We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun for Families”

Avalanche Bay Indoor Waterpark
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Opens May 2005.
Chatham, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fun for Families”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We paid about $104.00 for a family of 3 for the day at the waterpark. It was not too busy while we were there so wait times for rides was not an issue. They have something for every age and the bigger slides would be fun for any brave 4 or 5 year old. ( as long as they don't mind dark tunnels) There was an adults only hot tub as well as a family hot tub. The place does look a little worn but it doesn't dampen the fun. It's no Great Wolf Lodge or Kalahari but is a nice alternative to skiing or the other outdoor activities around.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jackie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    108
    34
    11
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gaylord, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good indoor water park”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Very nice and warm inside, warm water, nice surf area. Lots of food choices. Great spot to hand on a rainy or cold day.

Helpful?
1 Thank tseidell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Blanc, Michigan, USA
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Bachelor Party Stop”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

For my brothers bachelor party we spent a couple hours at Avalanche Bay and it was awesome. I am twenty three and most the guys at this party were late twenties early thirties and we all had an absolute blast. We spent awhile palying some serious competitive basketball in their pools which are equiped with many hoops, we also raced down their slide race and spent time going down some of the biggest indoor waterpark slides in Michigan. This place is a riot and it doesnt matter age it is family friendly but it is also for adults with a bar and a lazy river.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank TravelingCode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great way for the kids to wind down after skiing.”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

If you have been to Great Wolf lodge, this place will feel very familiar. The staff was nice and friendly, things were clean enough where they needed to be, and there was even available food there in case you needed a snack.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Russ L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Decent value”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Avalanche Bay is a little pricey, as with most indoor water parks in a tourist area. Overall it was a good time for the money. The tube slides were a lot of fun. We just visited today (off season) and it wasn't busy at all, so there were no waits for anything.

I wouldn't bring a child between the age of 3 & 5, because $25 is a lot to pay to play in a kiddie pool. There are plenty of local pools and splash pads around my hometown for much cheaper.

Overall it was a fun day for my two year old, but would have been a waste if she was 3 and we had to pay for her addmisson.

Helpful?
3 Thank simhap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Avalanche Bay Indoor Waterpark also viewed

Boyne Falls, Charlevoix County
 
Boyne Falls, Charlevoix County
Boyne Falls, Charlevoix County
 

Been to Avalanche Bay Indoor Waterpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing