms and much, much more. Best of all, there is always something to do at Evergreen Resort, regardless of when you plan your visit. Some resorts close their doors and hibernate through the winter, while others lose their appeal the moment the snow melts - but at Evergreen Resort we think differently. With miles of trails for hiking, biking, snowmobiling and cross-country skiing, there is always a reason to relish in the outdoors. That's why our resort stays open 365 days a year. We're also surrounded by half a million acres of national forest, so guests are just minutes away from superb downhill skiing, fishing and lakeside beaches. Planning a wedding, family reunion, or other group event? We have meeting space to accommodate groups of 12-200. Traveling with your pet? Pet friendly rooms are available for your furry friend as well. Make Evergreen Resort your one-stop destination! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Evergreen Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mcguire`s Hotel Cadillac
Mcguires Resort Cadillac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing