We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas Magic”
Review of The Townsend Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Townsend Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 26, 2011

We had an incredible experience at the Townsend! From the moment we stepped out of our car until the moment we left to return home, we were in heaven! Every single member of your staff provided exceptional customer service. Miranda was at the front desk when we arrived and went out of her way to make us feel welcome! When she found out we were celebrating my birthday, she surprised us with cupcakes delivered to our room--what a sweet gesture! It is those extra touches that make the Townsend stand out! The entire staff is incredible... exceptional attention to detail and quality of service. Our breakfast at The Rugby Grill was delicious, the menu was impressive and the service great! As a former flight attendant, I have had the opportunity to travel all over the world & have stayed in some luxurious hotels....the Townsend surely stood up among them.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsGfromSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (899)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

822 - 828 of 899 reviews

Reviewed December 26, 2011

Townsend was a great place to stay for our anniversary. It is walking distance to shopping, dining, and theaters. Friendly staff. Luxury rooms. Worth thevprice.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michebill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2011

For business, I get to stay at this hotel once or twice a year. Don't get me wrong, it is a nice hotel, but the rooms are nothing spectacular, and not worth the extra cost. It also amazes me that with all you're paying, you don't get free internet. I stay at the Baymont hotel at the Detroit airport all of the time, and I pay $50 and I get free internet. Go figure.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BenjaminL487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2011

We oly live 30 minutes away but it felt llike we were miles away. The room and bed were suberb. We ate dinner in the restaruant and it was great. Love, love the Christmas decorations and alos the warm ambiance of the hotel itself. First class all the way!!

Room Tip: pick a roonm facing north- by the police station. very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelsnuggly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2011

I have been traveling to the Detroit area for business and staying at The Townsend for nearly 20 years. I love this hotel and always look forward to staying there. I am always welcomed by name by the friendly doormen and front desk staff who are professional, warm, and so accommodating. They aim to please and have wonderful manners. The staff is one of the reasons that it is by far the best hotel in the area. Many VIP's stay there...everyone from corporate execs to sports teams and rock stars. The hotel is traditional but not stuffy. It is sparkling clean. The public spaces are beautifully appointed with traditional furnishings, fresh flowers, fireplaces, marble, rich wood paneling and have the look of a grand English estate. It was decorated for the holidays and looked absolutely gorgeous. The rooms are also decorated in the English traditional manner with beautiful bedding and draperies, wonderful linens, marble baths, a comfy sitting chair and flat screen TV. Room service offerings are delicious and the Rugby Grill downstairs is a wonderful restaurant for breakfast, lunch or dinner. The suites feel like your own pied-a-terre with a living room and bedroom. Most have a little terrace. Ask for one overlooking the park. The only negative is that some of the rooms have windows overlooking an alley where the service entrance and dumpster is located. These rooms have very little natural light. Request that you not be given a room overlooking the service alley or you will be awakened by the beep beep of garbage trucks way too early. Sometimes the heat acts up and I have had to have them call engineering. Make sure that the heater is not blowing cold air. The staff will take care of it immediately. They won't let you suffer!

It's worth noting that Birmingham is a lovely little town with many great restaurants and shops within walking distance. The concierge staff is awesome and will help you with anything you need. There is a salon and a wonderful new Italian restaurant directly across the street from the front door. There is no other fine hotel that I know of in the Detroit area where you can get out and walk around the neighborhood like this. And a lovely neighborhood it is. I love it in all 4 seasons. I can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: avoid rooms facing the service alley. the best views are of the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robinreps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2011

My wife and I stayed at The Townsend Hotel in Birmingham, MI recently for our anniversary. We arrived around noon on a Saturday and were able to check in right away even though the hotel was obviously very busy with a charity tea and a local winter festival. The pleasant young woman at reception also recommended a nice tavern in town for lunch and for watching a game later in the evening. Because of the huge crowd for the charity tea, my wife and I had to take an elevator separate from that of the bell hop and our luggage, but we all arrived at our room at about the same time. The room was well appointed and very comfortable. Not sure when the hotel was last renovated, but probably is due for an update. Still, very nice though. Valet parking was convenient and reasonable, given the upscale location.

Room Tip: We took an inside room because that's all that was available for our early check in. It was wint...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rmeade88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsendresponse, Guest Relations Manager at The Townsend Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2011

Thank you for your kind remarks in regards to you recent stay. We are delighted that you chose our hotel to celebrate your anniversary and we look forward to having you as our guests again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2011

I liked it very much. Away from the chaos, it seems like a small jewel in a nice oasis. Staff friendly and helpful. Nice location - I walked around the area and saw quite a few small boutiques and surprisingly high-quality restaurants and bars.

Beautiful lobby. Hotel feels exclusive and comfortable like home, at the same time. Would certainly come back if I am in this area again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valux01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsendresponse, Guest Relations Manager at The Townsend Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2011

Thank you so much for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at The Townsend. We are delighted that you enjoyed the hotel and Birmingham. We look forward to having you as our guest again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express-Birmingham
2.9 mi away
Candlewood Suites Detroit - Troy
17.2 mi away
Detroit Foundation Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Rochester
473 reviews
16.7 mi away
Aloft Detroit at The David Whitney
2.1 mi away
Somerset Inn
Somerset Inn
#10 of 17 in Troy
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Townsend Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Townsend Hotel

Address: 100 Townsend St, Birmingham, MI 48009-6068
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range: $333 - $445 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Townsend Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Townsend Hotel is a gem of European modern luxury, tucked away amidst the pleasing parks, sophisticated designer shops and nationally acclaimed art galleries of Birmingham, Michigan just 20 minutes north of Detroit, Michigan, 15 minutes to Auburn Hills, ten minutes to Troy amd ten minutes to Bloomfield Hills. Exquisitely appointed Guest Rooms & Suites welcome you with fine furnishings, luxurious Frette beds & linens, marble bathrooms, Evolve Lighting System, Bose radios & the calm & privacy of a quiet suburban location. Our staff delivers gracious, thoughtful and personalized service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Townsend Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Townsend Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing