We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love this place. Look no further” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brown Trout & Falls Motels

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Boyne Falls
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Brown Trout & Falls Motels
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Boyne Falls
St Johns MI
Level Contributor
1 review
“Love this place. Look no further”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2009

Boyne mountain is less than 2 miles from this gem. The knotty pine rooms feel like up north should. I have a microwave, coffee and maker and a refridgerator. Everything I need to save $$ and pack my food daily to grill out on the slopes at one of the warming huts.

My favorite thing is check in is quick and I park right outside my room. Ez in and out. It's so close I can come and go to the mountain as I please.

Always clean and comfortable. The owners are really helpful and know the area well. There are things to do year round and they have recomeeded some great sights and area restarants.

There is an EZ mart gas station across the street and 3 restarants right there on the perimeter. Betty's across the street, open for breakfast and they make a great Farmers omlette real deal.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SallyJoStJohns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    5
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
2
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Macomb, MI
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2008

We decided to stay at The Brown Trout/Boyne Falls because it is right next to the mountain. Did some skiing and had a great time. It was nice to come back to such a great place....
loved the main halls with tables to drink your morning cup of coffee, while taking in the views. Also, the community kitchen was awesome!!! It felt like a home away from home. Where else could you get the munchies at 2 a.m. and throw a pizza or some poppers in the oven. We will definitely be going back. If you plan to go to the area for some skiing, hunting or just to get away, I highly reccomend the Brown Trout\Boyne Falls. It doesn't get any better.

  • Liked — kitchen, acess to ski area
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TinaNRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2008

We stayed at the Brown Trout Motel at the end of February. It was a beautiful weekend and from our room we could see Boyne Mountain and the skiers coming down the mountain.
The owners, Laura and Gary, are very knowledgeable of the area and were very helpful when it came to restaurants and shopping.
We have stayed at the Brown Trout several times and have brought friends and family to stay there also. We will definitely stay again in the near future.

KK, Canton

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank katkCanton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
farmington hills
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2007

Susan Bergamo, Farmington Hills MI 9/21/07
Stayed in a room on the back side of the motel and what a view!
You can see Boyne mountain, a big pond, which have ducks and even a few swans, and big beautiful trees. Sitting outside Saturday afternoon was so peaceful. You don't even need to drive anywhere once you get there. There is a great restaurant across the street to eat at and next door there is a cute little bar that has a down home attmosphere. I spent the weekend there and when I got back I felt like I had just been to Tennessee for the weekend, except without the long drive. I recommend this motel to anyone who wants to get away and relax or ski in the day and have fun at night.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
Thank Angelina67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden City, MI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2007

Everytime I come to Boyne Falls, I always stay at the Brown Trout Motel. The accomodations are great and I can bring my dog. The owners (Gary & Laura) treat me just like family and they are great with my dog. I highly recommend all families, friends and pets to stay at the Brown Trout.


Gloria - Garden City, MI

  • Liked — Friendly and clean rooms
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Gloria-GardenCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, MI
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2007

A couple of my friends and I needed to get away for a few days to get "unstressed" after working everyday and dealing with family and personal issues. We decided to go to the Brown Trout Motel in Boyne Falls. It was a great experience. The owners Laura and Gary made us feel like family. We had nice clean, quiet rooms to stay in; a very good restaurant to dine at and even a local Pub where everyone was very friendly and service was great. All, I might add, at very affordable prices and within walking distance. The view of Boyne Mountain was wonderful and the Casino was only about 20 minutes away. Brown Trout Motel will be my motel choice when coming to Northern Michigan in the future. Linda - Belleville, Michigan

  • Liked — Extremely Clean Rooms
  • Disliked — Rooms were small, but fine for 1 or two people.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Syberkatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2007

I stay at the motel for the first time in April. It was the opening of trout season and my fiances family go to the Boyne Falls area every year. We went for the first time with my parents. I booked a regular room with 2 double beds. The room for Friday and Saturday night was $64/night and that is pretty cheap to me. When we arrived we actually recieved a room with two double beds and each bed was in a seperate room. The rooms were a little small- but not bad. Its in a great area. Waling distance for 2 restaurants and a mini mart. We basically walked everyhwere to eat and stuff. It located by water and park. You can walk to both and fish or let your kids play.
The only downfall is there isn't much to do. You have to drive to Petosky or other close cities to really be entertained.
There is a indoor pool and hot tub at the motel. The pool was luke warm.. and the hot tub was pretty hot- however I could of had warmer. It was perfect. It's an older motel. But its comfortable to sleep and relax a little bit. I would stay there again!
Ohh also the owner of the motel is extremely nice, and she even told us we could check out 2 hours later is we wanted because it was the slow season.

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
Thank JenAusty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boyne Falls
13.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Petoskey
13.4 mi away
@ Michigan Inn & Lodge
@ Michigan Inn & Lodge
#5 of 15 in Petoskey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
14.6 mi away
Stafford's Perry Hotel
Stafford's Perry Hotel
#2 of 15 in Petoskey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
The Apple Tree Inn
The Apple Tree Inn
#7 of 15 in Petoskey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
15.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 15 in Petoskey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
0.7 mi away
Boyne Mountain Resort
Boyne Mountain Resort
#1 of 4 in Boyne Falls
3.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brown Trout & Falls Motels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brown Trout & Falls Motels

Property: Brown Trout & Falls Motels
Address: 2510 Nelson Ave, Boyne Falls, MI 49713-9809
Location: United States > Michigan > Charlevoix County > Boyne Falls
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Boyne Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are family owned and operated, The Brown Trout Motel and The Falls Motel are located a half mile north of Boyne Mountain's Ski Resort and Avalanche Bay Water Park's entrance on the same side of US-131. We have refrigerators in all of our rooms, and we have Wi-Fi. There are so many things to do and see up here all year around in Vacation Paradise. We have affordable and clean rooms for you and your family to relax in. Give us a call to make your reservations. We are looking forward to meeting your family! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Brown Trout Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing