We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Real Skiing in Michigan!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Caberfae Peaks

Caberfae Peaks
Ranked #1 of 19 things to do in Cadillac
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Skiers and snowboarders will enjoy the big hills and great snow conditions at Caberfae Peaks. Offering 6 lifts and 34 slopes, Caberfae Peaks was voted the #1 ski value in Michigan. In the summer months, Caberfae offers a beautiful venue for wedding receptions and other banquets, along with a 9 hole golf course.
Royal Oak
Level Contributor
131 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Real Skiing in Michigan!”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

I didn't know that Michigan had such a good ski mountain. We will definitely be back many times. They have 34 trails with a good mix of green, blue and black, plenty of lifts so even on a gorgeous holiday day you didn't have to wait long to get up.
I can't say enough about the Cabbykids ski lesson program. My boys (7 and 9) had never been on skis before but were more than comfortable on the blues after the second day. The instructors were so good that the boys swear they weren't having lessons, just having fun. The price is more than reasonable - equipment rental including helmets, all day lift tickets and 21/2 hours of lessons for $39 (or $64 for all day).
There are a lot of really good deals on their website, caberfaepeaks.com, for lift tickets, rentals etc but you need to get them a day in advance. They had plenty of rentals and all good quality. The ladies took a lot of time to make sure the boys' boots fit properly and to show the kids how to put them on.
The day lodge is nice and has tons of outlets for crockpots etc. The cafeteria is the usual fare, but with excellent french fries.
One word of warning - this place is all about the skiing. It's not a resort. The ski shop is small and has what you'd need to ski. There's no spa, no shopping. You're in a national forest and have to drive 20 min to get anywhere else. So non-skiing moms and grandmas, bring a book.
We stayed one night at the hotel which is right at the base of the slopes. Again, the staff could not be friendlier or more efficient. But, again, this is not a resort. The room was large and very clean. It had 2 double beds, 3 chairs, a table, a desk and a tv and a surprisingly small bathroom. No hair dryer, nothing fancy. No elevator. There is a restaurant with a decent hot breakfast buffet. Our room was right at the stairs, so we heard people going up and down but not much after 10pm. The best feature was the indoor ski locker area with boot driers. Each room gets a locker so you can get your gear on and off inside and not have to take it into your room. We'd definitely stay there again.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank MKRoyalOak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete M, Manager at Caberfae Peaks, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. We are glad that you mentioned the heated outdoor pool and hot tub and the indoor locker room with built in boot dryers! We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    41
    15
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Frankfort, Indiana
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

My boyfriend and I visited caberfae lodge for an overnight snowmobile trip. We did not stay at this location for the skiing but enjoyed our stay. The hotel itself is outdated, but you couldn't beat the price. The heated outdoor pool was a nice suprise as well. I would recommend others to stay at this location.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank alleycat219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete M, Manager at Caberfae Peaks, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. Yes, our hotel is an older lodge, but we have been working on various upgrades. We installed new beds this past fall and just finished renovating the lobby this April. In addition, we have even more renovation projects in the works this summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

My family and I visited Caberfae Peaks for the first time in February and absolutely loved it. It is smaller than some of the MI ski hills, but it feels just right. There was just enough green, blue and black runs for our family. We loved the scenery and variety of runs. We will be back for sure! A new family favorite!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Meesh-in-A2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete M, Manager at Caberfae Peaks, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for visiting our resort and the positive review. We agree, the views from the top of North and South Peak are the best in the lower peninsula!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“just a perfect way to spend your time off”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

stayed at the lodge on premises. rooms were really clean and big. i really liked the balcony attached to the room. great place to keep your beer cold! breakfast in the morning at beaties was fresh and filling. pool was fun. hottub was necessary. they have plenty of snow and we skied every avail moment. great deal with ski and stay. was quite busy for a wednesday but we never felt crowded. found fresh powder off trail. i recommend hitting r dubs for a tasty ceasar drink prepared by the bartender. its not on the menu, but Arlo knows how to make it, you have to ask. i must give praise to local township ,roads on the way in were in good shape even after all that white gold (us 10/ us 127). i really cant think of a better value and the people that work there are all so nice and welcoming. worth the 4hr drive from windsor. Melissa and Owen

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank melissa_and_owen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete M, Manager at Caberfae Peaks, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for visiting!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkhart, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Powder Skiing in Michigan”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Great ski area. Great conditions, great staff! The terrain is nice and varied and some of the longest runs in the midwest.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Doug M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete M, Manager at Caberfae Peaks, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for skiing with us and the positive review. We definitely have some of the longest runs in the Midwest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caberfae Peaks also viewed

 

Been to Caberfae Peaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing