We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incompetent Management”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Boyne Mountain Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Boyne Falls
Reviewed September 12, 2010

Good water park (Avalanche Bay), scenic area, very peaceful up on the mountain, but the management and staff is sub-standard. We stayed at the Edelweiss Lodge (not the main hotel) for two nights.

The first night was fine and bed was comfortable. The second night was a disaster. We had to move to another room because our second night was impromptu and we had to go to a smaller room, but the front desk promised us a rollaway bed. The rollaway bed never arrived despite repeated calls to the front desk. All we got were excuses. At 11:00 PM when the bed still did not arrive, the night manager told us there was a "security incident" in-progress and the maintenance guy was somehow involved so he could not get the bed to us. In the morning we found out the night manager basically lied as no security event had in fact occurred. There were other issues as well that suggests incompetent management and lack of excellent organizational culture. It's a shame because we had a good time until this happened.

The Vertigo in the water park is a great ride...try it. The Super-G is great too. The lazy river is great, with a nice current. No complaints about the waterpark, except that Great Wolf Lodge is bigger despite what Boyne Resorts advertises.

They keep one ski lift in operation during the summer (we were there in July), and it is a nice ride. We enjoyed walking around and hiking up on the mountain during this "off season" time. The solitude up there can be nice and eerie at the same time (we ran into an occasional mountain biker).

There are about 4 restaurants on the resort and we weren't crazy about any of them. Menu choices were all around limited without much variety.

It's debateable whether or not we'd go back.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VikGranger_IN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (463)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

432 - 438 of 463 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2010

We had an enjoyable one-night midweek stay at Clock Tower Lodge recently. Our family was there only for the waterpark, so we did not bother checking ahead of time which amenities were or were not running during our stay. No skiing, no golf for us on this trip.

I feel for folks who found out after arrival that certain things were closed during their stay, but really...do your homework before booking a vacation that costs a significant amount of money.

We knew the Clock Tower Lodge was not connected to Avalanche Bay waterpark. The weather during our stay was cool (mid 60s), so the short walk to the waterpark was no problem.

Our room was #120 -- 1st floor room with a really nice view of the pool. No access to the pool from the room, though -- just nice windows looking out on the pool and a ski lift and hill above.

We did not use the Clock Tower pool.

High speed internet (free of charge) worked fine in our room.

Our two double beds were comfortable. The pillows and mattresses felt newer, not too hard and not too soft.

Overall, the room was fairly small but more than enough for our needs.

Nice newer Sony 32" LCD TV was a pleasant touch.
Did not look at or use the fitness center.
Pizza from Trophy Room was quite tasty and reasonably priced ($17 with tax for a large).

Check-in at Mountain Grand Lodge was a bit long -- took 5-7 minutes although only 2 people in front of us. One of those was a family with young kids whose father was really giving the business to the clerk...unexpectedly canceled activities, zipline was a no-go for his son because he was too short (shame on the staff and the father for not asking the other party about this when booking over the phone).

We stayed at Mountain Grand Lodge previously -- just a 'standard' hotel room, not a suite -- and found it disappointing. Not that much of a lodge feel, just a fairly spartan-feeling newer hotel. In contrast, Clock Tower was VERY old. The room actually had a charming look and feel which we liked.

Bathroom was VERY small -- not an issue during our short stay. Shower, no bathtub.

The heating and cooling system was satisfactory for us -- it seemed to blow air conditioning for us which wasn't crucially needed any. However, reading the information card made me pretty nervous and I can see where it would be an issue during other seasons.

The room had a small sink with counter area and mini refrigerator below. This was much appreciated. A microwave would be a nice addition, but we managed without it

The restaurant in Clock Tower Lodge was not running at all during our stay, but we didn't mind.

It seemed a bit odd not having any 'front desk' personnel at the Clock Tower, but we really didn't need any assistance during our brief stay.

One of the housekeepers helpfully walked us toward the Trophy Room, which I somehow couldn't find on my own.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay at Clock Tower Lodge. For $133 including tax, our family of 4 stayed 1 night and enjoyed the waterpark on the evening of our arrival and the next day. Great value for our one last quick family trip before school started again for the fall.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank white_shoes_white
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2010

First let me say that we have traveled in various countries, in various hotel chains and resorts. This is the first time that we have felt that we have been taken. With no recourse for action.

We booked online for a waterpark package for a room. We ended up with Boynehof at the resort. An older, perhaps stylish for some, building with old charm. Upon arrival my husband wanted to change the package for just the hotel room as we realized we would do other activities while there. He was told by the front desk that no changes could be made at the front desk and that we had to call reservations once we got to our room. Odd, but okay.....He asked about pricing and of course were told to contact reservations.... Odd, but okay. He was also told that the price online was for 1 person and not 3 and that it would cost $6.00 more to add myself and our son for the waterpark package. $6.00 x 3 days x 2 people. He was told it is not that much. Okay so if it isn't that much then you swallow the $36.00. He was asked to sign on the dotted line that he understood that he was being charged for the room. Odd, but okay.

So we make our way to the room. An old, musty smelling room with an airconditioning unit that hasn't been cleaned in who knows how long. That makes more noise than a freight train and also the room had no towels or pillows for our son. This room is supposed to be for 2 and it has a pull out couch. Odd, but okay. Furthermore when we booked we were told there would be internet connection in our room. It didn't work. When we contacted the guest services we were told that IT and AT&T was working on it. Funny during our stay we realized that the staff all had internet, it was available in the lobby and other parts of the hotel but not in the outbuildings. My husband being in the computer field made note that it would be very likely that the buildings were not available not because of a malfunction but more than likely because it had been turned off. During our entire 3 night 4 day stay the internet did not work in the room. I'd fire their IT guy.

So we contact reservations. They instruct us that they will change the waterpark package for the room. They tell us it is $10.00 less.

On the second day of our arrival the toilet overflows and literally pours water into the bathroom and soaks the carpet. Maintenance is contacted and they unclog the toilet and clean the floor with tissue. No room change. Too bad for you. So we wear our shoes and hop over the water in the carpet.

Upon check out there are discrepancies in the billing. We also noted that the normal room only fare was $40.00 cheaper than they charged us. Not only was the room billed at the same rate as we booked online (which included taxes) but it now had 15% in taxes added to the price of the room. So they try to tell us that a room alone is more expensive than a booked package with waterpark and continue to back pedal for at least 15 minutes. No one told us that by removing anything would be more expensive. Who does that? Also we noted that the room had been $40.00 cheaper than our price and of course there was nothing they could do. At that time we had noticed 3 different prices for the same room. Stupid.

The hotel was terrible. The staff was less than accommodating. The grounds are well kept and we did every activity we could while there. The zipline adventure is very fun and the staff that run it are quite knowledgable and friendly. The bike rental was very good as well. We did the 18 hole disc golf amd walked up the mountain twice. The lift does run but not in the mornings. We went to the outdoor movie presentation, the campfire complete with smores and had meals at the various restaurants available. So in the end it was how we made the vacation fun but we were all glad to leave that hotel room.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bresco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2010

I came to Boyne Mtn Resort for a conference…..Let me begin with the good point...the housekeeping staff was very pleasant.

That said, from the moment I arrived at check in the experience went down hill (no pun intended). I was immediately informed that check in was at 5 PM, have you ever seen that before? The front desk staff was not only un-obliging as the room I requested was not what I got, but they were extremely rude and impolite especially the front desk supervisor! Room décor was circa 1800’s (perhaps some think this charming?) the only place to sit in my room was one club chair and a pine chair which was the original proto type for the electric chair.

Having spent time as a Banquet Chef I found the food, completely uneatable! The chef and his staff should be immediately replaced if there is ever any hope for improvement; we ended up having to go off property for most meals (after paying for the meals in the conference).

The conference facilities were not conveniently laid out; they were in multiple buildings and not very good. The workout facilities were only the most basic poor equiptment.

Upon check out (posted for 11 AM) I requested a 1 hour extension until noon, so I could change clothes and finish packing. Once again the only word this resort is aware of is NO!

All the previous poor reviews mirror my experience….perhaps if you have no other options as a family you might go here, but honestly I work to hard for my money to spend it here since there are other options in the beautiful part of Michigan.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank msm856
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2010

I spent 5 days in July with a large family group including 6 young children and one very senior citizen. We all had a great time. We stayed in Disciples Court town houses. They were clean, well-stocked and well-laid out, although we did see ants in one of the three houses. There was a lot to do at and around the resort. The kids loved the water park and the tennis courts. We rode the ski lift just for run. There are trails for mountain biking and you can rent bikes right there. The young kids loved the lake -- it's extremely shallow so they can roam a great distance. We took the shuttle bus to the lake. The service was slow, but we weren't in a hurry and it was helpful not to have to drive our cars. There main lawn had some games out and the kids enjoyed playing them. Sadly, there isn't much space for playing around the town houses -- you have to go to the main lawn. So if you're planning to play sports with the family, there isn't really a good place for that. The main restaurants were OK -- great breakfast, great salads, so-so entrees, good range of food for kids. The service was slow, but not more so than in comparable resorts we have been to. Everyone was very friendly, even if they weren't able to provide high-class service. There was also a higher-quality restaurant on the resort at the base of the ski lift which seems to be run separately. Our kids are dying to go back, mostly because of the water park. I think it was a great place for families.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MisnamedRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2010

This was a group of 12 women on a golf outing. We paid $164 each for 2 nights and 2 rounds of golf. We stayed at the Mountain Villas (alphabet condos) which have 3 bedrooms. 2 bedrooms have 2 double beds each and the third has 1 double bed. Check in is at 6:00 pm, but they let us check in at 11:00 am with no problems. Gave each one of us a room key and each driver a pass with the key code because the Mountain Villas are gated.

We golfed at the Alpine on Friday afternoon, tee times 2:30, but we started early as there was nobody in front of us. Saturday we golfed at Monument, tee time 1:30, but started before 1:00 because the course was empty. There was nobody behind us and nobody in front of us, the courses were very empty. I think all the northern resorts are doing poorly as I seen this last year also.

Both courses start at the top of Boyne Mountain, so it takes about 15 minutes to get there by golf cart. Then you golf all the way down the mountain. Monument is beautiful, at times it was intimidating. Alpine is a very nice course, but not reak challenging.

There is a shuttle you can take to the Casino in Petoskey, just call the lodge about 20 minutes before you want to leave. There is also a shuttle on the resort property that will take you anywhere on the resort. This resort is huge and the shuttle is great if you're drinking.

Housekeeping does not come to the condo unless you call them. We had to call for new towels and toilet paper the second day. We had 2 lower units side by side and neither had enough towels. One didn't have any soap to wash dishes.

It was an ok resort, and for the price we paid, we could put up with the little things that were'nt quite up to snuff.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IrishGirll488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2010

For the amount of money you pay the experience was horrible. I went with my mom for a spa weekend. Our stay was from Friday, March 19 to Sunday, March 21. The reservation staff was less than helpful when trying to book the room. Upon arriving there was no valet nor was the front desk staff helpful. We had booked a room in the Clock Tower Lodge which is the original lodge. Pics of the damage to the room are attached. This lodge also has real keys not the electronic cards. The heating and cooling system is ancient so the room got up to 87 degrees at one point. I got up to turn it to cool thinking the air would kick in. Nope, turning it to cool and setting the thermostat to 65 made the heat kick in. The hottest it got was 90 degrees at which point I found information on the heating and cooling system (pic attached) that states the only way to cool the room is to open a window. Thankfully we were on the second floor for safety concerns. The hotel front desk at check in gave us a passcode to enter for the gate at the parking lot for the lodge. I asked if there was a security guard. I was told there was one wandering the grounds. Never saw him nor did we need the passcode since the gate was constantly open. When we tried to check out it took two minutes for the front desk clerk to assist us even though there was no one else waiting. Most of the staff doesn't want to be there or care about you. That's very evident. They also have if you look at the website something called the Boyne Bed. It's very hard and not comfortable at all. My mom couldn't sleep the first night with the heat issue and the bed being so hard.

The positives of the resort. There is a man named Roger who assist visitor of the Clock Tower Lodge who is amazing and very knowledgeable of the area. Boyne needs to clone him! The resort is very family friendly. At least on Friday and Saturday nights there are two family movies as well as a campfire with smores from 6-8 pm. The food at Everett's was amazing. Very gourmet Northern comfort food. The food at Pierson's was good too but you have to put up with drunks.

The spa here is amazing. More expensive than what a normal massage is but the service and atmosphere are great.

  • Stayed: March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole_GR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boyne Falls
13.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Petoskey
14.1 mi away
The Apple Tree Inn
The Apple Tree Inn
#6 of 15 in Petoskey
470 reviews
14.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Petoskey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
Stafford's Perry Hotel
Stafford's Perry Hotel
#1 of 15 in Petoskey
857 reviews
21.2 mi away
Boyne Highlands Resort
Boyne Highlands Resort
#2 of 4 in Harbor Springs
291 reviews
14.8 mi away
Inn at Bay Harbor, Autograph Collection Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boyne Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boyne Mountain Resort

Address: 1 Boyne Mountain Rd, Boyne Falls, MI 49713-9642
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Charlevoix County > Boyne Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Boyne Falls
Price Range: $132 - $415 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Boyne Mountain Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Things happen at Boyne Mountain. If you've been here, you know. If you haven't, take our word. We understand how to have fun. And not just the kind of fun people talk about at work on Monday morning - but the kind that keeps you smiling to yourself all week long. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Boyne Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boyne Mountain Hotel Boyne Falls
Boyne Mountain Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing