We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pizza Papalis

Pizza Papalis
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Seating, Takeout
Grand Blanc
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

We were in Bloomfield Hills to visit a museum and I looked up restaurants to eat nearby. I was excited because Pizza Papalis had Chicago style pizza. I would have rather eaten at any other pizza place. It was not that great. The pepperonis were really tiny and not very tasty and the crust was crunchy when it should have been soft. I'd rather go to Guido's!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wiva34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    7
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“LOVE this pizza”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

I am a huge deep dish pizza fan...other than a pizzeria in Chicago, this place makes the best I've ever had. Just the right amount of crispiness on the bottom of the crust, fresh toppings and baked to perfection!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank findlaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
171 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Best Chicago Style pizza in Metro Detroit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

They've changed the sauce a bit giving it something a bit spicy or kick. Kind of peppery. Not really my choice, I like sweet sauce. Even so, I still love the pizza. Sauce on top, fresh tasting items (the VIP is my choice), and plenty of cheese. You'll drop twice as much or more, money then if you went to any other pizza place, but you'll get twice as much and the quality won't compare.

It is not your 'once a week' pizza, at least not for me, but when I want a high quality pizza, this is my 'go to'.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank 69-Mach1-lvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
171 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Simply Awesome Pizza!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2012

I've been to Greektown and here ... often. There's no difference in the pizza.

Excellent, thick, rich pizza. I've never had pizza from Chicago, but, this is by far, the thickest pizza I've ever had, a true PIE. All in reverse order: toppings, then chees, then sauce, then spices. If you have had Keish, the pie is that tall.

We get a Medium for me, wife, and 2 toddlers. There's leftovers for the next day. Wife eats 1 slice, me 3. About a 1/3 is left over.

But bring the wallet. A medium VIP will run you north of $20. Not an every week pizza. Check full menu with prices on their web site: wwww.pizzapapalis.com And FYI, the name of the place does not have any spaces in it. They capitalize the second P which probably threw the original poster off.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 69-Mach1-lvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
76 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Delicious Chicago-style deep dish pizza outside of Chicago!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2012

I don't understand why this place hasn't been reviewed in such a long time, but the deep dish was deelilcious!! Husband and I came here recently for the first time, and considering that our first visit was a few months back at the original Greektown location, we were hoping for the same wonderful experience.

We ordered a medium deep dish with spinach, chicken breast, garlic, and onions ($27.42). It was pretty big, but we anticipated this, but man, I didn't realize that it would be so heavy! That sucker was filled! Anyway, we took it to go (as it was getting close to quittin' time for the staff) and on the drive home, both Husband and I commented on how lovely it smelled. We really couldn't wait to dig in!

Opening the box, the smell was awesome. We really appreciated the craftmanship of the pizza. The one we had in Detroit was a little sloppier in execution (granted that it was a much larger one), but what really stood out about tonight's pizza was that the crust wasn't burnt and it was not mushy. The toppings proportion to sauce, cheese and crust was well-balanced so you never felt like you were eating just crust and tomato sauce. The sprinkling of parmesan cheese on top was a nice addition to the overall flavor of ingredients.

In the end, we will definitely be coming back to this location, as it is not as far of a drive for us compared to the original Greektown location. Service was still great even though we picked it up 15 minutes to closing time. Ingredients tasted fresh and the chicken breast wasn't dry or rubbery. Next time, we will probably just dine in.

So, if you're in a mood for Chicago-style deep dish pizza, hop on over here! You won't leave hungry!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tycl516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pizza Papalis also viewed

 
Bloomfield Hills, MI
 
Bloomfield Hills, MI
Bloomfield Hills, MI
 

Been to Pizza Papalis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing