We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrific Place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of JR's Hometown Grill & Pub

JR's Hometown Grill & Pub
Ranked #2 of 21 Restaurants in Brooklyn
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Terrific Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

We found JR's accidentally, on the way to another restaurant. We decided to pull in and try it. Boy were we glad we did!! We had about a 15 minute wait; not bad for a vacation area with little else around. It was well worth the wait and then some!

Our server, Brittany, was pretty new to the place, but she made it her business to know the menu and recommend what she thought we would enjoy. And enjoy we did! We were pleased we found JR's, that is, J.R.'s, not juniors, rather than continue looking for the other place.

Food was fantastic and a wide variety there was!! Chicken, burgers, American Grill fare in general. All very well prepared and tasty.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    24
    11
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Temperance MI
Level Contributor
112 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Better than average!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

Three in our party tonight, all very satisfied. One was a the JR steak salad with the cherry vinagarette dressing. Excellent! One was the shrimp dinner, also very good. Shrimp cooked just right. One was a build your hamburg your way, the hamburger lover in our group said it was very good. Dessert was the awesome chocolate layer cake that we all shared. Best chocolate cake I have ever had! Worth the expense. Waitress was very attentive, friendly and helpful. Not many restaurants in Brooklyn, Michigan . This one is a must! Will go back again and again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Asmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Michigan
Level Contributor
513 reviews
337 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Always Very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

We've been several times this year and it's always very good. The menu has a good variety and both sandwiches and full dinners are recommended. The last time there my husband had an open faced steak sandwich and I had French dip. Both meats were tender and tasteful. We tried a cheese with crab appetizer, which was very good. For dessert, we took home a piece of bananas foster cheesecake. It was disappointing and not worth the calories. The staff was fun and very friendly. Full bar. Very clean. Usually busy.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jackie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Always good.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

JR's consistently has great food and excellent service. The burgers are huge, the steaks cooked just right, and the appetizers are wonderful. They have daily dinner and drink specials. We eat there almost weekly and always leave full and happy!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great lunch!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

I was enticed to JR's by great reviews of their other locations and a free birthday lunch certificate. They have $6.99 lunch specials. Dinners would have been way over my $12.99 birthday certificate which exclude gratuity and drinks.
I ordered the pulled pork sandwich which comes with their homemade chips but I substituted fries. The sandwich was too big for one sitting so I took home 1/2 along with most of the fries. The fries were homemade thickcut deepfried fries with a great flavor. Love them! The sandwich was presented on a butter (?) bun carmelized on the inside so the liquid from the coleslaw, pork, and pickles would not make the bun soggy. The sandwich consisted of pulled pork- a little salty but great with no fat or gristle, tender and tasty; bque sauce, pickles, and coleslaw. I'm not a fan of coleslaw on a sandwich or for that matter on the side! This coleslaw totally made the sandwich-not too tangy or sweet-just perfect.
My companion ordered a hamburger with a side of cottage cheese. She indicated it was very good and ate everything which normally she does not. So, it must have been good!
I observed others' plates and every plate looked huge, from salads, to chimichangas, to soups.
The tables and booths were spaced far enough apart to allow an intimate atmosphere while still being in the open. The bathrooms were clean and well maintained. My only complaint is that the carpet was not well vacuumed when we arrived at 11:30 am.
I will definitely be back to this restaurant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JosieMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed JR's Hometown Grill & Pub also viewed

 

Been to JR's Hometown Grill & Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing