We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mountain Run & Northern Michigan are Can't Miss!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mountain Run at Boyne
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Boyne Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 16, 2011

This was my first trip to Northern Michigan and Mountain Run at Boyne Falls. I invited two couples and another single to join us. I must admit I was a little worried about Mountain Run from the photos on the website because the resort seemed dated. Man was I wrong! Mountain Run is set up like Big Cedar in Branson. A smaller resort associated with a much larger resort. This is a ski resort, but in there are many options for entertainment. The indoor waterpark was not as impressive as billed, but I really liked the Cannondale bikes they rented cheap. The rooms were spacious and modern and the service staff went far beyond the call of duty.
A negative was the garbage storage area in the stair case. It did not become an issue for us, but I can see where it could be when the temperature increases in July and August. heat. However this is a wonderful resort and this is a small design flaw compared to all the positives with Mountain Run.
Finally, the bonus of Mountain Run is it's location. Boyne City has a wonderful downtown and a large park right on the Lake Michigan, it is about an hour from Mackinaw City, the bridge and the Island. All of this makes it a five star resort with a 3 star price. Book Mountain Run with confidence.

Room Tip: Biking is wonderful in this area. If you don't want to bring them, just rent them at the resort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank DrGomab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (197)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 197 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2011

This was our second stay at this Bluegreen resort, and we were just as impressed as we were during our first stay (in April 2011).

The resort itself is located on the Boyne Mountain grounds, so it is a beautiful area to begin with. Very wide open with beautiful scenery. The grounds at Mountain Run are pristine and extremely well maintained. Driving in, we felt almost like we were coming home. It just looks and feels very welcoming.

We stayed in the 1 BR condo. It's reasonably sized, just under 700 sq. ft., so much larger than your average 1 BR hotel room. There's a living room with an oversized pull-out sofa and chair, TV/DVD player, gas fireplace, balcony with a small table and chairs, a small dining area (table w/ 4 chairs), a small kitchen with ample cupboard space, and a VERY spacious bathroom. The bedroom and bathroom can even be closed off from the living room/kitchen area by a sliding wood door. Very ideal for families.

The condos are arranged in pairings of 1BR and 2BR units such that the two "share" a combined area. If you have a large group, you can rent both rooms together. Upon entering the building, you need to use your room key to enter this area, and then use it again to enter your unit. Outside of the two units, there are two large storage closets (with locks) for ski/snowboard equipment and a washer/dryer closet with full sized appliances.

The resort supplies just about everything you could need. Our unit had a dishwasher, full sized refrigerator with ice maker, dishware, cups, mugs, bowls, silverware for 7-8 people, pots/pans, and any utensils and gadgets you can think of, from a can opener to a corkscrew to spatulas. There's also a large microwave, toaster, small coffee maker, blender, electric can opener... seriously, you don't need to bring ANYTHING except your own food to prepare!

Checking in, the people at the desk are always very friendly, and very knowledgeable about the area. On this trip, they provided suggestions for restaurants, wine tasting, shopping, and sightseeing, all at our request. We went the first weekend in November so it wasn't the most "happening" time of year for the area, but they were able to point us in the right direction. We can't wait to come back for ski season!

There were only a few cons that we can think of...
1. The resort has an outdoor pool, but it is only open in warm weather months. We had to drive over to the Boyne Mountain property to use their outdoor heated pool.
2. This is a minor thing, but there is a door in the master bedroom that allows access to the balcony. If your room is on a certain side of the building, the sun will shine directly into your eyes through the not-so-dark blinds on this door. I recommend a sleep mask ;-)
3. A noticed one or two other reviewers talk about the stairs/lack of elevators. This is a good point. There are two stories, so my advice, if you have older or physically challenged guests, is to request a bottom floor to avoid having to drag luggage/equipment up the stairs. Keep in mind that these have more of a cabin/chalet feel, so their outdoor wooden stairs are a bit rugged.

Room Tip: The 1BR condo is a good fit for a couple or small family. The 2BR condo would be ideal for a larger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mostin8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2011

Very nice resort. Kids and parents had a great time. Spent time at the nearby resort on the chairlift, walking around, hay ride and bon fire! Petoskey is a cool little town that I would have liked to have spent more time there. Beautiful fall foliage but not enough time for us to see everything. We are definitely going back... Satisfactory fitness room at the check-in lodge.

Room Tip: Get a 2 bedroom with the kitchenette and fireplace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BigDaddyWied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2011

We have stayed here three times now, and have never been disappointed! The staff is amazing, even at 5am when we checked in the first "night". The activities director knows her stuff and has given us the best ideas for our family to do, sometimes off the beaten path and only known to locals. Whenever we had an issue, it is fixed immediately, and within the hour someone calls to verify it was completed. That's great customer service! The first two nights we stayed in a one bedroom unit with our family of six!! I would not say this is a "tiny" unit by any means. This is the only Bluegreen Resort that we have never complained about once, and we have been owners for years. We would recommend this resort to EVERYONE!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TheWickids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2011

As always, the condo was clean and well-appointed. But there wasn't enough room for my husband and me to pass each other in the living room, and one had to sidle between the armoire and the bed to get to the other side of the room. No elevator, and noisy, from the surrounding rooms and from the parking lot in front units. No oven, but a combo microwave. One of the reasons we love our Bluegreen membership is that we can save money by only eating out half the nights we're there, or just eating lunch out. Can't bake or roast with no oven.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank songbirdtova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2011

We've stayed in many Blue Green resorts. This was our first time to Boyne Mtn. The area is beautiful. We enjoyed some peak-leaf, Indian summer days. We loved the upper Michigan area. Lots of little drives to check out the local farmers markets, wineries, etc. Our hotel room's stove top did not work, at all. Thankfully, we had a spare 1 bdr unit and used that one. There were spiders in our unit and we had to change rooms btw weeks one and two. Steps were a bit much for my husband, who had to carry the suitcases and cooler.

Room Tip: Take a lower unit to avoid the steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MJM31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2011

1 bedroom very small-no oven or garbage disposal. over sized furniture made it even smaller. quiet if you ask for an end unit. cute balcony. tiny tvs and micro. would not hold my coffee cup from speedway. great coffee at the lodge. friendly people. no elevator. 18 steps to 2nd floor. tiring to haul all your stuff when you are older. ask someone from the lodge to help out. they are happy to help out. beautiful area. plenty of towels.

Room Tip: ask for 2nd floor only if you can do 18 steps. no elevator. quieter on an end unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank emptywallet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boyne Falls
13.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Petoskey
13.9 mi away
@ Michigan Inn & Lodge
@ Michigan Inn & Lodge
#7 of 15 in Petoskey
752 reviews
14.6 mi away
The Apple Tree Inn
The Apple Tree Inn
#5 of 15 in Petoskey
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gaylord
14.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Petoskey
1.2 mi away
Boyne Mountain Resort
Boyne Mountain Resort
#1 of 4 in Boyne Falls
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Run at Boyne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Run at Boyne

Address: 3230 Mountain Edge Rd, Boyne Falls, MI 49713-9508
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Charlevoix County > Boyne Falls
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Boyne Falls
Price Range: $179 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 190
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Mountain Run at Boyne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Run At Boyne Hotel Boyne Falls
Mountain Run Boyne
Mountain Run At Boyne Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing