We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Stand by...”

Salvatore Scallopini Italian
Ranked #42 of 101 Restaurants in Birmingham
Cuisines: Italian
Restaurant details
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Old Stand by...”
Reviewed May 21, 2014

I usually cook my own Italian food, but if I plan to go out, this is the place we go to. LOVE the Eggplant Parm and Minestrone soup. I wish I could recreate the creamy romano salad dressing. So much food too! Hubby and I usually get 1 dinner and an appetizer or soup and split everything. Always leave full! Location is small and a bit loud. So if you want great food this is the place to go. Want intimate romantic Italian, not so much. Lots of families come here. Bit noisy, but who cares. Great food! Great service.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CrowsChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    19
    6
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The Best”
Reviewed April 14, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This is our favorite restaurant in Oakland County. Hands down the best. Great food, great menu selection. Can get busy during peak times but that's because it's so awesome.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gregg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Same as olive garden”
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

The decor rivals that of a cheap greek diner and the food was blah. My shrimp scampi was marginal and the pasta was overcooked. And to add insult to injury....the Restraunt was very cold.

Helpful?
Thank zwischen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Rather noisy but excellent food”
Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

We tried this restaurant for the first time last night for my daughter's birthday. Although the restaurant was rather noisy with the kitchen noise and people trying to talk over each other, we found the food and service to be excellent. Nice location and atmosphere other than the noise. Try the salmon over angel hair pasta...to die for.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit
Level 6 Contributor
428 reviews
287 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Take away an evening to remember!”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

This little Italian bistro in a quaint neighborhood of Birmingham is a family favorite. We decided to do carry out and enjoy our dinner with a rented movie. Our order was exact and complete in 20 minutes. Our entrees and appetizers plus bread for the family arrived home warm and in tact. The take out containers are substantial and can be used for storage after and freeze well. We enjoyed Mussels, Tute de mare and pasta with chicken and lots of spice! Both take out and eating at the bistro are recommended.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 12318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salvatore Scallopini Italian also viewed

 

Been to Salvatore Scallopini Italian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing