We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming full service hotel in the best part of Michigan”
Review of The Townsend Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Townsend Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
59 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Charming full service hotel in the best part of Michigan”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Birmingham seems to be one of the best and wealthiest neighborhoods near Detroit Michigan often described as a "bubble". The Townsend is a great hotel from which to experience this town. Several celebrities stay here - musicians playing in town, players etc. - there seem to be tour busses parked outside all the time.

Hotel is very charming with character - has a small hotel feel with all the conveniences of a large hotel. Very nice restaurants in the hotel as well as nearby. Walking distance to Birmingham downtown which is worth a visit and very safe to walk around.

If you have only seen Detroit in Michigan this hotel and its neighborhood will give you a different perspective.

Room Tip: Rooms which don't look onto the street - so you can open the windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wings_Wheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsendresponse, Guest Relations Manager at The Townsend Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Thank you for your kind remarks in regards to the hotel and the beautiful area of Birmingham!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    538
    118
    44
    26
    18
See reviews for
162
229
30
244
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Just one missing item; to be able to make a coffe cup in the room. Otherwise, perfect in all ways.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsendresponse, Guest Relations Manager at The Townsend Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Thank you for your comments. While coffee makers are not a standard in our rooms we do offer complimentary coffee in our lobby each morning. Also, if you would prefer a coffee maker in your room you can make that request on your next stay and we will take care of the request for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johns island, sc
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Birmingham is very, very charming town - still can't believe it's only minutes away from Detroit!! The Townsend is in a great location for shopping, eclectic restaurants (try TOAST), safe, and family friendly. There's definitely a Norman Rockwell feel for the area!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kermit2945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsendresponse, Guest Relations Manager at The Townsend Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and exploring Birmingham! We agree, it is a great location!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 25, 2012

My husband and I had our very first trip away from the kids on our 10th wedding anniversary and decided to stay at the towns and hotel. It was marvellous! The service was quick & with a smile, from the valet rushing to open our doors to the turn down service the housekeeper offers where she leaves chocolates on our pillow. It was so much more than I expected & I'm so excited to return next anniversary or even sooner.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shafreaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at The Townsend Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor. We are honored that you chose to stay with us on your anniversary and delighted to hear you had an excellent experience. We look forward to having you as our guests again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
104 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

My desire was for a bit of R&R and I checked in for a one night stay at the Townsend Hotel. The staff was welcoming and helpful-with smiles on their faces in doing so. My room was a luxury suite: bedroom (with large screen flat tv) and sitting room (also with large screen flat tv) as well as a small balcony with chairs. Both the room and the bathroom were huge. The housekeeping is top notch: carpets well vacuumed; tables wiped/dusted; the bathroom spotless; and a wonderfully comfortable bed with good quality linens. Extra towels already in place in the bathroom were plush and soaked up water well-not something you find anymore. Amenities were excellent: in room safe; iron; extra blanket and pillows; makeup mirror; hairdryer; and nice toiletries-to include bath salts, I used for a wonderful soak in the deep bathtub. I used room service for my dinner dining: though not inexpensive, the filet mignon I ordered was huge, of excellent quality and prepared to my order: rare! I also had an appetizer of 1/2 dozen oysters on the half shell and found them not only large, but full of freshness. The noises outside my room were almost non-existent-which is something important to me and allows for excellent sleep quality. The Townsend Hotel is in the center of the action of Birmingham: very convenient to restaurants and stores; however, this can be a drawback as the view from the rooms aren't picturesque. The only reason I am not giving this hotel is an excellent rating is due to the age of the Drexel furniture in the room: it is tired and shows its age. For a premium hotel with pricing, it is important to refresh the room furniture on a regular basis. For what I wanted for my R&R stay, I am more than satisfied!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UMworldtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsendresponse, Guest Relations Manager at The Townsend Hotel, responded to this review, June 15, 2012
Thank you for choosing the Townsend Hotel for your restful getaway and for posting a review about your experience. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to having you as our guest again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, Michigan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

We stayed there for one evening while celebrating our wedding anniversary. For the upscale town of Birmingham and considering the prestigious recognition the hotel has received I admit I did expect a bit more. Don’t get me wrong, the hotel is situated in the heart of Birmingham with close proximity to all that the town has to offer, the staff was very polite, the bathroom was a nice size, the room seemed very clean, and room service was great. However, I expected the rooms to be a bit more opulent with perhaps more décor on the walls, crown modeling, etc.

The good: Valet was prompt and courteous. Reception staff was quick and polite. The mattress is comfortable. We ordered room service for breakfast. The food was very prompt and absolutely delicious. My husband and I would return just to have the tasty breakfast again.

The bad: As stated the bed was comfortable however the pillows were horrible. Of the six on the bed four were decorative and the two remaining were very uncomfortable. They felt like down feathered pillows however the feather count had to be extremely low because your head would simply sink in them providing zero support. There was one alternative pillow in the closet that was slightly better. Considering the hotel’s prestigious ranking I would have expected better quality pillows or a pillow selection as we have experienced from other hotels of similar stature.
Also as stated earlier, we were there celebrating our wedding anniversary. My husband had called earlier in the day to request chocolate covered strawberries be delivered to our room after we returned from dinner. The strawberries never arrived; which was a disappointment.

Overall though the quality of the hotel is good.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JD-ourtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsendresponse, Guest Relations Manager at The Townsend Hotel, responded to this review, June 15, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review regarding your recent stay at The Townsend Hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay but do apologize that you did not receive your amenity to celebrate your anniversary. We would be delighted to have you as our guests again soon and would be happy to correct our error.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
424 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2012

The hotel was fine. Request a view of something other than the mechanicals on the roof. The location was great for walking around. The restaurant is too small to handle many people for meals, especially breakfast.

Room Tip: Request a view other than the mechanicals on the roof.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LibbyH1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsendresponse, Guest Relations Manager at The Townsend Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to add your remarks on your recent stay. We are glad you enjoyed most of your stay and apologize if our restaurant was to busy to accommodate you. We look forward to being of service to you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express-Birmingham
16.7 mi away
MGM Grand Detroit
MGM Grand Detroit
#3 of 33 in Detroit
1,070 reviews
10.5 mi away
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Rochester
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
The Henry, Autograph Collection
17.0 mi away
The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
2.9 mi away
Candlewood Suites Detroit - Troy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Townsend Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Townsend Hotel

Property: The Townsend Hotel
Address: 100 Townsend St, Birmingham, MI 48009-6068
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Townsend Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Townsend Hotel is a gem of European modern luxury, tucked away amidst the pleasing parks, sophisticated designer shops and nationally acclaimed art galleries of Birmingham. Exquisitely appointed Guest Rooms & Suites welcome you with fine furnishings, luxurious Frette beds & linens, marble bathrooms, Bose radios & the calm & privacy of a quiet suburban location. Our staff delivers gracious, thoughtful and personalized service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Townsend Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Townsend Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing