We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avoid Boyne Mountain Resort” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Boyne Mountain Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Boyne Mountain Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Boyne Falls
michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Avoid Boyne Mountain Resort”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2008

We rented 9 rooms in one of the more reasonably priced (225.00 per night) onsite hotels, recently. The place needs remodeling, to be nice.

First of all, beware of sales/reservation staff making false promises. Be sure that your confirmation email or letter states all of the terms and conditions of your stay you discussed with their cheery, peppy reps. Review this statement.

Second, the service is the worst. I value reviews on Trip Advisor and would not make a seriously negative comment unless it were true.

Third, do not waste your money here. Stay at one of the very cool places outside "Boyne Mountain Resort' area. They are all over the place and we regretted not knowing about them sooner.

I would love to hear from others who have experienced the same lax service and accomodations we did. We tried to get what we bargained for but the staff will tell you anything (no kidding) to make you go away! Don't even show up.

The place is seriously bad--the runs waaaayyy too short--and the onsite food is the worst. This is no joke.

Helpful?
3 Thank noshirt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    138
    53
    47
    33
See reviews for
210
58
5
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2008

We stayed at Clock Tower Lodge between Christmas and New Years. Overall, it is an okay place for families with beginner skiers. Specific comments are below.

* Rates increase dramatically during the holidays. They add "resort fees" and other charges as well.
* Rooms at Clock Tower Lodge are very small. The two beds occupy majority of the room. No place to keep skis in the room.
* Food at Mountain Grand Lodge was good.
* Mountain Grand Lodge had a nice fitness center, outdoor winter heated pool and hot tubs - available for use by ONLY guests of the Grand Lodge.
* Clock Tower Lodge has a very small fitness center, an outdoor winter heated pool and hot tub - which are used by all other resort guests. Pool is not sufficiently heated and hot tub is very crowded.
* Downhill skiing consists of many green runs. Only a few blue runs and a few more black runs. Rental equipment was in good condition.
* Nordic skiing seems to be a secret on the premises. I asked the front desk, ski school, ski instructors, ski valet and others about nordic conditions and trail maps; none knew where I could get such info. Finally I found a manager who referred me to the "nordic center" across the street from the resort. There are 35k of poorly groomed trails. A large portion of the trails are on the various golf courses. DON'T GO HERE IF YOU EXPECT GOOD NORTHWOODS X-COUNTRY SKIING.

  • Liked — Proximity to ski hill
  • Disliked — Room was too small.
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Reimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2007

This is a wonderful place to relax and have a pleasant family vacation with lots of things to do onsite, and nearby Petoskey. Had a family reunion, booked several rooms at the Mountain Grand resort and spa. Glad we didn't book the mountain villas or clocktower- looked depressing compared to the resort which had Avalanche Bay waterpark attached- couldn't get more convenient for family fun ($25.00/houseguest rate). Kids didn't want to leave the waterpark. A short drive up the mountain to a beautiful lake with activities like kayaking (freeee!!) I felt we were able to fit a lot into a 4 day stay. Onsite pool fantastic (indoor/out). Sunday arrival: room not ready yet...sat by pool, enjoyed a cocktail and a complementary chair massage. What a way to start vacation. Hotel fell all over themselves helping us with paper plates, utensils for our big reunion dinner in the suite. They know service-felt like we were on a cruise or something. The rooms were all fantastic, clean and most had balconies with views. Mom had the suite with separate bedroom (Cortina suite) full kitchen and 2 baths. Foldout sofa comfy with great pillows and down blanket. This is 5 star accomodations. Spent some time shopping the Petoskey area-no malls, just quaint shops and boutiques, resale, restaraunts. I cannot say enough about this stay except we'll be back!!!
Traveler tip: Contact hotel and ask for a copy of the room layouts. They have eight styles with several sub categories so you can choose the one that fits your family situation. This was an invaluable tool for us.

  • Liked — the beautiful room
  • Disliked — choices for onsite shopping limited. the village could be expanded to include more variety
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank vegasdreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkley, Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2007

I have stayed at this hotel twice now and just love it. The bell staff is great, the front desk is never so great but I don't care as long as I get what I paid for. They aren't even really that bad, just seem to not be happy doing what they are doing. They need to remember that they are on stage and need to pretend to love their jobs and make faces or act apathetic when they are behind the scenes. That is my only suggention. The rooms are fantastic. The whole resort is cool so I can't pick one thing that I like the most. If you can afford it, I do reccomend that you stay at the main lodge unless you get a cabin. It is really clean, the beds are super comfy and the decor is so cozy. The pool and hot tubs are nice and never too full. The ski prices are good, the food is excellent throughout. I sell for well known boutique hotel and have high expectations. This hotel really does it right, except for the front desk. Oh and if you have kids, the waterpark and game room look really cool.

  • Liked — The rooms
  • Disliked — The front desk staff
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WellTraveledCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Mi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2006

OK, we visited in the first week of November. It cost about 1,000 dollars for the room for 2 nights. We booked the 3 bedroom suite. All plasma TV's, Jacuzzi, Balconi, Fireplace, very beautiful. Had a fully equipped kitchen. The Beds/Pillows are to die for.

Checked in, went to our room, they had one bedroom locked off so we couldn't even get it. Doors were not even afixed to their hinges yet, and we found a mouse in our room....yes the mouse was the worst thing about the trip. I did recommend excellent on this review b/c I felt the management handled the situation great, and fixed the problem immediately. They upgraded our room. We did not have to pay for any of it, and they also called us back to stay on Thanksgiving week/end for free as well.

This is a great place, even if you don't ski. Its really beautiful, inside and out. The avalanche bay waterpark is one of the best in Michigan, indoors atleast. They have snack bar, tons of different things to do, arcade, etc...kids love it.

  • Stayed November 2005, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Oliviaethanowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, AZ
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2006

Because it was the grand opening, we managed to get a great deal on a room at Boyne Mountain Resort in July 2005. For $225 for the weekend, my boyfriend, his daughter, and I got 3 days, 2 nights in an above-average room in the Eidleweiss Inn plus free buffet breakfast and passes for both days to the Indoor Waterpark. I'm not sure what the resort charges now, but I would bet it's gone up in price.
We had a great time during our visit and would recommend it to anyone. We have plans to visit again soon in the wintertime when their ski resort opens.

Helpful?
2 Thank jetskiwr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, SC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2005

My family and I visited Boyne Falls recently and had a wonderful time. The leaves were superb, the weather was just what we wanted [nice and cool, a break from our southern swelter].

When in the area, don't miss stopping in at the Boyne Bakery, one block off the "main drag"; great home-made bakery... lots of variety and very friendly service from the baker.

We can't wait to return to thte area.

Helpful?
5 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boyne Falls
13.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Petoskey
13.5 mi away
@ Michigan Inn & Lodge
@ Michigan Inn & Lodge
#5 of 15 in Petoskey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
14.2 mi away
The Apple Tree Inn
The Apple Tree Inn
#7 of 15 in Petoskey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Petoskey
14.8 mi away
Stafford's Perry Hotel
Stafford's Perry Hotel
#2 of 15 in Petoskey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bluegreen Vacations Mountain Run at Boyne, an  Ascend Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boyne Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boyne Mountain Resort

Property: Boyne Mountain Resort
Address: 1 Boyne Mountain Rd, Boyne Falls, MI 49713-9642
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Charlevoix County > Boyne Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Boyne Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Boyne Mountain Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Things happen at Boyne Mountain. If you've been here, you know. If you haven't, take our word. We understand how to have fun. And not just the kind of fun people talk about at work on Monday morning - but the kind that keeps you smiling to yourself all week long. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Boyne Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boyne Mountain Hotel Boyne Falls
Boyne Mountain Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing