We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Leisure and Entertainment” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bay Mills Resort & Casino

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bay Mills Resort & Casino
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Brimley
SAULT STE. MARIE
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Leisure and Entertainment”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Rooms are clean, food & housekeeping personnel are pleasant.
Restaurant (Sacy's) have crab legs, shrimp, prime rib, sirloin steaks, salad bar & desserts.
Entertainment - Back Bay Bar - On weekends usually have recorded music & sometimes live entertainment.
Hotel representatives are very helpful & courteous.
Hotel staff (upper mangement) are a wonderful staff.
Casino games are entertaining and sometimes one does win.

Room Tip: Choose a suite otherwise all other rooms are standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    33
    36
    6
    5
See reviews for
13
56
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

We spent 2 days and nights at Bay Mills casino resort and had a wonderful time. The staff are great and everyone was so relaxed and friendly. We enjoyed it so much that we plan on going again soon.It is so conveniently close as it's just 20 minutes or so past the border.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flushing, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

The commercials are catchy, but that's about it. This is not a RESORT and CASINO.. it's just a casino with hotel rooms..period. We decided to get the stay & game package, which was a $152 value. We ended up with a handicap king bed room. While the room and bathroom was accessible with ample room to navigate if I had a wheel chair, the shower was not. This is not a barrier free room. We were expecting at least a pool - there was none. The casino is right on a bay off of Lake Superior.. and you cannot even go swimming if you wanted to. The shoreline is nothing but weeds and reeds. The only saving grace to it is the boat launch. When we received our "fun cards," we were asked if we were interested in golfing or fishing. We had brought our fishing gear with us and said FISHING! By the way.. is there somewhere we can fish here without us having a boat? The poor girl said...uhhh out back, maybe?! ...while we went on our walk to check out the grounds, we were sadly disappointed.

We had a voucher for the dinner buffet, $15 in free play, a $3 voucher for a drink, and a voucher for the breakfast buffet. Aside from this, we had a room that is comfortable, but really nothing special with a TV, microwave, mini fridge, coffee pot, hair dryer, iron, and ironing board. We had one king sized pillow each, and they were flat. We asked for another pillow each, and it took over an hour to get here with us calling TWICE, and we stayed right behind the front desk.

The food on the dinner buffet wasn't very appetizing in my opinion...and I certainly would never pay the $17 ticket price if it wasn't free. For Michigan being a state where it is illegal to smoke in a work place, and where you cannot even smoke in a bar, I figured we would be in a smoke-free facility. I do not smoke, and there are people smoking EVERYWHERE including inside of the restaurant. I sat down to a slot machine, and someone's still burning cigarette was sitting in an ash tray beside me that I had to extinguish myself.

Value wise it's not bad; all of the hotels in the area are $150-165, but don't expect a resort because this isn't one. You cannot get a massage, facial, pedicure, or anything like that. The only activity you can do other than gambling is golfing, or if you bring your own boat, boating. We came here for more of a resort on vacation, and it didn't meet our needs at all. While it may suffice for the senior citizen crowd (which, there were more of them here than any other casino I have been to,) it severely lacks things for younger people to do. We are 30 and 35, and were looking forward to a good experience.

We drove 4.5 hours to get here, and it was an incredible disappointment. Next time we will stay an hour from home and go to Soaring Eagle Casino and Resort in Mt. Pleasant instead...which IS a resort casino.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cindy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

Rooms were clean but dated. Hotel staff was very friendly. We were just there to play slots. It was a lot smaller casino than I expected but we had a good time...nobody (4 of us) won but still had fun. Was not impressed with the food on the buffet.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackinaw City, Michigan
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

Stayed at the hotel for a wedding. The key cards didn't work our first time to the room. I had new cards imade and they only worked 1 time. I had to rekey the cards 4 times. The group I was with had the same problems with the keycards. The hotel staff knew of the problem and couldn't do anything to correct it. The rooms were clean but dated. They needed a remodel. The mattress was very low to the floor and were in poor shape. I've thrown out a mattress in better shape than the one we had. The hotel staff seemed to care yet there was NOTHING they could do about it. It is a casino hotel resort and they allow smoking. I thought the only place you could smoke was in the casino. They did have non[smokong rooms but people could smoke in the hallways and you smelled like smoke. i would NEVER stay here again.

Room Tip: If you want to put up with the smoke and the poor quality of the rooms, this is your place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wmc919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MN
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012

We stayed at Bay Mills last week and were satisfied with our stay. They had the best wi-fi of any hotel we have ever stayed at. We had a view of the lake and we were able to sleep with the window open which was a treat.
Our room was a little small but it was clean and it did have a fridge and microwave. The halls could use some updating.
The restaurant was nice with a great menu selection.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nopension
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
69 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2012

This is the worse of any casino hotel I have stayed at. The halls are dark and smell of cheap perfume in an attempt to hide the reek of cigarette smoke in the non smoking rooms. The rooms are very worn with tvs the size of computer monitors. Bathroom was cold, shower curtain accidentally touched my skin while I was in the shower and I felt like I had been slimed by a jellyfish.
Dinner buffet barely adequate and the breakfast buffet is the same continental breakfast you get for free at most motels.
Their only claim to fame here is the free drink service and you would be better off paying for drinks and staying at a nice place like Turtle Creek

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank washingtonholly3009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brimley
11.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Sault Ste. Marie
BEST WESTERN Sault Ste. Marie
#2 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
24.9 mi away
Magnuson Grand Hotel Lakefront Paradise
11.6 mi away
Days Inn Sault Ste Marie MI
Days Inn Sault Ste Marie MI
#12 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
Quattro Hotel & Conf. Centre, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Quattro Hotel & Conf. Centre, an...
#1 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
11.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Sault Ste Marie
Hampton Inn Sault Ste Marie
#3 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
5.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
11.7 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#13 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Mills Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Mills Resort & Casino

Property: Bay Mills Resort & Casino
Address: 11386 W Lakeshore Dr, Brimley, MI 49715-9308
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Brimley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Brimley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Mills Resort & Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bay Mills Resort & Casinos is located in Brimley, Michigan in the beautiful Upper Peninsula of Michigan. Sitting right on the waterfront Bay Mills offers two separate casinos, 142 hotel rooms, four different restaurants, 124 RV sites and a championship 18 hole golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Bay Mills Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing