We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, ideal location”
Review of The Townsend Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Townsend Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 31, 2014

I was here for 5 days on business, staying in a suite. My only complaint is that it was difficult to maintain the room temperature (too cold), despite the hotel's attempts to address the problem. The room was lovely though - spacious, clean, very comfortable bed, nice amenities. The service was excellent - housekeeping, doormen, restaurant staff, front desk...all uniformly pleasant and helpful. The food in the restaurant was decent...not outstanding, but a solid meal with no complaints. I would stay here again any time I'm in the area.

Room Tip: ask for an upgrade to a suite if possible. the extra space is worth it, especially if you're st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MomWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven K, Managing Director at The Townsend Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2014

Dear MomWisconsin,

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent stay.

I do apologize for the inability to meet your room temperature expectations. It has been an unexpected cold winter but I am sorry we were not able to resolve this.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Townsend!

Sincerely,

Steven Kalczynski
Managing Director
The Townsend Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (946)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

796 - 802 of 946 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2014

The Townsend is a wonderful hotel. The public spaces are elegant, the restaurant is very good, and the staff was very friendly and attentive. My room was very large and comfortable too. And though I did not have time on this trip to sample local attractions, it is worth noting that Birmingham is nice, and there are a number of shops and restaurants within walking distance.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven K, Managing Director at The Townsend Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2014

Dear SueBthetraveler,

Thank you for staying at The Townsend and your kind comments regarding your stay and experiences,

On your next trip you do indeed need to get out and try "walkable" Birmingham!

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,

Steven Kalczynski
Managing Director
The Townsend Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

At $360 a night, plus taxes, you pay for the Internet and get a bottle of pump soap that other guests have used in your room! Seriously! We are disappointed with this hotel. When we called to ask why with a suite we still had to pay $10 for the Internet, we had to deal with a very rude female answering the phone. Dinner at the Rugby Grille was $350 for two, extremely overpriced. Maybe because this hotel is used by away professional sports teams, or because they are in Birmingham, not sure but they could use some lessons from the Ritz Carlton!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Suebthetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven K, Managing Director at The Townsend Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Dear Suebthetraveler,

Thank you for staying with us on your recent trip to "walkable" Birmingham and The Townsend Hotel.

I certainly apologize regarding the rudeness of our associate when you called to inquire on your luxury suite and the inclusion of the internet charge. This type of service is certainly not indicative of the fine service we are known for and try to maintain. Our associate should have explained to you that internet is available on a complimentary basis in our Business Center but we do charge in our guest rooms for an upgraded service.

Regarding your dining in the Rugby Grille Restaurant, even though we are on par with other fine dining restaurants in the area in regards to price, I do hope your experience on the food and beverage you received was to your satisfaction.

I would certainly be interested in more details if you wish to reach out to me directly. I can be contacted by calling the Townsend.

I thank you again for staying with us and look forward to the opportunity of speaking with you.

Sincerely,

Steven Kalczynski
Managing Director
The Townsend Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We spent two nights including New Year's eve at the hotel and enjoyed four meals at the Rugby Grille while we were there.
The room was beautiful with two windows facing the street. The bed was the most comfortable we have ever slept in. All the amenities we needed and more were provided. The bar area in the room was a nice touch and our ice bucket was full upon our arrival.
Hallways are wide and well light.
The lobby area was a fascinating spot to sit and meet people. We met several locals who were in for a drink and dinner.
The Rugby Grille was excellent for breakfast and dinner and service was top notch .
We consider it a stroke of luck that hotels closer to the Winter Classic were booked and we ended up at The Townsend.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katharineb705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven K, Managing Director at The Townsend Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Dear katharineb705,

Thank you for your comments on your recent stay at The Townsend Hotel in "walkable" Birmingham, Michigan! We were delighted you chose us as your hotel! Hopefully your team won at the Winter Classic to make a perfect weekend for you!

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Steven Kalczynski

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

This hotel sets the standards high, and all other hotels could learn by imitating the Townsend.

Staff is excellent – very nice and accommodating. We had a group of 12 rooms and from the beginning of planning all went well.

The room was excellent. The bed was so comfortable it was hard to get up in the morning. Robe and Slippers were a nice touch as well as the evening turn down service.

We had drinks at the Corner Bar – You had to go outside to get to the bar – which was inconvenient as it was cold. The bar is small, gets very busy later in the evening, but was also a lot of fun.

You will not be disappointed if you stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travel920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven K, Managing Director at The Townsend Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2014

Thank you for your comments! We look forward to welcoming you back!

Steven Kalczynski
Managing Director
The Townsend Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Excellent service, wonderful room. Perfect location right in Birmingham, about 2 blocks from the center of town. Front desk staff made a special stay for our anniversary. Concierge and Valet were perfect. Can't wait to stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alfredo101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven K, Managing Director at The Townsend Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Dear Alfredo101,

Thank you for staying with us and I am pleased to hear that the Reception, Concierge and valet associates were able to assist in celebrating your anniversary!

We look forward to having you return in the near future!

Sincerely,

Steven Kalczynski
Managing Director
The Townsend Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

We stayed here on a special occasion so didn't pay for the hotel ourselves, therefore commenting on value for money is a little unfair. However, we both enjoyed our stay. The room was a good size, the extra's such as the products in the bathroom, robes, slippers etc were all excellent, the mini bar well stocked and we had a great nights sleep. Breakfast was delivered to our room the next morning and was very good. We were also given champagne and strawberries as a gift by family and these were excellent. If I were being really critical I'd say the hotel is more traditional, e.g. it is not an overly modern place but the quality of the furnishing is high. I'd stay there again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 8338y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven K, Managing Director at The Townsend Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2013

Dear 8338y,

Thank you for your kind comments on your recent stay at The Townsend Hotel in "walkable" Birmingham, Michigan!

On behalf of all of our associates, I thank you for your kind words and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Happy Holidays!

Steven Kalczynski
Managing Director
The Townsend Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express-Birmingham
17.2 mi away
Detroit Foundation Hotel
15.5 mi away
The Henry, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Rochester
478 reviews
3.5 mi away
Detroit Marriott Troy
4.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit - Troy/Auburn Hills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Townsend Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Townsend Hotel

Address: 100 Townsend St, Birmingham, MI 48009-6068
Location: United States > Michigan > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range: $342 - $473 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Townsend Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Townsend Hotel is a gem of European modern luxury, tucked away amidst the pleasing parks, sophisticated designer shops and nationally acclaimed art galleries of Birmingham, Michigan just 20 minutes north of Detroit, Michigan, 15 minutes to Auburn Hills, ten minutes to Troy amd ten minutes to Bloomfield Hills. Exquisitely appointed Guest Rooms & Suites welcome you with fine furnishings, luxurious Frette beds & linens, marble bathrooms, Evolve Lighting System, Bose radios & the calm & privacy of a quiet suburban location. Our staff delivers gracious, thoughtful and personalized service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Townsend Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Townsend Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing