We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous stay in incredible surroundings”
other travelers have booked this property
The Orangery. The apartment is the third window from the far end.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Orangery. The apartment is the third window from the far end.
Aerial view of Chateau de la Trousse. Orangery on the right. Pool top right. Entrance to the Chateau with the Orangery on the right hand side.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
The Orangery. The apartment is the third window from the far end.
Aerial view of Chateau de la Trousse. Orangery on the right. Pool top right.
Entrance to the Chateau with the Orangery on the right hand side.
The Orangery. The apartment is the third window from the left.
View of the main Chateau, the Orangery is to the right.
Main Chateau.
Kitchen and dining area.
Living area, small TV and wood-burning stove.
Master bedroom, with en suite bathroom (shower, toilet and basin).
Top bedroom - 3 single beds + one pull-out. En suite bathroom.
Front terrace, looking onto the Chateau
Front terrace.
Back terrace looking onto the formal gardens
Back terrace.
The back garden! Towards the swimming pool and greenhouse.
Heated swimming pool, walled and safe. Open May-Sept. No charge.
Hard tennis court open May-Sept (no charge)
View of the Chateau from the grounds.
View of the Chateau from the grounds.
The Orangery from behind - the apartment is on the right of the central arch.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Lizy-sur-Ourcq, Seine-et-Marne, Ile-de-France

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
thegaffer...
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fabulous stay in incredible surroundings”
Reviewed August 11, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in The Orangery at the end of June for a week and loved every minute of it.

We drove down from Calais which was a very easy run down the Peage. I think the tolls worked out about €17 each way and the journey was about 3hrs. Once off the motorway it takes about 45mins along quiet roads.

Once in Lizy sur ourcq we stopped at the Carrefour Market which was quite well stocked although a smaller supermarket. There is a big Intermarche at Lizy although this was shut due to roof repairs when we were there.

The Orangery was very well appointed and In excellent condition, the grounds were well maintained and we enjoyed exploring them. The outdoor pool was a welcome relief from the heat and a 1min walk across the back lawn.

Plenty to do in the area, we travelled to Epernay to see the Champagne houses, we took a tour of Mercier which was very interesting.

We took the train from Lizy station to Meaux for the day. Free parking at the station. Trains can be had direct into Paris Gare Est too.

Plenty of history to explore in the local area. In fact La Trousse itself is a very interesting place, highly worth reading around.

Driving around the corner at the end of the avenue and seeing the grounds and Chateau open up in front of you was a treat each time.

We travelled with two young children, 2 and 1 and found The Orangery to be suitable. There is a travel cot provided and a stair gate on the top bedroom.

We can't wait to return, thank you for making our holiday fabulous.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly D
1 review
“Perfect in every way!”
Reviewed February 26, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We booked the Orangery for a long weekend during February half term and could not have been more pleased.
The house itself catered for our every need and is beautifully presented throughout. Our children were delighted with their room on the top floor and their own bathroom as well as the selection of games and DVD's.
The grounds are stunning and we enjoyed exploring even in the wintry February weather. It is very conveniently situated for Disneyland and the local amenities in nearby Lizy are very good.
The booking process was very smooth and the instructions Tom sent in advance made everything very easy.
Overall I could not have been happier and we hope to return again soon - highly recommend!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ToriT100
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect Christmas Break!”
Reviewed December 20, 2016 for a stay in December 2016

We have had an amazing week here at the Orangery. Ahead of our visit, Tom was incredibly helpful and responsive to our questions. The Orangery is very picturesque, the rooms are beautifully decorated and perfect for our young family. Disneyland Paris is 30 minutes away and very straightforward to drive to. We went from Trilport train station into Paris which was easy when we weren't in rush hour. It took you straight to gare l'est where we caught the Big Bus company tour bus to see the sights. Again, straightforward even with two very young little ones. The locals have been very friendly and helpful. We have only one complaint.....we don't really want to head home! We will definitely be heading back for another visit!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James B
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A little taste of luxury”
Reviewed May 12, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

This was our first trip to France (outside Paris) and we were directed to this fabulous location by friends.

The view as you drive to the property is akin to a scene from Downton Abbey and that is just the beginning.

The accommodation is great. Split across 3 floors there is an awesome sense of space inside and with seating/dining areas outside, both front and back, it feels enormous.

This is the perfect place for couples, families ( I can imagine a few of our friends booking up soon with their kids) or groups of friends to get away from the hustle and bustle of life.

The directions from Tom and Rachelle were incredibly detailed and we found the place so easily.

We are already looking to book another weekend here for our wedding anniversary.

Finally I would say that this place is amazing value for money and worth every penny.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful surroundings and accommodation
Liked least: Having to leave to go back to work
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freysen M
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed April 5, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We stayed for 5 nights. What an amazing find. The accommodation is located on beautiful grounds with use of tennis courts and pool. Also very nice walks. A car is essential. The house was beautifully decorated inside, very clean and equipped with everything we needed. The rooms were spacious and each had a bathroom. Wifi was fantastic. Loads of games, DVD's and CD's. The town had a LeMarche where we could buy all we needed. Excellent value for money. Thank you for letting us stay!
We can definitely recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda S
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Tranquil and picturesque yet close to Disneyland and Paris”
Reviewed March 12, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We visited for 5 nights during February half term with our two teenagers. The apartment is part of a converted Orangery in a beautiful rural estate with formal gardens, woods, an orchard, greenhouse and the picturesque Chateau de la Trousse at its midst. The accommodation is set over 3 floors and is furnished in French country style with rustic baskets hanging from the ceiling in the kitchen, pretty lights, lanterns, exposed beams and a log burner in the sitting area which with outside temperatures rarely above freezing was so cosy to sit around in the evening – just perfect!! Everything was spotlessly clean and worked perfectly. The kitchen was well equipped and the owners have provided a host of other thoughtful items such as board games, DVDs, books and sports equipment. Unfortunately, it was too cold for us to play outside games but in summer there is a tennis court and a heated swimming pool to enjoy. We loved strolling around the beautiful estate though and there are pretty walks by the canal if you are staying longer. We were in need of a short break which offered some peace, tranquillity and beautiful surroundings and this ticked all the boxes. A reliable Wifi connection was a bonus for the teenagers when we weren’t out exploring the local area. We visited Disneyland (about 30 minutes by car) and Paris by train from the local town, Lizy-sur-Ourcq. We also ventured into nearby Meaux of mustard and cheese fame which has some lovely restaurants, shops and an impressive gothic cathedral to explore. If you are visiting out-of-season, do make sure you check opening hours of local restaurants. We missed a visit to the local highlight ‘Quai des Brumes’ which was disappointing but as we will definitely be visiting again it will be on top of our list for next time. Would thoroughly recommend a stay at the Orangery.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location is beautiful yet close to sometop French attractions
Liked least: The weather! But it was February!
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 3, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing