We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick stay but ok” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cadillac Sands Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cadillac Sands Resort
Ranked #14 of 14 Hotels in Cadillac
Romeo, Michigan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Quick stay but ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We only stayed one night because we had to cancel due to family emergency. I know why people say it needs updating but you have to remind yourself that you are up north. The front desk staff was amazing. We told them of our emergency and they refunded our money for the next 2 nights. We also left my daughter's shoes when we left and we got a phone call about that. Luckily we were not too far away and could pick them up. Most places would have tossed them. It's the little things. It's hard to find good customer service like that. Thanks!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria J, Manager at Cadillac Sands Resort, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for your feedback!
We are sorry your trip was cut short and hope everything is okay!
Thank you from all at the front desk!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    8
    14
    13
    29
See reviews for
25
26
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sault Ste. Marie, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Definitely not what they make it out to be!!! It's a dump, not very clean, and the service sucked. And it wasn't very reasonable either! There's only one good thing about that hotel, the water pressure in the shower, and that's it!!!

Room Tip: Don't stay there, you will regret it!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria J, Manager at Cadillac Sands Resort, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Sorry to see that your stay at our resort was not what you expected. We work very hard in making our resort a fun family friendly resort and we surely appreciate feedback from our guests. That being said we hope our guests with issues let us know at the time of the incident so we can address the issue immediately.We cant take care of a problem if we are unaware of it !! Again we apologize that your stay was not what you had expected and we hope that you might try our resort again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cadillac hotels

Zeeland, Michigan
Level Contributor
331 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I'm sure in it's glory this was a beautiful place. It's in dire need of updating. But, it's clean, reasonably priced and the front desk staff was awesome!!! The restaurant was closed Sun & Monday so I did not eat there. They serve a continental breakfast that had muffins & biscuits and gravy that was good flavored.

I was told they have a rockin nightclub on the weekend!

Room Tip: Some of the rooms open to the pool or have an outside door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cinnilouwho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cadillac, Michigan
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

For well over a year the Sands has been my 2nd home. Working an out-of-town job, I'm here often. The staff are very friendly,considerate & helpful. The very few criticisms or complaints I've voiced have been seriously listened to and cheerfully remedied. Over the years I've stayed in fancier (more expensive) places and have been MUCH LESS impressed.
Thank you Jack, Vicki, Lynn, Summer and all the rest of you who make me look forward to coming into town rather than dreading it. Hip Hip Hooray !!!

Room Tip: water side rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pat d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leroy
Level Contributor
121 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Ordered dinner in the Clipper Room restaurant. We continued to try and give the place chance after chance, but no more. The meal was expensive and lousy: ribs tough & tasted old like they had been in the freezer beyond any expiration date; salads consisted of a heap of iceberg lettuce, 1 thin tomato slice & 1 ring of red onion. The dressing was cheap, bottled stuff. The chicken alfredo tasted only of flour, the chicken consisted of a few 1/4 to 1/2 bits of processed chicken. Rolls were cold & stale. Price for meal: $43.00. The resort itselt needs major repair! The front door is cracked, not closing tight; paint is peeling, furniture beat up & old, carpeting stained, wall paper peeling, holes in bathroom door. The entire place appears dingy & dirty. Don't waste your money!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rychrlim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

My husband and I chose this facility from their website for our 4 year anniversary trip. Labor Day Weekend. NEVER GO AGAIN AND NEVER RECOMMEND. It is nothing like their website makes it out to be. They need to upgrade minor things such as paint, fix up pool area, advertise restaurant, fix rooms to be current not outdated. They have very small beach, not as advertised. The balcony needs cleaned and spiders/webs removed daily. Also we marked our bedding and they DID NOT change it once while we were there for 4 days so you wonder, do they ever?! YUCK! We were so disappointed. Nice restaurants near by definitely go to Lakeside Charlies. We never saw anyone in the restaurant or hotel bar. They are no where near what they should call themselves a resort!! I could go on but this is limited to 200 characters. DON'T GO!!!!
If you bring your own alcohol they make you sit in grassy area. I can see not next to tiki bar(which is actually a shed) but at other end, NOPE! Lots of areas are chipping. Just horrible place altogether!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1buckeye4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

To start off, I love this place. The staff is so friendly & the place is amazing. My family has been staying here at the facility for over 30 years. & we've only ever had a few problems. I love the poolside rooms there amazing. I love to just wake up smell the pool & step out & go swimming. The lake & there options out there are great we always to rentals. & pay volleyball. I hope everyone gets a chance to stay here!!! So its not 4 star but to me & my family it is!!!! (:

Room Tip: Go poolside or lakeside!!! There the best!!! (:
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cadillac
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Cadillac
Hampton Inn Cadillac
#1 of 14 in Cadillac
4.5 of 5 stars 320 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cadillac Inn
Cadillac Inn
#9 of 14 in Cadillac
3.5 of 5 stars 39 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cadillac
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hermann's Hotel
Hermann's Hotel
#6 of 14 in Cadillac
4.0 of 5 stars 45 reviews
19.6 mi away
Best Bear Lodge & Campground
2.5 mi away
Evergreen Resort
Evergreen Resort
#2 of 14 in Cadillac
4.0 of 5 stars 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cadillac Sands Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cadillac Sands Resort

Property: Cadillac Sands Resort
Address: 6319 M-115, Cadillac, MI 49601
Location: United States > Michigan > Cadillac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 14 Hotels in Cadillac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Cadillac Sands Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Cadillac Sands Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cadillac Sands Hotel Cadillac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing