We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“1st Race EVER, Pits & seeing Jr!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Michigan International Speedway

Michigan International Speedway
Ranked #1 of 9 things to do in Brooklyn
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Baroda, Michigan
Level Contributor
164 reviews
102 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“1st Race EVER, Pits & seeing Jr!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

We got our pkg through Farm Bureau and got parking pass, pit stops, unlimited food n drinks but the biggest thing was being so close to Dale Earnhardt Jr & Harvick was there too in the tent for Q & A. Our kids loved it, 5 & 8. They loved the pits experience, kids give u many advantages or they did at this pit pass anyway. We will be going again if not every time now. We stayed at a hotel far from it due to the pkg we got and got it late so hotels close were booked. And when we left the race the cops had the traffic arranged AWESOME to keep the flow going, what a relief. Food & shirts very reasonable, not like going to Disney. Next time I'd like to be there for the whole weekend to experience it ALL! Fun for kids too.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Carrie0693
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    25
    12
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Enon Valley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to watch a race & camp”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

We have been going to Michigan for the NASCAR race for over 18 years. We camp at the track.
you could not ask for mare organization for such a big event. The staff at the track and in the campground are very friendly & helpful. Just a great place to go have fun, & relax.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North of Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
202 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Always something newat MIS”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

We have been going for many year to MIS for the August race. Even though the economy has obviously hit Nascar, this place still makes things better each year. We camp in an MIS campground, and there were so many open spots it was sad. Three years ago you could not get one, prices are the same too. For the first time part of us went home right after the race and I could not have been more impressed on how the handle the traffic, we literally spent only an extra half hour getting out of there, traffic just flowed out.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Lovetotravel9997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
75 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good time could be better!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

Super organization with traffic flow, parking and trams. Plenty of amenities on site for everyone. Missing the 'big screens' to see what's happening on the back stretch - where everything always seems to be happening! Great fans - no rowdiness.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamston, Michigan
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good set up”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

Drove in from Lansing for a NASCAR event. Traffic patterns (I heard revised over past couple of years alleviating headaches) were decent, but we left early enough that we probably weren't testing them at their max capacity. A lot of roadside jerky stops on the way, FYI. Parking was good, but if we didn't have a special lot parking pass we could've been way, way out. Seems like the infield camping would be a good time, like a 24 hour tailgate. A lot of stuff to do once inside for bigger kids and up. Probably goes without mention, but it's really super loud when race time starts, even in the activity area behind the track. Bring headphones, especially for kids.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jackie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Michigan International Speedway also viewed

 

Been to Michigan International Speedway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing