We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cabin Camping at the KOA”
Review of Traverse City KOA

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Buckley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Traverse City KOA
Homer City, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cabin Camping at the KOA”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We rented one of the cabins because we were in town for a wedding and it's easier to look nice and spiffy from a building than from a tent. The cabin was clean and comfortable and close to the rest room. There was a nice porch and swing that we thoroughly enjoyed too.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Judyp47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian S, Public Relations Manager at Traverse City KOA, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
So glad you had a wonderful time at our KOA! Those porch swings are one of the little things we try and provide for every guest that goes above and beyond. All we hear is how people love them and enjoy relaxing outside with that fresh Michigan air. Hope you'll be back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    14
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
40
13
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Traverse City, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The people are friendly. Bathroom/Showers clean. We love the deluxe sites we are in a mtrhome. The fact they are so pet friendly is another plus. Cute things for the children. Maybe reinforcing the quiet rules would be a plus . I know they can only tell them so many times. This only happened this past Labor Day weekend . A few kids very spiteful about following rules. The KOA is all paved and that is GREAT. We love it because we do not have to travel too far. They will deliver wood (reasonal) to your site and pick up garbage as well. Nice pool as well. Love it

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Pameloneo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian S, Public Relations Manager at Traverse City KOA, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
We're so glad you enjoyed your recent stay with us! Our deluxe sites are one of the most requested places in the entire park and we're always looking to add more if there is a need. We do our best to enforce quiet time but once in awhile we run into issues on our busiest weekends. Please accept our apologies that and know we'll continue to work hard enforcing them. Hope you'll come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartsdale, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Small Cabin rental for one week in Summer. Arrived after 11pm and the key pick up are was well lit with easy directions to the cabin. Cabin was very clean, as were the mattresses. Staff was very helpful, friendly and knowledgeable. Shower/bathroom facilities were in greyt shape and kept well cleaned. No rowdy neighbors. Very pleasant experience and I will definitely come back for the next Traverse City Film Fest and stay here.

Room Tip: The small cabin has no bathroom but the facilities are a short walk away and very clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank greytbritta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian S, Public Relations Manager at Traverse City KOA, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thanks for taking the to write a review here, we're so glad you enjoyed your experience during your recent stay with us. It's so wonderful to hear from campers who love our park.. We work very hard to ensure it is always clean and well maintained. Plus, those comfortable beds are one of our most noticed features as we went the extra mile when buying them to ensure comfort. Can't wait to see you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Spent over a week at Traverse City KOA and had the most AMAZING time. Staff AWESOME! Facilities VERY CLEAN! Very Kid & Family friendly for all ages and look forward to our next Visit!
Thanks again from the Ellison's from Ontario!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Chuck E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian S, Public Relations Manager at Traverse City KOA, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Reading a review like yours is why we continue to do what we do. We're so happy you had a fantastic experience at our campground and we'll continue to improve to make your next visit better than ever! Have a great day and we'll see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

The location of this KOA is on the remote side, but we enjoy that. This allowed for my husband to do some late night photography. The jumping pillow was a huge hit with the kids, but the hours that the pool were open prohibited them from being able to swim at all. There were a tremendous number of ants that resulted in us having to fog our RV after staying here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CLF44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here so we could visit traverse city and the sleeping bear dunes. Beautiful cabin for a great value. So cozy and the queen bed was comfy. Perfect if you don't have camping gear and if you want to stay somewhere that's cheaper than a hotel. The owners are very sweet and helpful. We will come back!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heatherlyn10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topsham, Maine
Level Contributor
76 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We stayed here in the remote tent section of this KOA. We asked for this site because it is private and out of the way, otherwise it's pretty open on the other sites. The first night someone's dog was out of control barking and I was somewhat irritated by this, but the second night (a Sunday) it was extremely quiet. The place is clean and it is centrally located. We would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsGMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buckley
15.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
15.3 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City
15.5 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 mi away
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
#3 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,996 reviews
15.7 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
12.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Traverse City KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Traverse City KOA

Property: Traverse City KOA
Address: 9700 M-37, Buckley, MI 49620
Location: United States > Michigan > Buckley
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Buckley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Traverse City KOA is located about 15 minutes south of Traverse City in an area of Michigan known for its outdoor activities. In addition to the beaches and water access available downtown, we are only a short drive from Sleeping Bear Dunes National Seashore and boast numerous area breweries and wineries. The campground has a jumping pillow, swimming pool, miniature golf and much more. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing