We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and service”
Review of Headlands Hotel

Headlands Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Headlands Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Opunake B&B and Inns
Palmerston North
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed April 25, 2012

If you are traveling along the Surf Highway (State Highway 45) in Taranaki and looking for somewhere to eat then try the Headlands Hotel restaurant at Opunake. We had lunch there on a Sunday and while some of us ate from the menu others ate food from the cabinet display. Although the cabinet display was limited the variety, quality and value was excellent, especially the pumpkin, kumara, cream cheese and bacon roll. The lunch menu was slightly more expensive, ranging from $10 to $20, but the food was tasty and reasonable value for money, especially the homemade vegetable soup and bread at $10. Friends who live in the region have eaten there in the evening and strongly recommended the place to us. The staff were very friendly and attentive without being intrusive.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartyPN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    20
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
11
30
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2012

We stayed in a luxury suite at the top of the tower (second floor) for a week in early January. The hotel is lovely and very close to the beach. The staff were friendly, but also pretty much left us alone to enjoy the peace and quiet of the hotel and its environs.

The restaurant is superb. We dine out a lot, and the quality of the food was as good as we experience in a 5-star restaurant in Wellington (even better, in some cases!).

The suite was spacious, and the linen clean and crisp. The top level suite was very quiet and we slept in quite late most days. The spa bath is enormous, and worth the wait to fill. The hotel is an hour's drive to New Plymouth airport (a distance we trialled, as we did a day trip to Auckland to see family). There are some wonderful beach and cafe spots around the cost towards New Plymouth too.

Oh, and the beach at Opunaki is a nice spot, with surf patrol. We also enjoyed time on the beach around the coast at Ohakura (about 45 mins drive) too.

Room Tip: We loved being on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Radichs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tolaga Bay, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2011

We stayed in a villa which was great. It was clean, well appointed and very comfortable. I particularly liked the shower which had the option of a seat for those tricky jobs( like shaving the legs), for those of us who are not as young as we used to be. The food in the cafe style restaurant was delicious and the staff and owner all very welcoming and helpful. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jandkNgatea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanganui
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2011

The Headlands Hotel is situated above a lovely little beach and children's playground. It has an excellent cafe and good free parking. The rooms are comfortable and very well appointed. They are clean, very spacious and warm. The staff were helpful and friendly - a wonderful little place!

Room Tip: The 'tower' rooms higher up would have a view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaj0y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 4, 2011

We stayed in a villa ,excellent . The staff and owner welcoming and helpful. The food is lovely, no complaints at all , I love the area wonderful coast line easy access to Mt Taranaki and New Plymouth where one can fly into and be at the hotel within the hour.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hervey Bay, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed June 13, 2011

We were so pleased to stumble accross the Headlands Hotel. Fantastic food - dinner and breakfast, friendly service and clean, warm room. Should have more signage so everyone can find it.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen4655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2011

Headlands was perfect for us. We were exhausted when we arrived and the staff were friendly and very welcoming. It was the first place that we stayed while in New Zealand so had nothing to compare it with and only realised later what good value it had been. Our room was spacious and had everything we needed. The food was really good, accommodating a dietary requirement very easily and thoughtfully. It was out of season when we were there and blissfully quiet but it is easy to imagine that it would also be perfect during the summer.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louiseH026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Opunake
0.1 mi away
Opunake Beach Holiday Park
16.1 mi away
Dawson Falls Mountain Lodge
18.3 mi away
Stony River Hotel
Stony River Hotel
#1 of 1 in Okato
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 mi away
Ngati Ruanui Stratford Mountain House Hotel
Show Prices

Been to Headlands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Headlands Hotel

Property: Headlands Hotel
Address: 4 Havelock Street, Opunake 4616, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > Opunake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Opunake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Headlands Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and stay at Surf Highway 45's only Luxury Accommodation on the coast, just 100 metres from Opunake beach. Relax in our luxury suites with sunrise/sunset, mountain and sea views or massage your senses in a 16-jet hydrotherapy whirlpool bath. Our Restaurant/Cafe provides a relaxing atmosphere for casual or intimate evening dining catering for everyone’s taste. Open 7days from 9am - late for brunch, lunch or dinner.Take a breather in fresh sea spray air or the warmth of our cosy, charming hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Headlands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing