We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Michigan State Park with an awesome beach”
Review of Young State Park

Young State Park
Ranked #2 of 14 things to do in Boyne City
Attraction details
Charlevoix, Michigan, USA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Michigan State Park with an awesome beach”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

I live near this state park and get the park-pass on my licence with Young State Park in mind. It has a lovely beach on Lake Charlevoix, it's an easy bike ride into Boyne City, and the rangers I've encountered are nice. It's everything a campground should be.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Robt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    21
    3
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vassar, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“BEAUTIFUL”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

This park is beautiful, Being mid September there were only about a dozen campers so it was very quiet. The staff was friendly and we could pick any site we wanted. There is one newer bath house and the showers were Hot, but had a wide spray. Hard for us short people to rinse off.
We will visit this place again , maybe eariler in the summer when there are more people and things to do. We did do alot of bike riding in the park mostly flat and easy to get around. It was fun!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
87 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great beach, nice campground”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We visited the beach and had dinner with friends who were camping. It was a great experience. I have been to the beach before and it is a nice one. I was impressed by the size of the camp sites and the number. There is more here than I was able to see and will return.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Michigan4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
50 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Camp Site”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I am an avid boater and am always on the look-out for the perfect combination of boating and camping - this comes close to perfect. Lake Charlevoix is a wonderful lake to play on, it is clean, has great beaches and is large enough to make boating interesting for a few days. The campground itself is very well maintained and clean - the bathrooms are stand-out for a campsite - very clean. The camp-store has a good mix of essentials and interesting trinkets - the kids were a big fan of the icecream cones... The camp-site beach is excellent, soft sand, gentle slope and roped in swim area keeping it safe for the little ones and a volley-ball net entertains the bigger kids. The beach makes the perfect location for sun-set cocktails. The negatives are the shallow water boat launch, I have a 20' bow rider which bumped bottom getting to and from the dock. The campsites them selves are sand rather than grass which I prefer which makes for a messier camping experience than I prefer but this is typical for a Michigan up-North camp site but they are large enough to avoid the cramped-in feeling. We are goig back for longer next year.....

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyDMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west michigan
Level Contributor
55 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great outdoor place to camp”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

It has a variety of campsites. Some seemed spacious and others squished - depends on what you camp with. Information at the booth. Camp store. Mini-lake next to the store with some educational information about the wildlife. Picnic area. Some short hiking trails through the woods and along the coast (beautiful) - all easy. Access to the beach and water with a pretty view of the Inland Lake. It's close to Boyne. It was a little confusing to navigate through the park (paved parts) - make sure you have a map. You can reserve online.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank dsoccer2287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Young State Park also viewed

 
Boyne City, Charlevoix County
Boyne City, Charlevoix County
 

Been to Young State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing