We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top notch business lunch!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hermann's European Cafe

Hermann's European Cafe
Ranked #4 of 65 Restaurants in Cadillac
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, German, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Weatherford, Texas
Level Contributor
639 reviews
536 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“Top notch business lunch!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We were in Cadillac today, meeting over lunch with a local Doctor who recommended we meet at Hermann's. We were given a quiet table away from the other diners, and assigned two servers who did everything they could to be attentive, without interrupting our discussion. The day was bitter cold, but the room was warm enough. The table ordered the "world famous" mushroom soup, and I'm here to tell you, it deserves it's reputation. Te rest of our meals were well prepared, quality ingredients and served at the proper temperature. It was a good meal, and a good meeting. I'd return again when next in Cadillac.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HDFLHPI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    48
    17
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cadillac, Michigan
Level Contributor
158 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great wine and escargot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

Cadillac doesn't have a true "wine bar," but a recent visit to Hermann's for several glasses of wine and an appetizer was a close substitute -- and most enjoyable. We sat in the bar area, in a cozy booth, although sitting at the bar itself would have been fine too. There was a nice selection of excellent wines by the glass. Although we hadn't planned on getting anything to eat, we looked over the menu and decided to try the escargot -- and were we ever glad we did, it was delicious. The wait staff was attentive and professional. We're looking forward to going back!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DJP1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewiston, Michigan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

Herman is clearly one of the top chefs in Michigan! The meals we just ate there were fabulous. The service was friendly and good. The Morel mushroom soup was excellent. A phenomenal desert menu we enjoyed.
We will definitely return in the future.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank juddw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonesville, Michigan
Level Contributor
109 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very good restaurant in Cadillac”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

Hermann's is a very good place for dinner in Cadillac. The food was good, the service was professional, but the price was high for the quality and quantity. We will try them again on a return trip to Cadillac.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MiMisterMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YPSILANTI
Level Contributor
55 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Tastes of Vienna in the North Woods”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

The cozy cafe atmosphere and food prepared under Viennese Master Chef Hermann Suhs' expert guidance make Hermann's our favorite place for special occasions. Chef Suh's secret recipe bisque made from local Morel mushrooms is simply divine! The deli stocks gourmet items that are hard to find in the northern Michigan woodlands.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MICHEL S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hermann's European Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Hermann's European Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing