We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Completely over-rated and expensive!”
Review of The Townsend Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Townsend Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Completely over-rated and expensive!”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

I was told it was amazing... And came away very disappointed. Our view from room 314 looked like a prison, we heard every door open and slam on the floor, the elevator door, people talking in the corridor all night... and for breakfast I was asked to come back because they were full and they were fully booked for afternoon tea. As a paying guest at the hotel.. I think that's unacceptable and won't stay here again.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Simon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven K, General Manager at The Townsend Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Simon L,

Thank you for your comments and for staying with The Townsend Hotel on your recent visit to the Birmingham area.

We certainly apologize you were unhappy with your room accommodations and that you had to wait for restaurant reservations. If you had spoken to one of our receptionists we would have certainly made an attempt to move you to another room. We also strongly encourage advanced reservations as The Rugby Grille Restaurant and our Afternoon Tea service are both quite popular venues in Birmingham.

Please contact me directly should your travels return you to the area so I can personally oversee your arrangements.

Again, our apologies.

Sincerely,

Steven Kalczynski
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    517
    116
    44
    26
    16
See reviews for
155
221
30
236
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Laguna Beach-sarasota
Level Contributor
200 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Stayed as guest if friend, so really didn't mention Preferred hotel Membership.
Stall courtesy and politeness very uneven. Lovely room amenities in suite. Should have had warning upon reservation re all street work outside on Saturday morning. Tough to enjoy wonderful bedding with all the noise. Rated 4 stars, but service at front desk, is maybe 3 star.....doing me a favor ! Good restaurant/ bar area.....seems to have steady banquet biz ....strong local following, highly recommended by locals as THE place to stay....hard to argue with that, as its only four star in the area.

Room Tip: Not many floors to avoid street noise.......but try.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zforall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven K, General Manager at The Townsend Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Zforall,

Thank you for staying with us on your recent trip to the Birmingham/Detroit area and your constructive comments regarding your stay!

Birmingham is in its last week of local street repair (finally!) and we do apologize that they started so early on the weekend. We were also not aware this would occur!

I am also sorry to hear that our reception associates did not live up to your expectation as it certainly not indicative of the fine quality of service they normally provide.

Thank you for your kind comments on our Rugby Grille Restaurant and the bar area! Both are very popular in the local area!

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Sincerely,

Steven Kalczynski
Managing Director
The Townsend Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the this hotel over a long weekend for a family wedding. It is an older boutique hotel which has been nicely redone. Our king room was large and spotless. The bathroom was really nice with upscale toiletries. The staff were friendly and knowledgeable regarding the hotel and the area. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chinesemama1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven K, General Manager at The Townsend Hotel, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Dear Chinesemama1,

Thank you for your kind comments on your recent visit! Weddings at The Townsend are a wonderful experience and we are pleased you enjoyed your visit with us!

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,

Steven Kalczynski
Managing Director
The Townsend Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We won a "Romantic Weekend" at The Townsend at a local charity event. I thought I knew already about all the amenities of this beautiful hotel from several past high level business functions at their conference facilities. I was amazed to learn in addition about their incredible eye for details, beauty and convenience. We were very professionally and kindly welcomed and felt almost like on our honey moon trip in Europe.
This was truly a special treat that I would recommend to anybody who wants to escape the typical hotel atmospheres that you find elsewhere. Old-world charm combined with new world high tech and luxury.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reinhard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven K, General Manager at The Townsend Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Reinhard L,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at The Townsend!

I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and on behalf of all of our associates, we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Steven Kalczynski
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

I stayed here overnight for a birthday treat, and had dinner with my girlfriends. We had dinner at the Rugby Grille. Fabulous wine list! They have wonderful Korean beef "egg roll" appetizers! I love the Salmon and the Dover Sole is classic! Because I was there for my birthday, they took special care of me. When I went to my room, there was strawberries dipped in white and dark chocolate and a bottle of champagne, all complimentary!!! They even took my car to the local car wash in Birmingham to be washed for me, gratis!! They are also right across the street from a very nice spa where I had a mani-pedi and the Townsend Hotel concierge booked it for me. The rooms are beautiful and classic. It is a very nice small boutique type hotel and I recommend it!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven K, General Manager at The Townsend Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Many thanks again for your kind comments regarding your most recent stay at The Townsend Hotel and the Rugby Grille! We appreciate you staying with us!

Sincerely,

Steven Kalczynski
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
656 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 408 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

A very comfortable place in an upscale town center.
Has all the polish and well trained staff one would expect from a Preffered Hotel.
We travel with our little dog and not only did the Townsend gladly admit him, but had a doggie bed, bowls, water and treats layed out and awaiting him.
The rooms were well sized and well furnished.and the bed very comfortable.
Our suite had a small balcony which added to the comfort.
A number of good restaurants within an easy walk..
Worth a commute to Detroit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank venamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven K, General Manager at The Townsend Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Good Day Venamo,

Many thanks for your kind comments regarding your recent stay at The Townsend Hotel in "walkable" Birmingham! We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Sincerely,

Steven Kalczynski
Managing Director
The Townsend
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

If you're headed to the Detroit area, stay at The Townsend Hotel, if you can afford to do so. The price for the room is a bit steep, but worth every penny. The beds are plush, the pillows generous, and the attention to detail is outstanding. Slept the best I had in the five nights I was in town for business!

The cost for valet parking overnight was overpriced. Other than that, every time I stay there, it is a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bearina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven K, General Manager at The Townsend Hotel, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear Bearina,

Thank you for your kind comments on your recent stay at The Townsend Hotel!

I am delighted that overall we met your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to walkable Birmingham, MI and The Townsend Hotel!

Sincerely,

Steven Kalczynski
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
16.7 mi away
MGM Grand Detroit
MGM Grand Detroit
#3 of 33 in Detroit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,067 reviews
2.9 mi away
Candlewood Suites Detroit - Troy
10.5 mi away
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Rochester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express-Birmingham
17.0 mi away
The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
15.5 mi away
The Henry, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Townsend Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Townsend Hotel

Property: The Townsend Hotel
Address: 100 Townsend St, Birmingham, MI 48009-6068
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Townsend Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Townsend Hotel is a gem of European modern luxury, tucked away amidst the pleasing parks, sophisticated designer shops and nationally acclaimed art galleries of Birmingham. Exquisitely appointed Guest Rooms & Suites welcome you with fine furnishings, luxurious Frette beds & linens, marble bathrooms, Bose radios & the calm & privacy of a quiet suburban location. Our staff delivers gracious, thoughtful and personalized service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Townsend Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Townsend Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing