We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Okay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bay Mills Resort & Casino
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Brimley
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Rooms were clean but dated. Hotel staff was very friendly. We were just there to play slots. It was a lot smaller casino than I expected but we had a good time...nobody (4 of us) won but still had fun. Was not impressed with the food on the buffet.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (133)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 133 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2012

Stayed at the hotel for a wedding. The key cards didn't work our first time to the room. I had new cards imade and they only worked 1 time. I had to rekey the cards 4 times. The group I was with had the same problems with the keycards. The hotel staff knew of the problem and couldn't do anything to correct it. The rooms were clean but dated. They needed a remodel. The mattress was very low to the floor and were in poor shape. I've thrown out a mattress in better shape than the one we had. The hotel staff seemed to care yet there was NOTHING they could do about it. It is a casino hotel resort and they allow smoking. I thought the only place you could smoke was in the casino. They did have non[smokong rooms but people could smoke in the hallways and you smelled like smoke. i would NEVER stay here again.

Room Tip: If you want to put up with the smoke and the poor quality of the rooms, this is your place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wmc919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

We stayed at Bay Mills last week and were satisfied with our stay. They had the best wi-fi of any hotel we have ever stayed at. We had a view of the lake and we were able to sleep with the window open which was a treat.
Our room was a little small but it was clean and it did have a fridge and microwave. The halls could use some updating.
The restaurant was nice with a great menu selection.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nopension
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2012

This is the worse of any casino hotel I have stayed at. The halls are dark and smell of cheap perfume in an attempt to hide the reek of cigarette smoke in the non smoking rooms. The rooms are very worn with tvs the size of computer monitors. Bathroom was cold, shower curtain accidentally touched my skin while I was in the shower and I felt like I had been slimed by a jellyfish.
Dinner buffet barely adequate and the breakfast buffet is the same continental breakfast you get for free at most motels.
Their only claim to fame here is the free drink service and you would be better off paying for drinks and staying at a nice place like Turtle Creek

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank washingtonholly3009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

Have gone in April for a 2 day 1 night Senior Special Tuesday for 3 years. The amendities are no longer included as coupon $3.00 buffet breakfast. Free alcoholic beverages are still available. Very few customers or employees.
Food nothing special. Buffet dinner just served a few hours / maybe from 5pm to 8pm

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2012

Just spent a night here last weekend, as part of an anniversary celebration for an Aunt & Uncle.

Going into it, we weren't expecting much from the hotel. I would be surprised if it was anything above a 2 star. The rooms were roomy and had a fridge and microwave. Unfortunately, other than the new flatscreen, the decor was very dated. Also, being attached to a casino, there was that constant stench of stale smoke - even in the supposedly 'non-smoking' rooms.

Service was good and the food was just OK (had a snack at the Back Bay Bar and dinner at Sacy's). Prices were good and the drinks are free while gambling.

Overall, nothing great and nothing horrible - just OK. Would I stay here again? If I had to. Otherwise, I'd make the 30 minute trip home.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MSkinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2012

If your going to U.P. of Michigan this is a good centerly location. Lot of nearby attractions, lots of scenery, great golf course, great snowmobiling also they have a very nice camp ground. If your into motorcyles, it makes a good home base to start from. The hotel is nice but getting to the point were it's needing a upgrade, a pool would be a good , giving the kids a place to go. Also the free drinks while gambling is great

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zrturbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brimley
24.8 mi away
Magnuson Grand Hotel Lakefront Paradise
11.1 mi away
Best Western Sault Ste. Marie
Best Western Sault Ste. Marie
#4 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
480 reviews
11.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Sault Ste Marie
Hampton Inn Sault Ste Marie
#2 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Days Inn Sault Ste Marie MI
Days Inn Sault Ste Marie MI
#11 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
584 reviews
1.6 mi away
Brimley Motel Suites
Brimley Motel Suites
#1 of 4 in Brimley
12 reviews
13.9 mi away
Kewadin Casinos Hotel
Kewadin Casinos Hotel
#9 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Mills Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Mills Resort & Casino

Address: 11386 W Lakeshore Dr, Brimley, MI 49715-9308
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Brimley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Brimley
Price Range: $106 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Mills Resort & Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bay Mills Resort & Casinos is located in Brimley, Michigan in the beautiful Upper Peninsula of Michigan. Sitting right on the waterfront Bay Mills offers two separate casinos, 142 hotel rooms, four different restaurants, 124 RV sites and a championship 18 hole golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Bay Mills Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing