We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of The Townsend Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Townsend Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Grosse Pointe Woods, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed December 26, 2011

Townsend was a great place to stay for our anniversary. It is walking distance to shopping, dining, and theaters. Friendly staff. Luxury rooms. Worth thevprice.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michebill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    587
    123
    46
    28
    18
See reviews for
179
245
35
256
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2011

For business, I get to stay at this hotel once or twice a year. Don't get me wrong, it is a nice hotel, but the rooms are nothing spectacular, and not worth the extra cost. It also amazes me that with all you're paying, you don't get free internet. I stay at the Baymont hotel at the Detroit airport all of the time, and I pay $50 and I get free internet. Go figure.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BenjaminL487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosse Pointe Woods, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2011

We oly live 30 minutes away but it felt llike we were miles away. The room and bed were suberb. We ate dinner in the restaruant and it was great. Love, love the Christmas decorations and alos the warm ambiance of the hotel itself. First class all the way!!

Room Tip: pick a roonm facing north- by the police station. very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelsnuggly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2011

I have been traveling to the Detroit area for business and staying at The Townsend for nearly 20 years. I love this hotel and always look forward to staying there. I am always welcomed by name by the friendly doormen and front desk staff who are professional, warm, and so accommodating. They aim to please and have wonderful manners. The staff is one of the reasons that it is by far the best hotel in the area. Many VIP's stay there...everyone from corporate execs to sports teams and rock stars. The hotel is traditional but not stuffy. It is sparkling clean. The public spaces are beautifully appointed with traditional furnishings, fresh flowers, fireplaces, marble, rich wood paneling and have the look of a grand English estate. It was decorated for the holidays and looked absolutely gorgeous. The rooms are also decorated in the English traditional manner with beautiful bedding and draperies, wonderful linens, marble baths, a comfy sitting chair and flat screen TV. Room service offerings are delicious and the Rugby Grill downstairs is a wonderful restaurant for breakfast, lunch or dinner. The suites feel like your own pied-a-terre with a living room and bedroom. Most have a little terrace. Ask for one overlooking the park. The only negative is that some of the rooms have windows overlooking an alley where the service entrance and dumpster is located. These rooms have very little natural light. Request that you not be given a room overlooking the service alley or you will be awakened by the beep beep of garbage trucks way too early. Sometimes the heat acts up and I have had to have them call engineering. Make sure that the heater is not blowing cold air. The staff will take care of it immediately. They won't let you suffer!

It's worth noting that Birmingham is a lovely little town with many great restaurants and shops within walking distance. The concierge staff is awesome and will help you with anything you need. There is a salon and a wonderful new Italian restaurant directly across the street from the front door. There is no other fine hotel that I know of in the Detroit area where you can get out and walk around the neighborhood like this. And a lovely neighborhood it is. I love it in all 4 seasons. I can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: avoid rooms facing the service alley. the best views are of the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robinreps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
247 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 325 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2011

My wife and I stayed at The Townsend Hotel in Birmingham, MI recently for our anniversary. We arrived around noon on a Saturday and were able to check in right away even though the hotel was obviously very busy with a charity tea and a local winter festival. The pleasant young woman at reception also recommended a nice tavern in town for lunch and for watching a game later in the evening. Because of the huge crowd for the charity tea, my wife and I had to take an elevator separate from that of the bell hop and our luggage, but we all arrived at our room at about the same time. The room was well appointed and very comfortable. Not sure when the hotel was last renovated, but probably is due for an update. Still, very nice though. Valet parking was convenient and reasonable, given the upscale location.

Room Tip: We took an inside room because that's all that was available for our early check in. It was wint...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rmeade88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsendresponse, Guest Relations Manager at The Townsend Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2011
Thank you for your kind remarks in regards to you recent stay. We are delighted that you chose our hotel to celebrate your anniversary and we look forward to having you as our guests again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
357 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2011

I liked it very much. Away from the chaos, it seems like a small jewel in a nice oasis. Staff friendly and helpful. Nice location - I walked around the area and saw quite a few small boutiques and surprisingly high-quality restaurants and bars.

Beautiful lobby. Hotel feels exclusive and comfortable like home, at the same time. Would certainly come back if I am in this area again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valux01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsendresponse, Guest Relations Manager at The Townsend Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at The Townsend. We are delighted that you enjoyed the hotel and Birmingham. We look forward to having you as our guest again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2011

We had to pleasure to visit family during the Thanksgiving holiday this year and booked a room at the Townsend Hotel for 4 nights. The Townsend is a fairly small hotel that is tucked away in a great location in downtown Birmingham. Birmingham is a cosmopolitan little town with upscale shopping and many types of restaurants to choose from.

Our check in was smooth but the suite that we had reserved wasn't ready due to the fact that we had arrived early in the day so we decided to take a regular room. We needed a roll away for our daughter and the regular room was able to accommodate us quite nicely. The room felt spacious and really clean. The drawback to this room (can't remember the room number) was that it was next to the weight room on the 3rd floor. We kept hearing a thump-thump-thump noise and figured that it was the guests using weight machines letting the weight stack fall after each rep. We decided that we could deal with the weight room noise but then that evening there was a wedding in the 'Salon' just below us and the music was at a fevered pitch around midnight. We'd had enough so we asked to be moved to another room. If you stay there during the week this most likely wouldn't be a problem but watch out on the weekends!

This room was in the older part of the hotel but equally as nice. Much quieter also! The bed is super comfy and the bathrooms are outfitted in marble. We ate breakfast at the Rugby Grill each morning. The food was good.....not extraordinary but good. All of the staff that we encountered were very friendly and helpful. We always had plenty of towels and the amenities that come with staying in such a nice hotel. Valet is $24 a night and worth it. The parking seemed to be at a premium in the city setting.

The speciality evening drink at the Rugby Grill is called 'the hummer'. If you like ice-cream with your liquor you'll like this one.

Overall: I wouldn't hesitate to stay at this hotel again. It's expensive but as long as you know that going in you'll be prepared.

Room Tip: Make sure you a far away from the Ballroom during the weekends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank midwest213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsendresponse, Guest Relations Manager at The Townsend Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2011
Thank you for choosing the Townsend Hotel for your recent stay and for taking the time to post this great review. While we do apologize that you were effected by the events in the ballroom, we were delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and time in Birmingham. We look forward to having you as our guest again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
16.7 mi away
MGM Grand Detroit
MGM Grand Detroit
#3 of 33 in Detroit
1,087 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express-Birmingham
10.5 mi away
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Rochester
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
The Henry, Autograph Collection
16.1 mi away
MotorCity Casino Hotel
MotorCity Casino Hotel
#10 of 33 in Detroit
650 reviews
2.0 mi away
Homewood Suites Detroit Troy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Townsend Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Townsend Hotel

Property: The Townsend Hotel
Address: 100 Townsend St, Birmingham, MI 48009-6068
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Townsend Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Townsend Hotel is a gem of European modern luxury, tucked away amidst the pleasing parks, sophisticated designer shops and nationally acclaimed art galleries of Birmingham. Exquisitely appointed Guest Rooms & Suites welcome you with fine furnishings, luxurious Frette beds & linens, marble bathrooms, Bose radios & the calm & privacy of a quiet suburban location. Our staff delivers gracious, thoughtful and personalized service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your The Townsend Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Townsend Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing