We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! First time, but not the last.”

Hermann's European Cafe
Ranked #3 of 66 Restaurants in Cadillac
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wow! First time, but not the last.”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Gonna make this real easy to decide for the next person.

Atmosphere - We walked in and the place was not what I expected. The décor left something to be desired, but maybe that is the charm of the place

My wife and I sat in a booth which was very intimate for a day out away from the three rugrats.

Service - Our server was top notch, suggesting when asked and making small talk. She was always mindful of our needs. We tipped her 25%. Even the bus staff was very friendly. I like the small town feel of this place.

Food - Appetizer was Potato Pancakes, they serve them with sour cream and apple sauce, neither of which I liked, but they were the bomb with some good ole Ketchup!!! I liked them so much I asked for the ingredients

Dinner we order the 2 small plates - Chicken Picata and Steak. Steak melted in your mouth and the chicken picata was super delicious. not a crumb left on either plate.

Also they brought roles and bread. the Evoo, garlic Parmesan cheese was great.

Price - - We spent 40 w/o drinks plus tip we walked out for under 50. But we were full, satisfied and bragged about the place for weeks since

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bamajor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    50
    18
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Okemos, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Thanks to Hermann and staff!”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

An hour after enjoying the lunch special of soup bar and sandwich (excellent and generous maple ham), we realized that we'd left a purse in the Chef's Deli. We were headed out on a two-week trip, no plans to return to the area. We found the number and called; the purse was there, but they were closing in 15 minutes. A helpful motel owner near Frankfort suggested they take it to the nearby police station, to which they agreed.

An hour later we knocked on the glass door of the station and roused an officer, but no purse. But a fireman knew Hermann's last name and helped us look up the home number. Mrs. Suhs put us on hold and used her cell phone to locate Hermann. A few minutes later Hermann was meeting us in front of the restaurant, purse in hand. The staff had not been able to get the attention of anyone at the police station, but they let him know the problem. Purse was returned and we were back on track for our vacation!

The Cadillac area has to have some of the friendliest, most helpful citizens anywhere. We look forward to returning. THANK YOU!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Outstanding, creative food, and superative service - in Cadillac!”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

My family and I have dined over the past several years at Hermann's European Café, a place I've recommended for several years, and was able to get additional family members together recently for a special dinner.

Food quality and service was outstanding. We enjoyed sautéed whitefish, steak tenderloin, Jagerschnitzel, and a weekend special, paella - wonderfully seasoned , and chock full of whole shrimp, chicken, sausage, and a special surprise - four beautifully-cooked scallops! Desserts are a not-to-miss here. Enjoyed chocolate silk torte, key lime pie, and chocolate ganache caramel cake. My dining companions were blown away at evening's end.

Hermann's is a true gem on the Cadillac dining scene, and a true contender amongst the best restaurants in Northern Michigan - including Traverse City, Charlevoix, Harbor Springs, etc.

BTW...Our server (believe her name was Jan?) was most kind and attentive, without hovering. She deserves a raise.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mason, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“What a wonderful meal”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Stopped by Hermann's Cafe for lunch after seeing an article in a Pure Michigan cookbook - what a wonderful place tucked away in Cadillac! We met Chef Hermann who was more than happy to suggest items to try and checked on us several times during our meal. We ordered a 3 item sampler plate along with 2 sides, 2 appetizers and a dessert. The Morel soup was incredible and the Chicken Piccata was out of this world. The restaurant also has a deli for more casual soup/sandwiches/bagels/baked goods/etc, a butcher shop and a hotel. The staff was delightful. Will certainly be back to try all the other things on the menu.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petoskey, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very cozy”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Nice medium class dining. Prices are ok for the food and style of dining. Chef Herman takes time out of the kitchen to welcome and thank people who stop in. The open face stake sandwich is great!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hermann's European Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Hermann's European Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing