We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel, exceptional service!”
Review of The Townsend Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Townsend Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 17, 2014

This hotel is a true 5 star! We had exceptional service from Adrienne for reservations, Jason at the front desk and Reggie our bellman and would go back in a heartbeat! The rooms were beautiful, staff was extremely nice and the room service was delicious!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindsay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven K, Managing Director at The Townsend Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Dear Lindsay D,

Thank you for your staying with us on your trip to Southeast Michigan!

We certainly appreciate your kind words on Jason at Reception and Reggie our Bellman and the positive feedback with your In-Room Dining experience.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to "walkable" Birmingham,MI and The Townsend Hotel!

Sincerely,

Steven Kalczynski
Managing Director
The Townsend Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (899)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

745 - 751 of 899 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2014

Go every year for a nice weekend of shopping. Always pleased with the staff and the hotel as a whole. Utilized their room service menu the entire weekend and even had bubbly delivered. Everyone there is absolutely charming and professional. The etiquette and behavior of the staff is in no way a coincidence, it comes from serious training and performance standards, and I for one, notice it and appreciate it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miafioso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven K, Managing Director at The Townsend Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Dear Miafioso,

Thank you for staying with us!

We appreciate your business and your kind words and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Steven Kalczynski
Managing Director
The Townsend Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

From the time you arrive at the Townsend to the moment the valet closes your car door, the staff at the Townsend can't do enough to ensure your stay is perfect. The hotel is not as convenient to highways which would make my travels a little easier, but the cleanliness, comfort and well appointmented rooms make up for that. The turndown service was a very welcome surprise and the willingness of every member of the staff to offer assistance was impressive. The Rugby restaurant in the hotel was okay, as the service was again excellent but the food left a bit to be desired, especially for the cost. Do not order the burger, might have been the worst I've ever had including fast food. All things considered, I don't believe there's a better place to stay in the Detroit suburbs.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rusig96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven K, Managing Director at The Townsend Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Dear rusig96,

Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to The Townsend Hotel. I was pleased to read of your kind comments that you were very satisfied with our overall service and facility during your stay.

I was indeed sorry to hear of your dissatisfaction with your burger. It is certainly not consistent with what our food quality is known for and try to maintain.

Should you return, please contact me personally so I can make amends!

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Townsend Hotel.

Sincerely,

Steven Kalczynski
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

My husband and I went to The Townsend for our anniversary. The front desk was helpful making dinner suggestions and then proceeded to even make reservations for us. When we returned there was a split of champagne and chocolate covered strawberries in our room.
Very clean, great service, a bit pricey for rooms and they charge $25 a day for parking. All and all it was a great experience, but we won't be doing it again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heidi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven K, Managing Director at The Townsend Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2014

Thank you for your kind comments! We are delighted you had a great stay!

Steven Kalczynski
Managing Director
The Townsend Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

I was here for 5 days on business, staying in a suite. My only complaint is that it was difficult to maintain the room temperature (too cold), despite the hotel's attempts to address the problem. The room was lovely though - spacious, clean, very comfortable bed, nice amenities. The service was excellent - housekeeping, doormen, restaurant staff, front desk...all uniformly pleasant and helpful. The food in the restaurant was decent...not outstanding, but a solid meal with no complaints. I would stay here again any time I'm in the area.

Room Tip: ask for an upgrade to a suite if possible. the extra space is worth it, especially if you're st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MomWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven K, Managing Director at The Townsend Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2014

Dear MomWisconsin,

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent stay.

I do apologize for the inability to meet your room temperature expectations. It has been an unexpected cold winter but I am sorry we were not able to resolve this.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Townsend!

Sincerely,

Steven Kalczynski
Managing Director
The Townsend Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

The Townsend is a wonderful hotel. The public spaces are elegant, the restaurant is very good, and the staff was very friendly and attentive. My room was very large and comfortable too. And though I did not have time on this trip to sample local attractions, it is worth noting that Birmingham is nice, and there are a number of shops and restaurants within walking distance.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven K, Managing Director at The Townsend Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2014

Dear SueBthetraveler,

Thank you for staying at The Townsend and your kind comments regarding your stay and experiences,

On your next trip you do indeed need to get out and try "walkable" Birmingham!

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,

Steven Kalczynski
Managing Director
The Townsend Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

At $360 a night, plus taxes, you pay for the Internet and get a bottle of pump soap that other guests have used in your room! Seriously! We are disappointed with this hotel. When we called to ask why with a suite we still had to pay $10 for the Internet, we had to deal with a very rude female answering the phone. Dinner at the Rugby Grille was $350 for two, extremely overpriced. Maybe because this hotel is used by away professional sports teams, or because they are in Birmingham, not sure but they could use some lessons from the Ritz Carlton!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Suebthetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven K, Managing Director at The Townsend Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Dear Suebthetraveler,

Thank you for staying with us on your recent trip to "walkable" Birmingham and The Townsend Hotel.

I certainly apologize regarding the rudeness of our associate when you called to inquire on your luxury suite and the inclusion of the internet charge. This type of service is certainly not indicative of the fine service we are known for and try to maintain. Our associate should have explained to you that internet is available on a complimentary basis in our Business Center but we do charge in our guest rooms for an upgraded service.

Regarding your dining in the Rugby Grille Restaurant, even though we are on par with other fine dining restaurants in the area in regards to price, I do hope your experience on the food and beverage you received was to your satisfaction.

I would certainly be interested in more details if you wish to reach out to me directly. I can be contacted by calling the Townsend.

I thank you again for staying with us and look forward to the opportunity of speaking with you.

Sincerely,

Steven Kalczynski
Managing Director
The Townsend Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express-Birmingham
2.9 mi away
Candlewood Suites Detroit - Troy
17.2 mi away
Detroit Foundation Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Rochester
473 reviews
16.7 mi away
Aloft Detroit at The David Whitney
2.1 mi away
Somerset Inn
Somerset Inn
#10 of 17 in Troy
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Townsend Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Townsend Hotel

Address: 100 Townsend St, Birmingham, MI 48009-6068
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range: $333 - $445 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Townsend Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Townsend Hotel is a gem of European modern luxury, tucked away amidst the pleasing parks, sophisticated designer shops and nationally acclaimed art galleries of Birmingham, Michigan just 20 minutes north of Detroit, Michigan, 15 minutes to Auburn Hills, ten minutes to Troy amd ten minutes to Bloomfield Hills. Exquisitely appointed Guest Rooms & Suites welcome you with fine furnishings, luxurious Frette beds & linens, marble bathrooms, Evolve Lighting System, Bose radios & the calm & privacy of a quiet suburban location. Our staff delivers gracious, thoughtful and personalized service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Townsend Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Townsend Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing