We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of nature's shifting wonders”

Warren Dunes State Park
Ranked #1 of 5 things to do in Bridgman
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Wausau, Wisconsin, United States
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“One of nature's shifting wonders”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

For an hour, all day, or several nights of camping, this gem has something of interest for anyone with any level of interest in nature or the beach. In fact, it might get some people who are not so interested to open their eyes. From the beautiful beach for sunning or swimming to the tall dune for climbing and the amazing variety of vegetation in the dune forest, with stunning views over southern Lake Michigan, it has something for everyone. That includes the largest inflatable water slide I have ever seen. Kids love it. Just outside the park there are stands with loads of fresh local fruit in season, and a little father south on US 11, a couple of local arts communities. All very nice.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    238
    135
    27
    18
    10
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Beckley, West Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“I was on the menu”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Eaten alive by black flies had to get off the beach before I lost all my flesh. If you want to climb a dune it's ok, but if your there to enjoy the beach you will have to fight the seagulls for a place without bird poop and keep moving as to not be the main course for the flies. Afraid to play in the sand due to the poop covering everything.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank daveandgloria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville,KY
Level 6 Contributor
292 reviews
130 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Very Impressive.”
Reviewed June 11, 2014

I went to this park after going to Sandy Bear and Sagatuck Dune Parks. It is much better than Sagatuck and close too Sandy Bear in my opinion. Very large beach area and great hiking trail along beach ad edge of woods which offshoots to several tall dune climbs with great views. I love Vistas in hiking and this one and Sandy Bear have plenty of them. Sagatuck did not have as many vistas that I came across but I am not an expert on that park, I may have missed them. This park is well worth the trip. I went first week of June and not many people at all there or on trails but I think it gets real crowded in Summer. $9 fee for out of state as in all Mich State Parks, this one well worth it. Concession stand\store and bathroom areas on beach.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank faaradar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Warren Peace.”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

I love me some Indiana Dunes, but the thing is, there's like ONE dune, and when you run down it, you hit the parking lot in your bare feet and that hurts, and besides, I think it's closed now anyway. But Warren Dunes is (1) way huger, (2) open, (3) has a giant, open, clean beach area with showers and halfway decent concessions, and (4) is only a little way past the MI state border. Truly worth a visit. The trail maps are a little odd - they have no scale or distance marked, nor do they tell you when you're going to come upon a dune in the woods so large that a 50-year-old's heart is seriously pounding halfway up, but the woods themselves are quite lovely. Want to go back this weekend!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Perfect way to spend a summer day”
Reviewed May 18, 2014

Beautiful stretch of beach where you can interrupt your relax with a healthy hike up the dunes. Public restrooms and an area map for the $9 admission. Lines can be long to get in.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank ti727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Warren Dunes State Park also viewed

Bridgman, Berrien County
Bridgman, Berrien County
 
Stevensville, Berrien County
Saint Joseph, Berrien County
 

Been to Warren Dunes State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing