We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Great Trip To Enjoy Michigan's Fall Season” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mountain Run at Boyne

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Boyne Falls
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mountain Run at Boyne
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Boyne Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Great Trip To Enjoy Michigan's Fall Season”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

My husband & I are Bluegreen Resort owners and we have been wanting to visit Mountain Run at Boyne. What a better time than in the Fall! we made a trip to Petosky and to Traverse City for some fun day trips!
It's a beautiful resort and our 2 bedroom condo was great! It had everything we needed to make our week stay comfortbale and enjoyable.
The Bluegreen staff was very nice and helpful.
We will definitely be going back to Mountain Run at Boyne. We loved it!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Huston10110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    70
    21
    13
    6
See reviews for
104
45
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

We stayed at the Blue Green condos at the base of Boyne Mountain. All of the condos are within walking distance (1 or 2 minutes) of the lifts, our condo was closest to the "beginner" hill. It was incredibly cold during our stay (-6* F) so the location was great to use as a warming hut.
We had two units and shared the space comfortably with another family. In all we were 4 adults and 5 children. The first unit had a small kitchen (just the basics), living area and huge master suite. The second unit had two queen beds and a loft with two smaller beds.
The beds were average, to below average and the amenities were basic, nothing special. However the price was right and that makes it an overall "good value."

Room Tip: All the codos are convenient, but some are closer to the mountain than others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheGreatWacedja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kagawong
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

The unit was very clean, well decorated & better equipped than most condos we have rented in the past. The BlueGreen staff are without exception excellent - friendly & knowledgeable. A couple of minor maintenance issues brought us an evening visit by a very pleasant & capable gentleman. The issues were repaired immediately & we enjoyed our visit.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

We are Bluegreen owners and have stayed here twice for two night stays jn 2 bedroom condos. The units are a little outdated (small tube tv and bad internet connection), but we were told they will be updating them soon.

The units are spacious and the staff is very friendly. The location is great for winter (skiing and snowmobiling) or summer (golf and lakes). The pool is great in the summer and in the winter you can use the outdoor pool at the main lodge (we would have tried this if we didnt have our 2 year old with us).

It is a short drive to Petoskey where there are plenty of store, shops, restaraunts and activities as well.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank simhap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosse Pointe Park, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed at Mountain Run at Boyne in mid-October. Had a one bedroom unit which was ok but only a queen size bed. The decor was nice and looked recently updated. The kitchen is small but provided all we needed for a couple days. There's only an electric cooktop and a microwave but we like to eat dinner out so that was plenty for breakfast and lunch. There is a fireplace and a really nice, large flat screen tv in the living room. No coffee table though, I guess because of the pull-out couch. An ottoman would be a nice addition, somewhere to put your feet up.

At the resort, we played shuffleboard and that's about it. The chair lift was still running at Boyne for a ride up to see the scenery but only on the weekends. The fall colors were fantastic! Be sure to see the "mushroom" houses by architect Earl Young in nearby Charlevoix. You can check out the shops and then it's just a short walk to see the houses. (No inside tours, just views from the street or sidewalk.) Petoskey is nice, great shops and fun restaurants. Red Mesa Grill in Boyne City is wonderful for Mexican food.

The outdoor pool at the resort was closed and the indoor hot tub was in a small room, not appealing at all. Apparently, Mountain Run guests are allowed to use the outdoor hot tub at Boyne but it was out of order. Instead we were allowed to use the indoor/outdoor pool at Mountain Grand next door which is fabulous! It was heated to 90 degrees and there are a couple of hot tubs which are even warmer. Swimming under the stars in the crisp fall air was great. We were lucky enough to be able to sit in the sun because it was 77 degrees one day. All in all a good trip and an adequate if not luxurious resort.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grossepointemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermilion, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

We were disappointed that we didn't recieve the room that we were expecting - they have recently acquired three building from Boyne Mountain Resort and do not show those rooms on the website - so we thought we were going to be in a suite that had a whirlpool tub and and a balconey - the reason we chose a two bedroom instead of a one bedroom.
Bluegreen was very nice and refunded some of our "points" but did not have an open room to move us to.
The resort itself is wonderful and we loved our time discovering this area of Michigan. We will be back but will make sure that we know what room we are getting ahead of time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheLadyDawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskegon, MI
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed here during the off off-season (Sept 14 & 15) - too late for summer, too early for fall colors yet. The Resort is in a beautiful setting with accomodations located in different buildings. We stayed in the oldest building, the Clock Tower (or Boyne Hof). Our room was plenty big which was nice, but it really needs updating - especially the carpet (fraying) & bathroom (cramped) . There were more kids running around the resort than i expected (we're married adults, no kids). I wasn't even aware that they had an indoor water park. There's a hayride that will take you around the grounds but it was full of kids - not our thing, but if you have kids it would be a great place to bring them. Lots of public spaces to "hang out" - several fireplaces throughout, a bonfire area outdoors, at least 3 different taverns/restaurants. There are some cute shops on the grounds too, but very expensive. Restaurants are expensive too, for the most part. Staff tells us that the place is hopping in the winter (it is a ski resort, after all). I think this would be a fantastic place for a group get-together or families with kids, but if you're looking for a romantic getaway, there are better places. Northern Michigan is beautiful any time of year - we'll be back up this way soon, but we'll try a different place next time.

Room Tip: If you're picky about your room, ask for something other than the Clock Tower (aka Boyne Hof...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MiDiane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boyne Falls
13.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Petoskey
13.9 mi away
@ Michigan Inn & Lodge
@ Michigan Inn & Lodge
#6 of 15 in Petoskey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
14.6 mi away
The Apple Tree Inn
The Apple Tree Inn
#7 of 15 in Petoskey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Boyne Mountain Resort
Boyne Mountain Resort
#1 of 4 in Boyne Falls
3.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bluegreen Vacations Mountain Run at Boyne, an  Ascend Resort
5.7 mi away
Boyne City Motel
Boyne City Motel
#1 of 1 in Boyne City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Run at Boyne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Run at Boyne

Property: Mountain Run at Boyne
Address: 3230 Mountain Edge Rd, Boyne Falls, MI 49713-9508
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Charlevoix County > Boyne Falls
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Boyne Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 190
Also Known As:
Mountain Run At Boyne Hotel Boyne Falls
Mountain Run Boyne
Mountain Run At Boyne Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing