We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little place!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wheatberry Restaurant and Tavern

Wheatberry Restaurant and Tavern
Ranked #2 of 17 Restaurants in Buchanan
Cuisines: American, Bar, Barbecue, Contemporary, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Phone is (269) 697-0043.
Dalton, Georgia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great little place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

Interesting menu items with many vegetarian options. Outdoor seating. Will return when back in the area.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kellie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    44
    20
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
64 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Nice find close to home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

Friends recommended The Wheatberry years ago and we sorta forgot about it. We were out at another place recently and The Wheatberry came up in conversation, so we decided to give it a try. We were pleasantly surprised. The service was very good and fast. The atmosphere was laid back casual. It was a pretty hot day outside and the AC was nice and cool. They have a HUGE beer selection both bottled and drafts. They had several local brews which I really liked. The appetizer we ordered was quite good. Their version of shrimp and grits had this native Louisiana son highly impressed. I had their BBQ plate which I thought was good as well (my father's family is from Memphis, so I believe I'm qualified to judge BBQ). The pork was awesome. The beef was good, but not as yummy as the pork. My wife had the chipotle chicken, which was similarly awesome. It was moist and tasty throughout. We had the chocolate bourbon pecan pie for dessert, and loved it. Overall we are very happy with The Wheatberry and have told several friends about it already. We will definitely go back again and again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ASA1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
58 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice Surprise in a small town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

Went to Wheatberry's because it was literally the only real restaurant in Buchanan.

Friendly greeter, attentive wait staff. The good was very good with good portions and pricing.

Have been back several times and have always been pleased.

Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingDiva2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Joseph, Michigan
Level Contributor
294 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Really great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014 via mobile

Home style Louisiana recipes and BBQ, some Mexican and fish, and more. Very casual. Great service. Fast. Shrimp and grits were comfort-food yum! Had chipolte chicken. Husband had BBQ. We were very pleased with the flavors and will go back. Chocolate Bourbon Pecan Pie is to die for.

Helpful?
Thank Shari W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niles, Michigan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Big portions, decent price.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

This place is beautiful on the inside, and fairly welcoming. Some stops in the place you can see views of the river. The food is absolutely delish, and the prices are OK. The staff is average, except for a select few. Nicer apparel if you're going here.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kate p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wheatberry Restaurant and Tavern also viewed

 
Buchanan, Berrien County
Buchanan, Berrien County
 

Been to Wheatberry Restaurant and Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing