We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Meal”

Hermann's European Cafe
Ranked #3 of 66 Restaurants in Cadillac
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful Meal”
Reviewed August 24, 2014

When traveling through Cadillac we have stopped at Hermann's for dinner and have never been disappointed. We took our parents there for lunch and loved all of our meals. Homemade bread and rolls, unique condiments, excellent soups, especially the mushroom, and always service with a smile. His expertise and European style has created a winning combination for this little part of northern Michigan. I would recommend it highly if in the area.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank chapee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    50
    19
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Blandinsville, Illinois, United States
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great dinner!”
Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

Good food, good wine, good service. We enjoyed our dinner at this local restaurant. We would return if back in the area. My wife had the special and I had a steak.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delightful, Delicious Time”
Reviewed August 8, 2014

I liked the service, the room, the ambiance, and the utterly scrumptious and unique food. Hermann is a friendly host and terrific chef. The place was spotless, warm and friendly, and I am totally glad I found out about it and stayed there.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank uniqueadventurelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie, MD
Level 6 Contributor
398 reviews
324 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“Perfect evening... still fabulous, and meals starting at $10”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

Went with my mom and aunt, who watches Chef's show but had never been here. Bread (2 kinds, super!) served with potent minced garlic/scallion spread. Mom and aunt both said it helped them feel better. Had baked brie with wonderful lingonberry sauce and sliced apples. ($10?) We ordered Chicken Quesadilla ($10, huge plate), Fettucine Alfredo with Morel Mushrooms ($14) and Sauerbraten with spaetzle, red cabbage and choice of another side ($23) (this one was dairy free.) We all ordered dessert... Esterhazy Cake (layered spice/almond cake), a cream filled pastry smothered with fresh berries, and apple strudel. Our server and the young woman in the adjacent deli (where we got few things) were outstanding. People have a real pride in working there. They are very willing to accomodate food allergies. The menu is incrediably versatile in price and cuisine. While they emphasize German dishes, they have local seafood, curry, steamed vegetable dishes, etc. Deli also has soup/salad bar that looks wonderful. Living out of state, I've only been here a handful of times over about 15 years. Just keeps getting better! This was the sumptuous night out that the three of us needed.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tlhjar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caledonia, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Different dining experience”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

This restaurant was highly recommended to us.
The food offerings are definitely with a European flavour and not the "normal" North American standard.
Our food was very tasty and quite "rich" Our group was fairly large (12), but we were served well and together. Hermann came to our table to apologize because they were experiencing computer issues and this would have an impact on the service. However, although it was somewhat slow, everything came together well and we received plenty of attention from the staff.
My wife and I enjoyed the morel mushroom soup, which was unique and delicious; the baked brie which was excellent and the ganache, which was good (but not exceptional).
Others in our group also enjoyed their food - there were no complaints.
The price is somewhat high, but not extraordinarily so.
We would definitely recommend and return.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hermann's European Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Hermann's European Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing