We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hiking spot”

Warren Dunes State Park
Ranked #1 of 5 things to do in Bridgman
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
New Boston, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
125 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Nice Hiking spot”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Great hiking spot along the beach of Weko Beach Park. Hike through the Dunes a bit, take a dip in the lake, keep hiking, swim again. Really a beautiful spot.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Tyler_M10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    218
    114
    23
    14
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kankakee, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Make a day trip of it, not camping”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

My wife and dog and I did a test of the camping for a night in the modern camp site. At first I was going to book a "Rustic" site, and then was told by a Michigan reservation person that we probably wouldn't be able to access the showers. Which I thought was kind of crazy, cause really the "Modern" site is really for the electricity. Anyway, it was no big deal, since we were just wanting to test the camp grounds out and see if it is a place we would like to do more camping.
Bottom line, no. There was nothing wrong with the staff or getting in to our site, everything was great and very friendly. Unless you are doing RV camping or a pop up camper, I would camp elsewhere. The fire pits, had no grill over them so that we could cook, and we didn't bring a grill grate with us, because....what's the point, it's a "Modern" site. I've been other places where an iron grill grate is always available, and not even labeled a "Modern" camp site.
The camp sites were pretty much right on top of each other. So if you enjoy having a secluded site for privacy, and just enjoying YOUR camping, this is NOT the place. It was busy, which is what we were expecting. But if the park would just space out the camp sites more and if there was some brush or trees between sites, it would make it so much better.
Also, I did not realize how incredibly close to I94 these grounds were. I was really expecting the woods to block any traffic. Not the case. About 2am, after the rain lulled us to sleep, it was a constant buzzing from traffic heard on the interstate, we could not get back to sleep. So if you enjoy camping along the interstate or just in downtown Chicago, just go here instead and you will get the same experience. Bring earplugs to sleep with!
Overall the bathrooms and showers were much nicer than others I have been in. It's a camp site, and I wasn't really expecting much, but was surprised with those.
When I booked the site I asked if the park was dog friendly, and the reply was "YES." The only stipulations were that our dog had to be on a six-foot leash when out in the park, (OK, check, we do that anyway), and that he could not be left in the car, (OK, another no-brainer), and of course we have to pick up after him (Ok, another no-brainer). What we were not told is that the entire beach area on the park map was marked inaccessible for dogs. There were no dog friendly beach areas marked so that we could play with our furry companion on the beach and in the water. We haven't had him near a body of water since we've had him that would be good for him to swim in and were really hoping to find out how much of a water dog he is. That I think was our biggest disappointment.
The trails and dunes are great though. As I have been there before for those, and we had fun on a couple of the hard sand-dune hills that we were able to take our dog out on.
So leave it as a day trip I would say, and leave your furry companion at home, unfortunately. Also, we found that our dog would lay down once we got him in the sand dunes by the beach and were walking for a few feet. It must have been too hot on his paws, so we had to do only hiking where the tree coverage made the sand cooler.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very rude rangers!”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

The Warren Dunns State park was our back up plan, we had planned to stay at the Weko Beach camp ground but it was full. We got to the Warren Dunns campground and were able to drive around to pick out which spot we would like, so that was nice. The rangers are all very rude and will yell at you for very small things, such as driving an inch past the stop sign on your way into the park. Our campsite was large, shaded and fairly easy to get to the restrooms. The rest rooms on the other hand were gross. I felt dirtier after washing my hands and showering there. Since we were planning on staying at a different camp ground we did have some alcohol with us. We have never had a problem with having a drink at a different state park as long as we were not being obnoxious and loud and we poured it into a different cup. The rangers came by at midnight and told us that it was quiet hours, we were already being quiet, they started shining their flash lights into cups, even though they were empty. they started shining flash lights into our vehicles and asked for our beer, even though there was none in site. They followed us into our tent without permission and opened up the other vehicle without permission too and took the cooler out, without knowing if there was alcohol in it. They dumped all of the alcohol that was brought and proceeded to write a large ticket. They were very rude to us even though we were very cooperative with them. Our plan was to go wine tasting the next day but we were too afraid that if we bought any wine then they would dump it even if it was closed and still in our vehicles. We packed up and went home the next day. Very disappointed with how rude the rangers were. They should give people a warning before ruining their vacations.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank Kate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Beach! Packed Campgrounds. Clean except for Beach bathrooms.”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

This is our second time to the Beach area.
This time: 7 adults, ages 36-71; 8 children, ages 3-11.

5/5 Beach: The Beach has soft sand and is huge! It easily handles large crowds. Going into the water, just get past the first 20 feet which may get waist deep and is gravel/rocky, and you'll realize why so many people are further out in knee deep soft sand-bottom areas playing. The sand gets really hot, so wear footwear. 3 parking lots. Hot food available onsite at concession/shelter! Good hot dogs and basic burgers. Clean sand, clean water, and unobtrusively patrolled by park rangers on 4-wheel ATV's.

1/5 Beach Bathrooms: Hold your nose, wear footwear, wipe the seats, watch out for pooping birds perched up above the stalls. These were disgusting! No soap, no towels, no dryers! (Middle parking lot site is where this was experienced.)

3/5: Campground: Camp-Site was clean. These are small and packed together. Yes, the Red Arrow highway Close! Based on aerial images, it is less than 200 feet from some campsites. It may be blocked by trees, but you hear the noise! Fortunately, the area is heavily wooded and this helps with general noise. Bathroom/Shower facilities is where is this is mixed. Showers had hot water and are NOT "pay per use", clean floor in showers and nice benches. The Bathrooms are better than the Beach, but still subpar. Again, no Soap! Dispenser hangers were on the walls, but all the dispensers were missing! There were hot-air hand dryers.

Overall, we would come back and hope the bathroom issues are improved. Camping is... camping and the proximity to the highway and noise issues are just part of "dense" location camping. If you want seclusion, don't go to popular places like this. Kids could have stayed at the beach ALL day everyday. Kids don't notice all the "issues", EXCEPT the beach bathrooms were commented on even by them. Oh, reapply sunscreen every 80 minutes and get the "apply to wet skin" variety for your kids if you hope to keep them from burning. Get there and enjoy what it is and be prepared for the bathrooms.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank A_Real_Family_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“warren dunes state park”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

we camped here between august 6th 2011 and august 11th 2011 it looked cool but they were remodeling a few areas so we just swam in lake michigan and hung out for the week.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank extremecamping1254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Warren Dunes State Park also viewed

Bridgman, Berrien County
Bridgman, Berrien County
 
Stevensville, Berrien County
New Buffalo, Berrien County
 

Been to Warren Dunes State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing