We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beware if you think you're getting cleanliness for what you pay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Homewood Suites Brighton
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Bloomington, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beware if you think you're getting cleanliness for what you pay.”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

It appeared to be in a nice area, near Target and a very nice outdoor mall, and the grounds looked kept. We were shocked upon entering our room--2 BR suite. The furniture was old and in poor condition--needed dumpster. The tubs had filthy black scum/ring of filth, the toilet had green stuff on the sides, there were white stains on carpet and brown splashed on the walls. The sheets OMG I don't want to discuss the white crusty goo and yellow stains on pillows! The place smelled like pee, so we cracked the window and the screen was falling out--there was an active wasp nest in sill! Oh, and they advertised an accessible suite w/ roll in shower and there wasn't one! The manager said he didn't like to clean and offered us nothing but changed sheets!! In the end, we weren't charged for the $200+ room. That's good! Don't expect real accessibility or cleanliness!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveTurquouisEyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homewood48116, Manager at Homewood Suites Brighton, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you for your feedback of your recent stay with us. I’m very sorry you were unhappy with the cleanliness of your room and apologize for this experience. We work hard to ensure the comfort and satisfaction of our guests and apologize that we were unable to meet that expectation. I am working with our housekeeping staff to take care of the issues you mentioned, including the linens, the bathroom, the smell, and the carpet. We are actively taking measures to prevent this from happening in the future. I’ve also talked to our maintenance team to fix the broken window screen and get rid of the wasp nest. I hope that if you travels bring you back to the area that you will consider staying with us again and see our many improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    87
    44
    20
    11
See reviews for
164
67
13
137
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clinton township, Michigan
Level Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Since our stay at this hotel I have been contacted by the new manager and he has assured me that the events that took place when we stayed there will not be happening again. He is making some changes and looks forward to our visiting again. Good luck David in your new position as manager

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frzzy58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We, a family of four, stayed two nights in a three room suite. Rooms were excellent and the staff friendly. The breakfast was good The best was the 'Managers reception' which in some hotels is just a snack, but here could make it out for a full meal - with drinks. Excellent value. The layout of the hotel may feel a bit like a maze - suddenly you discover a door which is a shortcut to the pool.

Room Tip: Some rooms are a long walk from the reception area. Try to get a map - there are many shortcuts, e.g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DalleJensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niles, Michigan
Level Contributor
108 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Reserved our room thru Hotwire and the room was not a suite which was ok. I can't speak for all the rooms, but my biggest complaint was the poor lighting in the bathroom and the outdated carpet. The staff was friendly and helpful and the breakfast was great. Conveniently located near the interstate which was good also. I thought the walk to get to our room was very long....not enough entrances and elevators. My husband was ill and had to stop and rest in the hall because it was such a long walk.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KAREN S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

The Homewood Suites in Brighton was THE place to be this weekend! It was hoppin with family and friends. We were greased warmly by the staff, quickly placed in our quiet and spacious room, and enjoyed our one night stay. The only drawback we found was no pay per view tv. The channel surfing was boring. Otherwise, homemade breakfast buffet was mediocre, yet clean and well staffed. The coffee was delicious and there was ample room in the dining area that was well appointed. Rooms were clean and up to date. Mediocre shower head, could be replaced and I suggest they get the Kuerig single serving coffee instead of a less sanitary coffee pot.

Room Tip: Oh and there are ceiling fans!!! But it had a weird smell in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

I was really looking forward to staying here as it is in a nice town. While I enjoyed the town of Brighton and the mill pond and Stillwater Grill; the hotel was a disappointment. Check in process was ok but I was surprised they gave me a room that was the furthest from the lobby; a long walk; being a diamond member I thought I would get better treatment than that. There were a lot of wild kids running around so there must have been some kind of athletic event in town. I guess the thing that upset me the most was that after a long, hard day, all I wanted to do was go down to the manager's reception for a quick bite and not have to go out. I walked in right at 7:30PM and the food had already been taken away and the guy in the lobby said sorry, the reception is from 5:30 - 7:30PM. No attempt was made at all to accomodate me. So I had to go out.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, MI
Level Contributor
99 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2012 via mobile

If I were not a Hilton Honors member, I would not have stayed here and probably won't stay here again even still. The breakfast that is included is gross. The shower Is converted from a bath and looks like something a landlord does in a crappy rental house. The staff was Very pleasant and helpful. The room was clean but it still has an old school tube tv.

Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank r2cook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brighton
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Brighton
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Detroit Brighton
11.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Howell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Howell/brighton
8.1 mi away
Best Western of Whitmore Lake
Best Western of Whitmore Lake
#1 of 1 in Whitmore Lake
3.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
16.5 mi away
The Baronette Renaissance Detroit-Novi Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Brighton

Property: Homewood Suites Brighton
Address: 8060 Challis Rd, Brighton, MI 48116-7446
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Brighton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Brighton 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hilton Hotels Direct, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Homewood Suites Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Brighton Hotel Brighton
Homewood Brighton
Brighton Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing