We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, good location, nice price”
Review of Willabee's Motel

Willabee's Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Brimley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Willabee's Motel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Brimley
Johannesburg, Michigan
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Clean, good location, nice price”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

My husband and I venture up to Brimley from just below the bridge a couple times a year. We've stayed at Willabee's a few times now and will likely do so each time. It's about $40 on average cheaper than the casino (which is the reason we go up there!). It has a nice bar and restaurant right next to it and it's only a hop, skip and jump away from the casino. I believe there is a shuttle, too, to the casino but you probably have to call the casino (we just saw it at the gas station but did not ask). Hotel is always clean, lots of pillows and a decent bed, and owners very nice but the front desk it ony open until 11:00. Also a gas station right next door to fuel up the car and get coffee for the ride onward the next morning.

Room Tip: We've always stayed on the bottom floor and never had an issue with noise from upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank april s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    14
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
12
19
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
thumb area
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We needed a place for a couple nights in the area,ans casino was full, so we chose Willabees from thse reviews.Room was very nice,clean,and nice employees.Lounge/restaurant had a great breakfast and not too expensive. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jrotkowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
187 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Our stay was a "one nighter". Willabee's is a basic, no frills motel - however it's clean, and the beds were fairly comfortable. The room was large enough (as was the bathroom) but noise from the second floor was disturbing. The office closed at 11 PM so we couldn't complain to them. Rooms haven't been decorated in a while. But clean! Staff was neutral. WIFI was free and worked. Another plus. Breakfast next door was a good deal. The room did have a fridge, another plus. This motel is an "overflow" for the nearby casino. If passing through Brimley and need a place to stay, this is pretty much your only alternative to the casino hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drlooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Blanc, Mi
Level Contributor
324 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

This is the kind of motel that you DON"T expect to find in a tiny little Burg like Brimley!! A beautiful, clean inexpensive riverside motel with fantastic rooms, friendly owners and staff! There is nothing here NOT to like---and that includes the adjacent restaurant. The owner bought the place a few years ago, moved to Brimley from Indiana and turned the property into a travelers delight. YOU WILL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED HERE.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DanandSharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL ON
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

I travelled with my parents to Brimley to go to the casinos.. and Willabee's Motel had rooms.. we decided to stay there and extended our stay due to the great people at Willabee's.. they are so accommodating, helpful, the rooms are clean, beds are comfortable, there is a covered veranda.. a river in the back of the motel and if I am not mistaken, Lake Superior or the North channel of Lake Huron.. just down the road, past the cemetery.. it is a family affair, when you stay at the Willabee.. A restaurant and bar are situated close to the motel with an excellent view and deck -- a safe and comfortable place to come back to... and the town itself is lovely... this was our second time there and we will return again.. I know when I am motorcycling - this will be one of my stops..

Room Tip: I would try to get a room with a view to the river.. which is in the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 55pmclean55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, MO
Level Contributor
285 reviews
149 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2012

My wife and I were on a motorcycle trip and heavy rains caused me to pick the first decent looking place I could find to stay. I first went past this place to the casino a few miles down the road. They only had smoking rooms and they were bad so decided to ride in the rain back to Willabee's. I'm glad we did.

The rooms was is similar in size and has the amenities of a Comfort Inn however, much cleaner than the majority of the chain motels where I have stayed. The owner was very nice.

Once the rain stopped it was a short walk to the lake were I was able to walk along the sand beach of a little and watch the sun set. It was very pleasant.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ajayhawkfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Clean rooms, good location on the river, very good restaurant on the same property and a price that is quite acceptable by today's standards. I've stayed there on three or four occasions and will certainly do so again on future trips. Dog policy might seem a touch unusual to some but the owners dogs are friendly and add a homely touch to the reception area.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank biloran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brimley
1.7 mi away
Bay Mills Resort & Casino
10.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Sault Ste Marie
Hampton Inn Sault Ste Marie
#3 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
74 reviews
9.9 mi away
Best Western Sault Ste. Marie
Best Western Sault Ste. Marie
#2 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront
Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault S...
#4 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
461 reviews
12.3 mi away
Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Ojibway
Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Oj...
#8 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
688 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brimley Motel Suites
Brimley Motel Suites
#1 of 4 in Brimley
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Willabee's Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willabee's Motel

Property: Willabee's Motel
Address: 9903 W 6 Mile Rd, Brimley, MI 49715-9104
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Brimley
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Brimley
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now renting single and double kayaks for use on the river or in the bay. Half day and full day rentals available. Also, we welcome our new neighbors Jack's Pub & Grub, in the same parking lot. They offer delicious breakfast, lunch and dinner!!! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Willabee`s Hotel Brimley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing