We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food!!”
Review of Porter Creek Fish House - CLOSED

Porter Creek Fish House
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Description: Located inside the beautiful Sommerset Pointe Yacht Club & Marina, just 5 minutes from downtown Boyne City and 10 minutes from downtown East Jordan. Everyone welcome! We are dedicated to serving the freshest fish and locally sourced ingredients to provide to you with an exquisite dining experience, including an unparalleled view of beautiful Lake Charlevoix and Sommerset Pointe's Marina. Happy Hour 4-6 weekdays.
Reviewed June 20, 2014

We had a table of four and started out with the charcuterie tray of VERY tasty artisan sausage slices, mustard, peppadew slices, caramelized onion jam, and other tid bits and were very pleased. We also had the calamari which was plentiful and tender. Two of us had the ABC wrap. Apples (granny smith), Bacon ( with a not overpowering jalapeno kick) and chicken slices, one hamburger and a wedge salad. We all had so much fun sampling everything and it was just delicious! The few was great, the staff was friendly and professional. Finally found someplace in Boyne City where I would be excited to dine at!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank LMBRYAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David F, Public Relations Manager at Porter Creek Fish House, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2014

Thank you for your review of Porter Creek Fish House. We are very happy that you enjoyed your visit with us, and we are especially happy that you were satisfied with your dining choices. Not only are we doing our best to improve your dining experience with us, we are dedicated to seeing that your entire experience with us is one that will bring you back to see us again. We hope to see you this summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (39)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 39 of 39 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

I am not big on poor reviews but this was a disappointment.
Let me start by saying people looked like they were having fun . Good music and a full place. But don't go if you want to talk with people you are dinning with, very very loud. Food was way over priced for the quality and portions. 85 dollars for two sandwiches, a salad , a kids meal and a drink a piece.
Too many good places in the area to want to try again!
Good news is the wine pour was good.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank mackswim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David F, Public Relations Manager at Porter Creek Fish House, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2014

We are very sorry you didn't enjoy your visit to Porter Creek Fish house. As a representative, I invite you to try us again this year. We are working to make Porter Creek Fish House a regular restaurant for you and for many people in this area . Also, thank you for your comment. I appreciate that you took time to express your opinion. We like any business always need to be better at what we do.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

Hot, noisy, and slow. Missed ordering a drink because the waitress could not hear over the live entertainment. Took10 minutes to get her back. Burgers good, sweet potato fries good, tuna way over-cooked, fries undercooked, wines by the glass weak, and I am worried about the finances since A/C was set at about 82. Choice of last resort for me, but it was very busy, so some must like it. Order the burger. Only 3 oysters on the po' boy.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank thomps97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David F, Public Relations Manager at Porter Creek Fish House, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2014

We are extremely sorry that your experience with us wasn't very good. We hope you try us once more this year as we have made it a mission to be better at service. We understand that your dining experience is directly related to you wanting to return. We have also been discussing and looking for solution to our sound issue. Thank you for your comments, your critique is very helpful.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This appears to be a new restaurant with nice indoor seating and outdoor patio seating. The food was rather inexpensive ($8ish) for a sandwich. We had the club, BLTA, calamari, salad, and wings. No complaints, and we tend to be foodies :-)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jmparker54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David F, Public Relations Manager at Porter Creek Fish House, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2014

We are very happy that you were able to enjoy Porter Creek Fish House. I hope when you were here you sat on the deck, if not, come back this year for a great experience. If you did, you know what I mean. We hope to see you again. If you have a chance, LIKE us on Facebook. You'll learn everything we're doing before you get here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

My son and daughter-in-law were visiting and wanted to take me out for a belated gift dinner. We headed to Boyne City intended for a different establishment and when we arrived we were surprised to find a festival in town and everthing packed. We had pasted the Fish House on the way in and commmented how it looked interesting and not super busy. It is a newer establishment and I knew nothing about it , however we agreed we would give it a try. What a stroke of luck. We were seated immediately, and our server arrived quickly. He was very knowledgeable and pleasant. We ordered drinks and appetizers. Three of us split Calamari and one had soup. Soup was potato, leek, bacon and blue cheese soup. It was creamy and outstanding. The calamari was fried lightly, in a light coating. Extremely tender, drizzly with an aioli that added a bit of zip. The entrees ranged from fish tacos, pan fried in caribbean sauce, chicken sandwich and lobster mac'n cheese. All the entrees were excellently presented, generous portions and well prepared. We all commented that we will return again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David F, Public Relations Manager at Porter Creek Fish House, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2014

Thank you for your visit last year. We hope to see you again this year. Thank you for your comments, we are very happy you enjoyed your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Porter Creek Fish House also viewed

Boyne City, Charlevoix County
Boyne City, Charlevoix County
 
Boyne City, Charlevoix County
Boyne City, Charlevoix County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing